Many Social Platforms Aren’t What They Seem

17 122
Avatar for scottcbusiness
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

I’ve noticed a lot of free speech social platforms aren’t really free speech platforms and a lot of blockchain platforms that champion decentralization don’t live up to that either. Here’s what I mean…

I’ve noticed platforms that have a marketing narrative that they are a blockchain platform and that inherently makes people believe it’s more decentralized, secure, and censorship-resistant than legacy platforms but that’s not always the case. I’ve seen the same things for free speech platforms that are fine to reject and or censor content. All of this is to say that don’t be sold on a platform based on buzz words and actually verify that they are living up to the expectations you have going in.

 

Below are some examples to illustrate what I’m talking about:

Uptrennd – Wasn’t on a blockchain and thus when staff sold their tokens and resigned the platform was shut down and they gave everything over to Trodl.com - https://www.uptrennd.com/

SoMee – Can shut down your access to your funds at any time. (Been inaccessible for about 5+ months now) – https://somee.social/

My review of SoMee: https://odysee.com/@ScottCBusiness:4/Somee:d

Steem – Bought out and colluded with exchanges by Justin Sun from Tron. They have the majority stake and thus control it entirely. They used this power to take funds right out of people’s accounts - https://steemit.com/

These are 4 videos I did to cover this whole situation last year:

https://odysee.com/@ScottCBusiness:4/Steem-Witnesses-Freeze-Steemit-Stake-To-Block-Tron:b

https://odysee.com/@ScottCBusiness:4/Steem-Vs-Hive-1:9

https://odysee.com/@ScottCBusiness:4/Steem-Witnesses-Verus-Justin-Sun-And-Tron:5

https://odysee.com/@ScottCBusiness:4/Steem-Is-Hardforking-To-Create-Hive-1:3

Bitclout – Not actually as decentralized as it seems regarding accounts being removed, lack of legitimacy, transparency, community development, or well distributed nodes - http://bitclout.com/

Cos.TV – Clearly removes videos and removes the evidence they removed them - https://cos.tv/ -

https://twitter.com/ScottCBusiness/status/1329894750833545224/photo/1

Brighteon - Rejected reasonable videos that YouTube allowed and yet markets itself as the pro-free speech platform - https://brighteon.com/

Theta – You can’t withdraw unless you’re a partner and even then there are restrictions. The expectation is that you’re earning cryptocurrency, not merchandise points. - https://support.theta.tv/hc/en-us/articles/360022635414-Can-I-transfer-TFuel-out-of-Theta-tv-

 

Have you used any blockchain platforms or free speech social platforms that haven’t followed through? Do you agree or disagree with anything I said? Let me know what you think about this in the comments below and don’t forget to subscribe!

 

This is a LBRY first video meaning it shows up on LBRY before it gets published anywhere else. If you’re not on LBRY, sign up and get started here: https://odysee.com/$/invite/@ScottCBusiness:4

Check this video out on LBRY to support me with monetization and no ads: https://odysee.com/@ScottCBusiness:4/Free-Speech-And-Decentralized-Platforms:3

 

*Disclaimer: This is not financial advice and is purely for entertainment purposes. What you see, hear, or read is my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my views and should not be misconstrued as fact. My crypto portfolio may or may not be simulated*

22
$ 18.98
$ 18.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Davinchysax
+ 4
Sponsors of scottcbusiness
empty
Avatar for scottcbusiness
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

Comments

Many would definitely like to see a list of nominally uncensored platforms.
The concept is hard to achieve, and only LBRY seems to actually get there.
Memo.cash and member.cash are nominally uncensored as far as text content goes and that is an excellent achievement.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very informative, I was also associated with some of the sites you have mentioned above and lost trust.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sharing such information and experience keeps me motivated and persevere more❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for this information. I do have steemit and I dont think its kind of bad for me. Because this platform was my very first crypto platform that I've joined and it helped me a lot. I do also have Noise.cash but sad to say my account didnt work on there. So I thought of continue in steemit and if ever things work on me here in read cash. Well Im lucky to say that I will stay here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it was my first platform too, but Justin Sun centralized it so much that he could literally take funds out of your account now and he has

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

Oh,realy? Its my first time to hear that. But i don't rather think about that. I was lucky to be part of that platform coz its realy help me a lot even i get a small amount of my hardwork on that platform. But thank you for that information you shared.

Anyway sorry for this late reply....😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well legend i saw was listening your video on youtube. I got much help about bch knowledge and happy that you are doing great. Keep it up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, I stick to Noise.cash and Read.cash, I haven't extended my tent outside them. Because these these two are work on their own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with what you said about Uptrennd because I was a living witness to all that happened in uptrend. Jeff Kirdiekis claimed that the platform was decentralised but it was all a fluke and he gamed every one of us and pushed us over when he was done. It was a terrible experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been trying to use any sites that pays in crypto but I'm still in Noise.cash and Read.cash.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So, does this mean, these platforms aren't worth the time to spend on? I mean based on your opinion (which I totally respect and will take high consideration) Did I get that correctly/. I was thinking of being part of some of the platforms you mentioned and now.. Maybe not.. haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still use everything in order to maximize distribution and reach, but it depends what matters to you.

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

Maybe it's better to stick to readcash and noisecash for me. But who knows one day I might want to. I have steemit but I forgot the password. I think I also have uptrend but I never checked back in.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder why my comment is warned to be marked as sp*m. I should be more careful then.

Anyway, that is a lot of sites you tried out. Uptrennd is the only one I am kinda familiar with but I don't have an account for that one. I heard it had to shut down recently. I wonder what is Trodl. com ? Let me look for it in the internet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only familiar thing I read is the uptennd. Wow, I was almost up to make an account there. I did not realized it has shut down already. Now I am having all that you mentioned in my blacklist. Thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a very informative post. I never even knew that some of these sites exists.

I joined steemit a few years ago. I nituced that to generate high income there, you need to join a group who support each other's work. A system they tried on NoiseCash but did not work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's great that you've been taking time to try out different platforms, but what differs them from the other is sustainability.

$ 0.00
2 years ago