I Connect with Real Life.

19 47
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

There was a time when I worked in two universities where I had to have two cell phones. I had a cell phone number that was exclusively for students and the other number was private, only family and very close friends had it, although over time I also gave it as references in banks and other government agencies. And I still keep that same number.

Why two cell phone numbers?

I had the need for privacy, to get away from undergraduate and graduate students at the end of each semester. I had a number exclusively for students. I had the need to have that number just for them because I received constant calls on any day, no matter if it was on weekends and at any time, no matter if it was late at night. For the students, it was like I was on call 24 hours a day, every day.

In the last few years, before my retirement from public work, I was involved in teaching undergraduate and graduate research papers to undergraduate and graduate students. And I also served for several years as a juror in undergraduate thesis defense. There were too many students, many, I could say at times there were more than 100 students between the two private universities because I was also a thesis juror and I had in my hands their papers that they were going to defend to qualify for a degree in their university career. Most of them were stressed and loaded with a lot of anguish because they had too many obstacles to deliver their final work. There were too many anxious calls that I was always answering at any time.

On many occasions, they called me to ask such simple questions that showed that they had not read the internal rules of the university to prepare the final thesis. They would ask such simple questions, but when they were asked so late at night on a Saturday or Sunday, I did not like them very much, rather they annoyed me. I remember once I was called to ask if the first pages of the thesis were numbered and it was a very late Sunday, even sleep was taken away from me by that student.

Hence my need to have another cell phone number and at the beginning of each semester I would write the number on the blackboard. I had my academic advising schedule and I also attended after hours at the request of the students themselves. Almost at the end of each semester, the routine doubled because as the thesis due date approached, the demands on the advising were greater.

In the last month, the insistence for support was more intense. I always tried to put myself in the students' shoes and was available to them. I never refused to give advice. But in the last week when they started calling late at night, I turned off my cell phone. That cell phone was off every day after 7pm and on weekends. It was the only solution to the problem of the students' lack of consideration.

It was the only time when I had the need to turn off my cell phone. I stopped working at universities to start working as a coordinator of a training program for a refinery staff. I always kept both cell phone numbers, but at this level of training, I did not receive calls on weekends and even less in the evenings. So over time, I didn't use that number as much, and now I don't have it anymore. I just keep the same one that my family and friends have always had.

After a while, the cell phones got damaged and I was without a cell phone for a long time. I am not addicted to technology. The term to define a person addicted to technology is nomophobia, because I am sure I am not, because I have spent a lot of time without a smart phone. I am more aware of real life. When I go out for a walk, shopping or to visit a friend I leave my cell phone at home, I go out without a cell phone. Yesterday I spent the whole day without Internet because the power went out for several hours and at different times of the day. I spent the day in my real life very relaxed, doing other activities. The only thing I regretted was not being able to post, read and comment anything on the read.cash platform.

According to some data I researched, a person spends 8 hours or more a day on his cell phone, either for work or because he is immersed in the world of the metaverse. Currently, there are many people addicted to cell phones... What do you think?.. leave me your comment.

Always grateful to my followers and sponsors that thanks to technology we have been connected all the time and publishing in this magnificent platform that allows us to interact actively, no matter if it's the weekend or late at night. With you I never turn off my cell phone. You guys are the best.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Picture from: unsplash.com

7
$ 5.88
$ 5.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.03 from @LeticiaFelize
+ 3
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

that's feeling great to enjoy reading your article. waiting for next topic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hi. Thanks for stopping by and commenting... greetings from a virtual distance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi ma'am! I do have only one usable cellphone. It's good to have two for privacy purpose of the other one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also think the same... thanks for your visit and comment. Take care

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No problem. Waiting for your next article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am one of those who turn off the phone at night, if I have to find out something it should be in the early hours of the morning where I can at least get out to help.

I try to teach my youngest son not to spend so much time online but it seems there is nothing else to do. I think I will write my story soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Young people are immersed in their cell phones and always claim that there is nothing else to do... hehehehe.... we all have stories to tell on that subject, I hope to read yours soon. Take care of yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had a lot of work to do, switching off your phone in the evening time is good because of their inconsiderate behavior. Truly humans are so addicted to their phone that most can't stay off it.. I sometimes leave my phone at home to close places before but now not anymore, this is mainly for security reasons because we'll never know when someone might want to reach out to you maybe not to come home or help them get to something which may save their lives.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, at that time I was under a lot of stress because the final paper of the student who was about to graduate from college depended on me. Turning off the cell phone was a wise solution for me... thanks for always stopping by and commenting... take care friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are mostly welcome dear friend. Your articles are knowledgeable and inspiring so I'll always tune up to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your words are motivating to keep writing. Thank you my friend... have a wonderful day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have an android phone, which allows me to go online and do stuff, but I also have older models that are just mostly for texting and calling. There was a time in my work life when I would get calls at any time of the day, and hated it. Am glad that's ended and I can live in peace. Do I need to have my phone all the time? I fail to answer so many texts and calls... hahaha. So, no. Just when I am out of the house, for emergency purposes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I spent almost three years with a cell phone only for text messages and calls... so I understand you perfectly. .. greetings

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People nowadays can't live without their cellphones, especially the young ones. I can relate to it. But I can't deny the fact that with the advancement of the technology these days, I am not into connecting with people in real life. I feel sad about it though, but it is what it is. Moreover, I'm busy at work as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Technology is not bad, it is the use we make of it that is bad. Those of us who use it to work, in our case to publish, read and comment, use it as a tool. The danger is when you spend all day connected and do not enjoy real life... I love that you stopped by and that you commented. I appreciate i

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely my friend. I think we abuse the use of it that it has given a negative impact in our lives as well as the way we socialize. Technology makes our life easier, I hope we will br responsible enough to use it. I'll also try to tweak my bad habits on using it though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People nowadays can't live without having a phone just for an hour. I myself is very guilty for that. Idk how these phones seems to control us. Or let's say, most are not disciplined in terms of using phone.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Artificial intelligence knows what you like and sends you messages and videos so that you stay connected as long as possible. The dangerous thing is when you disconnect from real life. Everything must have a balance. Thank you for reading and for your valuable comment. Take care of yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. I hope everyone should learn how to balance things. It is my pleasure. You as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago