I Won A 1-Year Gym Membership Worth P30,000 ($600)!

9 37
Avatar for remofm
Written by
2 years ago

How’s your luck in joining raffles? Has your name been picked for the big prizes?

I did!

This was one of my biggest wins – no effort and sweat, just plain luck.

If I talked about my problems and failures last week, this time, I will serve you my success stories.

Sponsors of remofm
empty
empty
empty

Where Did I Win?

It was during our office Christmas party back in 2019. Hearts were pounding in the middle of an eerily silent party venue because we were down to the last two unnamed raffle prizes. Everyone was clueless about what the prizes were but we were aware that they’re something expensive.

The jar where our names were picked was almost empty. I didn’t realize that there were only two names left. Until the host called me!

“Remo!” he screamed.

I was so shocked and everyone was clapping. The host then read the prize that I won.

“A one-year membership at Anytime Fitness! This is worth Php30,000 ($600) which you can use in any branch you want!” he said.

Everyone cheered. Some of them patted me at the back while others laughed because what an ironic prize it was for a fat guy. I was still 102kg at that time. It looked like destiny played a good game.

Papayat ka na! (You’ll finally get fit!)” they said.

I didn’t know what to feel. I was glad to win one of the top prizes, but sad at the same time because it wasn’t what I expected.

The night’s top prize that I missed? The latest Samsung smartphone which I dreamt to buy!

What Happened To My Prize?

I sold it. And yes, it had nothing to do with my 102kg to 76kg weight loss story.

Just a day after I won the prize, some officemates reached out to me and asked if I was willing to sell it. The gym membership voucher was still unnamed and unsigned so it was still possible to pass it to another person.

After consulting my friends, I decided to sell it and asked for offers. The highest that I got was Php15,000 ($300) – just half the original price of the gym membership voucher. Thinking that it was fair enough, I decided to sell the raffle prize. Easy money!

Since I was planning to buy a smartphone, I used the money that I earned to purchase a new one. But not a Samsung device, just another brand that suits my budget and needs.

Did I Regret Anything?

Definitely, no! It was the best decision that I made in my whole life! That’s because:

  • I used my new smartphone as my gym. I used it to watch follow-along workout videos, to research about nutrition and food preparations, and other fitness-related content.

  • 2020 was a bad year for gyms. They closed almost the entire year because of the pandemic. The person who bought my gym membership voucher had not used it ever.

  • My smartphone still works until today and is still as good as new.

How Did I Win?

You know, raffles at office Christmas parties are a big deal here in the Philippines. You’ll be the star of the night if you win the most coveted prize. Don’t you agree?

Winning was just pure luck. But here’s something that I did to attract that.

Weeks before the main event, I was already manifesting what prizes I want to win. I attracted it by telling everything to the universe, murmuring a wish whenever I spotted 11:11 on the clock, praying to God, and writing everything in my planner.

It might sound absurd but I did those.

Yes, I have been doing those until now. It may sound crazy but it helps me to believe in myself that I can do everything, that I can be limitless!

A one-year membership at an expensive gym might not be the raffle prize that I manifested. But it still turned out to be the new smartphone that I wanted.

This was just one of the biggest prizes that I won at our office Christmas parties. In my next blog, I will tell you about my BIGGEST PRIZES. This time, it involves cash, hotel accommodation, and awards. Stay tuned for that!

Thank you for reading! This is remofm, a full-time journalist in the Philippines. I mainly write about my fitness journey, property investment, cryptoverse, and personal experiences as a journo who lives in the city.

It’s your turn! Tell me about the biggest prize that you won at your company Christmas party. Leave the answer in the comment section below!

#raffles #Christmas #lucky

2
$ 1.97
$ 1.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Kendy42
Avatar for remofm
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Didn't have the luck in any raffles that I have joined. Thats why sometimes I envied those lucky winners. Maybe my luck is not yet to come hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's sad, Kendy42. Maybe, we just have our own time and you may also have a luck in other things like in family, relationships, or career. Nice meeting you here! Ang thanks for reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In some aspect maybe I can say I am lucky. Thank you also for noticing me, happy to interact with others though I had hard times in my grammar hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, it's totally fine to have errors in your English. Ang importante naman ay napapahatid mo ang mensahe anuman ang lenggwahe. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I will. Thank you po sa pagpapalakas ng aking loob:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw your before and after of your body that changed dramatically, I wanna say I was very amazed by it. I myself wanna become fitted to I'm kina slim. Going back now I know one reason why you become motivated to work out I'm happy for you po. The law of attraction that's what it called manifest it in your mind and you'll get it in no time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Lazysnail! If you really want to get fit, you just really need to start. Start now. You'll eventually see the results. The law of attraction can also be applied. Just imagine the goal body that you want and you'll surely achieve it. I support you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm actually doing it, I think it's been half a year since I started grinding I'm seeing a shape on me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Keep it up, Lazysnail! I hope to see your progress. Maybe you can write about it too? But no pressure. Be at your own pace. Share your experience when you're ready. Keep going!

$ 0.00
2 years ago