The Benefits of Walking

23 62
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

Since college, I enjoy walking from home going to school and vice versa because the university where I attended college is just a10-15 minute walk away from home. I walk in the morning, especially during 9 a.m. classes, I walk back home during early breaks and lunchtime, oftentimes I do it even when the sun is scorching hot. And I also walk home after my afternoon classes and whenever class ends before 7 p.m. During those times I have to endure because the money that my mom gives is just enough for snacks and to pay for the tricycle fare back and forth. But I have to save money because we have a lot of paper works to do and most of the time, we are asked to have a photocopy of a book since we can't borrow it from the library for a long period of time.

Those are the reasons why instead of riding a public transportation, I choose to walk instead. But during those times, I experienced mockery and the likes. There are several tricycle drivers who will shout at me telling me "Hoy naglalakad ka naman ang init init" (Hey you keep on walking again, it's too hot), "Sumakay ka na kasi madam, iitim ka niyan, sayang ang puti mo pa naman" (Why don't you just take a ride ma'am, you'll become dark-skined, you're wasting your fair skin.) And the annoyed me will just answer "Hayaan mo kuya balang araw makaka graduate din ako sa kakalakad ko" (Don't worry, I'll graduate one day because I kept on walking).

Since then, I became used to walking and I prefer to walk to my destination rather than wasting my money on fare. Even now that I'm already working, and I have enough money for fare, I still prefer to walk and people here are still in awe every time they see me walking. Sometimes I thought that they are probably not used to seeing a pretty lady who's fond of walking lol. One time I even kidded a tricycle driver that the secret to getting a fair skin is walking under the heat of the sun. I told him to look at the other ladies my age who doesn't like to walk and see the difference, without noticing the sarcasm, he just laughed and told me that I'm either using a whitening soap or probably born a 'mestiza', and the answer is the latter.

Me and my college friends walking from town going to our university.

Oftentimes, when others see a person walking they'd think that the person is poor or doesn't have money to pay for the fare. But that is not always the reason. There are several reasons why walking is good and in this article I will discuss few of the benefits of walking.

It can be a medicine.

Have you heard of the saying 'laughing is the best medicine'?, if you do, then I want you to know that 'walking is a good medicine' too!

According to a magazine I read before, Hippocrates, an ancient Greek physician even viewed walking as “man’s best medicine.” There is even an adage that says, “I have two doctors, my left leg and my right.”

Is there even an evidence that walking is a medicine? Well, according to studies, the people who consistently walks may reduce the risk of getting illnesses compared to those who don't.

Walking can reduce the risk of getting a heart disease and suffering from stroke. I heard a story from an old lady I met before, she's already over 90 years old and when asked about the secret to living a longer life, she said that she just loves walking.

Here are few excerpts from different studies about the benefits of walking:

University of California. Researchers from this University found out that a 15-minute walk brings more relief from anxiety and tension than a mild tranquilizer! Like other physical activities, walking triggers the release of endorphins, brain chemicals that relieve pain and stimulate relaxation, producing a sense of calm and well-being.

The Medical Post of Canada also states that a leisurely stroll can produce health benefits.

The New England Journal of Medicine. A study was published there, and it says that walking as little as half a mile [800 m] a day reduces mortality. Recent studies suggest that exercising three times in a day, for 10 minutes each time, will do you almost as much good as exercising continuously for 30 minutes.

You can save money.

Another benefit of walking is being able to save money. Unlike other activities such as running and biking, you don't have to spend your money on buying running shoes, a bicycle and other equipment needed for safety and to become physically fit. You can even walk with your regular clothes on and a pair of slippers! And of course, you can save so much money on fare!

Here are some do's and dont's in walking. I don't own these ideas and only read it on a magazine which I want to share with you in this article.

● Walk tall, with your chin up (parallel to the ground), focusing 20 feet [6 m] ahead

● Maintain a moderate pace. Remember that it is walking, not running or jogging. Do not walk too fast that you almost become out of breath.

● If you want to walk faster, making quick and short steps is better than making elongated steps.

● Swing arms front to back, with elbows close to the body. Avoid swinging your arms from side to side.

● Don’t land flat-footed. Roll through each step, and push off with your toes.

● Don’t feel obliged to carry weights. These throw off natural walking movements and can strain ligaments and tendons.

If you are the type to not enjoy walking, why not try to do it the next time and reap the benefits of walking!

16
$ 15.38
$ 15.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Mictorrani
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 3
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I was about to write about the same topic last night, literally! But for some reason I chose to write about my city hehe. Nice, may kaklase pala ako sa hilig sa paglalakad :) walking is therapeutic and relaxing, it helps me whenever I want to reflect or focus my thoughts. Nice article! You gained a subscriber in me 😊

P. S. Super agree sa saving money. Healthy na, tipid pa. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Even if you write about the same topic, I'm sure you'll have a different approach in writing it since we don't have the same thoughts hehe.

Nice, may kaklase pala ako sa hilig sa paglalakad :) walking is therapeutic and relaxing, it helps me whenever I want to reflect or focus my thoughts.

Dahil diyan friends na tayo 😂 And I agree that walking really helps to focus on our thoughts. Would you believe that I can usually come up with an idea about what the topic to write next everytime I walk? Hehe, Minsan binubuo ko na sa isip ko yung article, tapos isusulat na lang pagdating sa bahay.

Thanks for subscribing, I returned the favor and will read your articles later 😉

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Way back on times that I am studying elementary to college hanggang nagkatrabaho ako kapag pwede Kong lakarin nilalakad ko nalang tapos Yung pamasahe pambili Kong foods habang naglalakad. Ang sarap Kaya maglakad tapos mag isip isip o Kaya tumingin sa paligid. Dimo namamalayan andun kana sa destination mo.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Agree mommy Yen. Madalas din nung pre-covid naglalakad na lang ako galing work para makatipid sa pamasahe kaso pag may nadaanang street foods, yung natipid ko kulang pa pambili ng pagkain. One time, nakatipid ako ng 8 pesos, yung nagastos ko naman nung may nadaanan akong mga pagkain more than 50 😅

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

True hahahaha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I agree to 100% about the benefits of walking. I have written an article here long ago about that, although I then focused on medical benefits. https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/walk-or-die-b58d30c4 Your focus and approach is a bit different, but it's a very good article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for dropping to read this article. I'll check on yours later.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Hello there, My wife is a personal trainer and she doesn't let me take the car anywhere. Always insisting I walk. I do know the importance of it though so I don't mind. When you have an office job you really need to take care of your health, and a blogger spends a lot of time on the computer so it helps. Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When you have an office job you really need to take care of your health, and a blogger spends a lot of time on the computer so it helps.

I do both, I work in the office during the day and write blogs if I'm in the mood at night. So walking really does help me.

Thanks for dropping by, and regards to your wife 😊

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Pink backpack? Hehe. Nong ako ay nag work pa sa davao madam, medyo malayo ang school from where I stay and either jeep lang or tricycle ang transpo. Kung jeep naman, paunahan na parang may zombie apocalypse. Kung tricycle naman, ay nakoooo. Mga small talks. Tapos di ko naiintindihan sinasabi nila kase malakas hangin. Tawa nlng ako. 🤦‍♀️😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Paano mo na nasabi na yung pink backpack? 😂

Kung jeep naman, paunahan na parang may zombie apocalypse.

Nakakita ako ng ganito sa Manila, parang nag uunahan lagi mga tao sa pagsakay 😅 Nung naobserve ko yun, I was so sure that I don't want to live there. Mas okay pa sa province, pwede ka maka smell ng fresh air kapag naglalakad and di mo kailangan makipag unahan sa iba kapag sasakay.

Kung tricycle naman, ay nakoooo. Mga small talks. Tapos di ko naiintindihan sinasabi nila kase malakas hangin. Tawa nlng ako.

Relate ako dito madam hahaha. Madalas nagkukwento or may sinasabi ang driver, ang naririnig ko lang 'shrwshshsw', sabay sagot naman ako ng 'Oo nga po, hahahaha' 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Kaya nga di ako tumagal sa Davao eh. Parang in a rush lahat ng tao don. I would always prefer to live here in our province. Yun nga lang, medyo matinding discussion eto samin ni jowa in case we wed and where to live 😅 pero matagal pa yan. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Healthy habits ang walking eh.. Nakakamiss nga ngayon nasa bahay lang palagi para akong nagkakasakit yung walang ka buhay buhay katawang lupa ko 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try mo na lang mag zumba sa bahay 😁 Kasi para kang baliw nun kung lakad ka lang ng lakad paikoy ikot sa loob ng bahay 😅

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Ang ganda kya maglakad... exercise tsaka tipid din. Aq din nung college days,lakad lakad din, most of the students din nman ksi the four central barangays in town were just a walking distance to the skul,. Ung mga 10-15 minutes walk medyo malayolayo n din un ksi gnun din kalayo bahay nmin dti sa skul. Pwera n lng pag medyo gahol sa oras magtataxikel na.

At tlgang maganda xang therapy pra sa katawan, healthy man o may karamdaman.. kya ung tatay q ugali na nyang pumunta sa town lalo na sa early morning pra magkape lakadlakad p din khit my van sila. Un na pinakaexcersise nya lalo na at my highblood

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Mas okay talaga maglakad na lang. Palibhasa yung barangay namin malapit sa town kaya ang mga tao dito karamihan ang aarte, ayaw na maglakad. Eh ako talaga sanay mahlakad kasi sa lugar kung saan kami nakatira dati puro lakad lang since walang mga public tricy dun. Pero dito madaming tricy kaya minsan parang utang na loob mo pa sa mga driver kapag di ka sumakay. Yung mga taga dito naman sa malapit parang laging amaze na amaze kapag nakikita akong naglalakad lang.

Okay ang walking lalo sa mga may edad na, na di na kaya mag jogging.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Pbayaan ang mga maaarte bsta talbog ang beauty nila sau😁.. Dito sa amin, since nagsimula ang pandemya at kokonti na ang mga namamasada plus tumaas ang fare madami na naglalakad, rich or poor yan.. enjoy p nga ang paglalakad ng mga gustong umuwi sa knikanilang barangay lalo n pag may mga ksama. Tulad dito sa amin na 2hours walk to town

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dito ganun rin naman, mas tumaas ang fare since nag ECQ kaya karamihan bumili ng bike imbes na maglakad , mga tamad kasi talaga sila maglakad, rich or poor 😅 Tsaka ang dami din kasi dito na ang hanapbuhay is namamasada ng tricy kaya madaming masasakyan. Kaya yung mga driver wagas mamilit na sumakay ka. Minsan ako na lang ang nahihiya sa kanila at napililitan sumakay imbes na maglakad.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Hulaan ko, ikaw ung naka green na bag? Green nga ba yun, basta ung may bag ahahahaha. Anyway from elementary to College lakas lang din ako pagpasok, kalapit ng bahay namin sa school ee haha. Kaya mandin nong high school ako anong itim ko ahahaha. Hindi ako mahilig sa payong ayaw ma ayaw ko ng payong, na ekwento ko na yan sa recent article ko ee ahaha. Kaya lahit kainitan talagang naglalakad ako. Maganda naman ang effect sakin kasi ang dami kong stamina lagi. Kaso pagka graduate ko ng college ayon, nasanay ng kakaupo. Ung dati kong flat na flat na tiyan, binuntis na ng kanin ahahahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sabi na nga ba at mapapagkamalan akong yung naka green 😅 Pero ❎❎ ako yung kulot 😂 Umitim nga din ako nun, pero bumabalik naman sa dati, buti na lang pinamanahan ako ni lola ng magandang kulay ng kutis hahahaha Tama ka dun sa stamina, kaya ako kahit gaano pa kalayo yan kayang kaya kong lakarin ng di masyadong napapagod.

P.S. Grabe sa nabuntis ng kanin 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Yong kulot talaga una komg choice ee kaso mo kulot kasi, ee diba straight hair mo haha, na scam ako ah hahaha. ssna all nalang nabalik ang kulay. Pumuti di namam ako nong high school, mukha nga lang saka leeg tahahaha thanks sa ponds. Kaso tinigil ko na un, nakakatamad ng mav apply ng kung ano ano sa mukha. Ako talaga madali ng hingalin ngayon. Tamad na panong mag lakad at tumayo. Lagi lang ako nakaupo kahit bagong kain 🙈.

Ahahahaha, totoo yan dahil jan lumaki tiyan ko hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ginawa kasi akong model nung pinsan ko na nag aaral ng cosmetology that time. Feeling ko nga ang ganda ko sa kulot 😂 Pero feeling ko lang pala haha.

Try mo din kasi kahit yung simple zumba steps. Kasi di naman yan para sa looks mo kundi para sa health mo.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Haha bat di nakaharap naman kaya haha. Di sama nahusgahan ko haha.

Yan ba ginagawa mo? Nitatamad ako ahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago