Human Nature.

13 38
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

What will you do to survive? What does your gut instinct tell you?

It's a question we often ask throughout our lives, especially in an era where television and movies present's us with different fatal scenarios and from that, we can let our imaginations fly with the wind.

But is it possible to know for sure how we will react to a fatal scenario like the movies?

This weekend me and my sister have been re-watching Alice in Borderland and Squid Game. We like to watch foreign shows for they are offering more variety than American franchises, they seem to think that life is all lovey-dovey and at some point, they all end up like a soap opera, and for that, I have Betty la Fea (Ugly Betty).

After finishing Alice and starting the other one we came to the same conclusion as the first time: they both explore human nature at its core, most people will do the unthinkable if their lives depend on it, their true nature comes out like a wild thunderstorm and lashes out beyond control.

But there's the other side: those who do what they need to survive but do not lose themselves in the process.

That comes to show several things, hypothetically speaking, I'll name the ones that caught my eye most than others:

1.- It's hard to find someone really pure at heart, we all have some darkness within.

2.- Appearances are just that, appearances, fear the wolf dressed as sheep.

In Alice, we see a bunch of people who got sent into a world they don't know and forcefully they have to play games for them to be able to save their lifes.

Here's the catch, some of those people remained true to their nature and accepted the consequences, for example, the two best friends of the lead decided they weren't going to betray him even if that meant they would die. He also decided the same thing, but it was too late.

On the other hand, we see a character who was bullied during most of his life and did nothing to defend himself and in that world, he became a madman and lashed out against anybody who stood in his way, he projected his pain upon others in a world in which killing was the main rule.

Then there's another madman, a lost man in the real world, he didn't know who he was until he entered the Alice world. There he found his purpose, to inflict pain and worship death.

Who will I become if I get sent to such a world?

In Squid Game, we see a bunch of unscrupulous rich people with nothing but money and time in their hands, doing a series of games for their sick pleasure, disguised as wanting to help people in desperate situations.

In this scenario, a man gives people a choice: To play a game or to continue in their miserable lives struggling for survival.

All participants chose to be there not knowing what they were dealing with, and upon finding out and leaving, later decided to return, for it was better than the life they had outside.

We see the tough chick with a good heart hidden.

Her motivation? Her family.

We see the dummy fellow old and innocent.

His motivation? His family.

We also see the one who was a star falling from grace.

His motivation? Regaining that glory.

In his case, maybe it was also not wanting his mama to suffer, something he should've had thought before pawning her properties without her knowledge.

In the end, they all chose to be there knowing they'd have to do horrible things to get salvation for them and for the families or whatever the hell they wanted the money.

I ask myself again:

What would I do if someone presents me with a similar choice in a personal moment of despair?

Will I take it, or will I keep fighting out here?

I honestly can say that I don't know, I don't have an answer to any of those questions because the truth is that human nature is so complex and personal that is hard to know how will we react in difficult situations.

For instance, in 2017 my mom was ill, a virus got her and me too, but we were out trying to find antibiotics when she said that she wasn't feeling too well. We hopped on into a taxi and she couldn't get out, she fainted. My dad was already too weak and my little sister Gigi froze, well, not completely but didn't know how to help. I took my mom in my arms from the ground, lifted her, and got her inside our house.

How did I do that?

She was thin at the time for sure, but so was I, and we are about the same height and built similarly. That episode made me recall some stories I read in Reader's Digest when I was little, where a mom lifted a car to get her son from under the tires.

Another for instance : when my dad died, I was ice cold, focused on what had to be done because everyone was so heartbroken that I was the only one who stepped up to do all the paperwork that had to be done.

At one point I forgot it was my dad's funeral, I was so tired I hadn't slept in three days, I forgot what was happening, but until that time, I was hands-on, even I heard someone saying that I didn't care that my dad died, that I was so chilled that it was scary and that the only explanation was that I didn't care.

I did care. I do care.

I just stepped up and did what had to be done, but it was something I didn't think I could do or would do, I always thought that when that moment came, I would freeze and be useless, but no, I stepped up.

This of course doesn't mean that if a zombie apocalypse breaks free I would survive, I always joke saying that I'll be the first to be eaten by a hungry zombie. My point is that we cannot know for sure what we can do in certain situations until the situation is in our faces, staring at us, waiting for us to show who we really are, in that moment our nature emerges revealing who we are and what we are made of.



Check out my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty


This is 100% Original Content.

The images are from Unsplash and are provided by this site.



See you next time.

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

December 27th, 2021.

9
$ 4.18
$ 3.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @Belozoriana
+ 3
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

You don't know how strong or weak you are until you face it, someone has to assume the role and it is a self-defense of the organism, which momentarily blocks all kinds of feelings, but you come out ahead.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And that's the important thing, come out ahead, of course, without hurting anybody along the way, something that's often seen in extreme situations like the shows I mentioned. It's a scary thought also....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The power of a machine is limited by its rating. The inherent power of a human is not measurable like machines. The inner strength of a human may vary in odd circumstances. I also heard true stories about how a severely ailing mother rescued her baby from falling through the balcony in a high-rise building! Can we see it in a machine?

I appreciate your time to write such a profound and insightful article.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A machine can do anything that it's programmed to do, but lacks the emotion part of it all, that's why humans can still become more and more amazing. We have so many features waiting to be discovered...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true. I can't agree more.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We don't know all the resources that life gives us. We have one hemisphere of the brain working, or we jump from one to the other😅 (geniuses have both of them working simultaneously) We do not know our potentials and strength.But in any situation you need to keep self-control, which you did, you were more psychically stable (probably bitter experience helped you in this - it was a kind of vaccine for future great stress, or maybe you have a stress-resistant character) everyone should do everything possible to reduce the devastating consequences.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, we don't know what we are capable off until live throw us into a situation were we have to strive. Keeping it simple,.I didn't thought I could write and necessity drive to it and here I am, I'm not great but I'm earning a living doing somet I believe I couldn't do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Human nature is a primate that will do anything to survive. Even if we lose some of these features, we are animals in the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adrenalin kicks in and we do what we have to without even thinking about it Rebeca, I was the same as you when my father died.

However, we don't how we will act as it is all hypothetical until it happens. My normal reaction is to do the opposite to what everyone else does 😋😁😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha normal people stay out of trouble, I step into it 🤣🤣 nah I'm kidding, but I believe I would though to protect any member of my family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh I know you would do anything to protect your family, I remember your neighbour remember!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's right! My neighbour just walked by of front door haha I opened this comment and upon reading it she walked by haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha see I am watching you 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago