Food=Love.

26 47
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Many of the most beautiful memoirs I have of my life were built around food. Making it, tasting it, craving it, it doesn't matter in what shape or form, food has always been present in my life and I wouldn't have it in any other way, I mean, even my first serious injury was related to food.

Thai Pulled Beef with Rice

When I was 6 years old I wanted to make a simple tomato salad, I was hungry and didn't have any intentions of waiting till lunch. The knife slipped through my fingers and ended up jabbed between my left thumb and index. I covered my hand and went outside to try and stop the bleeding. That didn't work and by lunchtime, I was at the hospital, thankfully it didn't need stitches, but I got scared, not by the injury, but by the scolding I got. Luckily it wasn't that bad, and that was the start of my relationship with food.

Cachapa Cachapa

That accident far from getting me out of the kitchen, I decided to learn how to handle a knife and not cut myself slicing a simple tomato. My brothers and I made special treats for our parents on mother's and father's day, and I even won a contest in a vacation camp doing a Coliflour Salad.

By the time I was twelve I already was immersed in the music world and didn't have time to do much in the kitchen, but, as my weight issues started, the diets began, and when I had time I tried different stuff to make them less boring. By the time I was 18 and left home to live in another city, I had sufficient knowledge to be able to feed myself without any trouble, my big sister and I made our monthly purchases and according to the budget we had, we didn't lack delicious food even if it was cheap.

Looks fancy but it's just spaguetty...

Living alone I learned how to bake a whole piece of meat, I learned how to make Filet Mignon, Paella, and I did my first batch of Hallacas by myself. That was a joyous day, and I had my parents crazed over the phone asking all sorts of questions. I created some recipes also, like Dripping Potatoes or Mushroom-Lemon Rice, which my brother loved very much.

My Best Sellers

Then I got sick and I came back home and joined a Culinary School, but that didn't pan out. However, I started to bake cakes to sell, and then I added cookies and other pastries to make some money, but I often did them also for my family and friends. That and the medication I took for my illness made my weight over 70kg which was way too much for me given my height. 1.54mts.

But even then, food provided comfort and safety, not in a sick way, but therapeutically, because the time I spent in the kitchen made me vent maybe in a similar way music does. It healed me whenever I was angry, or sad, or frustrated, and the best foods I've ever made were the ones I made while being very happy because the look on the faces of my loved ones was priceless whenever they tasted something I made on our kitchen.

My Mom's last year's Birthday Lunch

Food is the way I show love, a tangible love, a full love. Music conveys a rainbow of emotions through sounds, and food does the same through flavors. You can transport to different places in your head just by tasting something that's linked to some memory, either happy or sad, and you can show people how much you care about them by preparing something tasty, and fun, and hearty, that's why, for me, food equals love.

Tonight's Dinner

This is my entry to @JonicaBradley Writing Prompt #20 and I must say, I cried while writing it, so many memories and the ones that are left to tell.

If you want to try this please follow these steps and you're good to go:

  1. Write anything about food

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Join and submit your story to PromptlyJonica

  4. Tag me: @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun!



Please check my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty

The pictures are mine, some of them recent, and taken with my Samsung GT-E2550 from Prehistoric Ages and my sister's Techno Spark 6Go.


See you next time!

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

Saturday, October 30th, 2021.

13
$ 5.58
$ 4.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.40 from @Belozoriana
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
+ 7
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

I wanted to know how to bake a cake I'll try before doing carrot cake but it failed😁😅your cake looks yummy and delicious, baking is one of the best stress relievers.😉

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Umm carrot cake! That's one of my favorites and I haven't made it as of ever. It's too expensive and I still can't afford it :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just used only low ingredients that why maybe my carrots cake was epic failed😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a challenge, I see it that way, that's also why I haven't made it, can you imagine spending big bucks to make it and it comes out bad? The horror

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True is it hard to do. So I made a right decision to not to do that again. It a waste of money😅😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything looks delicious with very good presentation, one of the main ingredients is the love for what you do, that feeling that complements the recipes no matter how laborious they are, I liked your desserts and that dinner that I would love to taste.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Frank! I wish that I could keep doing delicious food and share it with you! Soon I'll share my recipe for those tequeños haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you, food is love.
My dad loved to cook, and for me, food means family time, memories of my childhood and my youth. I enjoy eating and cooking most of the time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right. We all have many anecdotes built around food, is wonderful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have become a great cook now

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I'm not great haha but I'm ok haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know how to cook deliciously! You have many talents, my friend! I also love mushrooms and rice, we go to the woods every year to pick them. And you are a real talent!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So are you! I haven't made that rice just because mushrooms are way too expensive for me to buy, and they don't grow here as they do over there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The food pictures woke up my hunger but I like your article you are absolutely right, for me it's the same most of my precious memories involved food, from camping, to family events to relationships.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! A trip to the beach or the first time you cooked something to your significant other, it will always be there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, those stolen moments in time makes life worth living.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You makes me hunger. How I wish I could know how to bake😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha sorry. You should try it, it's not that hard, people tend to overthink it too much, but there are many easy recipes, I messed up many many cakes and cookies and cupcakes in my time haha and still sometimes I get a bashed up cake, but I don't give up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ugh, this post makes we wanna eat something like that! Honestly, all food are good it is just a matter of preferences in my opinion. Food is love. ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha sorry Jiji haha

Yes, there are some things that I wouldn't try for anything in the world, but I'm still interested, the story behind it and what it means for the people who actually eat it, it's a wonderful world for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bright point. Life first requires food, then shelter, dresses, etc. Good food brings peace and happiness. Thanks for sharing your mother's photo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I hope I could age as gracefully as she has.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Colourful foods in the post. Wow! Added with emotional feelings. Well written dear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Lucy! Hopefully I'll get to share many more with you ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article is on food but you somehow managed to put so much emotions into it, just wow. You're really talented with writing and apparently with cooking

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, it really means a lot to me that you all appreciate the feeling behind my writing, it's awesome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago