Food Journal-Valentine's Day Edition: Pero que Pepitonas!

8 39
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Happy Valentine's Day!

The day of love and friendship has arrived, and everyone on the street and social media is going like crazy reaching out to those they love. Me, I already greeted those close to my heart, and here I am to tell you all I Love You ❤️ ❤️ ❤️

Now, I said in a recent article how I show love through food, that's why today I bring to you a very savory dish, typical of our Venezuelan beaches, and it is said that it's an aphrodisiac so it is suitable for today. LOL. I'm talking about Arca Zebra or Pepitonas as we know them here.

They are a mollusk very common on our shores; easy to find and collect they are a staple on all our beaches. With several ways to prepare, they are as tasty as versatile because you can make a main dish or ceviche to share or antipasti as finger food at a party. Me, I love them in the way I was introduced to them, on vinaigrette, and that's the recipe I have for you today.

Why do I say is an aphrodisiac?

Well, I'm not the one that says it, I just follow a worldwide notion that seafood, especially oysters, are "the food of love". Supposedly they can power up the libido better than the V pill. I've been hearing that notion for as long as I can remember, and I've seen many references to that statement on TV shows and movies, but is it true?. Before I wrote this I searched a little and didn't find anything to fully support this idea, I found out for example that Coconut Water is an aphrodisiac, as well as Garlic, and Basil, and Ginger, Jalapeños and Carrots. Oysters are there as well but not on the top of any list I saw.

But that doesn't matter all over the world, and here, on the beach, you can hear the vendors shout: "Vuelve a la vida, 7 potencias, Rompecolchón, Levanta Muertos..." (Come back to life, 7 powers, Mattress breaker, Dead-Awaker...), A fun marketing strategy that supports the idea that a good batch of this kind of seafood can "Uplift you" for an evening of good-loving.

They come with Shrimp, Calamari, Octopus, other kinds of Clams, and veggies. We usually eat them with Crackers sitting on the beach shore with a cold beer and good company. But that doesn't mean that we can't enjoy them at home, watching TV and with no alter intentions except enjoy a tasty treat.

Let's go to the recipe 👇👇👇

Ingredients:

500 grms of Arca Zebra-Pepitonas.

4 medium-size white onions.

2 medium-size Bell Peppers

1 1/2 cups of white vinegar.

Salt

Pepper

500 ml of the pepis cooking water

Preparation:

Clean the pepis very very well, remove the thin layer they have on the borders of each pepitona. Wash them well, and cook them in a big pot with water. After the first boil, rinse them again and repeat until they are soft, you can add some lemon wedges.

When cold, drain them and place them in a big jar (if you don't have a jar, use a plastic container, as I did).

Add the onions and bell peppers sliced in julienne, the vinegar, and the 500ml of the water on which they were cooked.

Mix that well and season with salt and pepper to taste. Store it in the fridge for at least 24 hours before serving.

See? It is easy and very simple and cheap. On a hot afternoon or night, you can enjoy this and transport yourself to the seashores, smell the aroma of sand and salt, hear the waves crash, ahh, it's amazing.

Disclaimer

This recipe was previously posted by me on Hive a few days back. If you want to check the original post tap me.



Check out my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty


This is 100% Original Content.

The images are from: My property and taken with a TEchno Spark 6GO. Screenshots. Unsplash and provided by this site.



See you next time.

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

February 14th, 2022.

7
$ 2.27
$ 2.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
+ 2
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

That's a seafood right? I want to make that one but I can't co'z I'm allergic to it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes dear, it's seafood :( too bad you're allergic! One of my brothers is also allergic but he stuffs himself with antihistamine before binging, he's crazy so, don't follow his steps haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of marketing for the consumption of mollusks, because of this there are some species in extinction. That recipe looks delicious, the sale here is permanent, there is a very folkloric lady who sells on the street and shouts at the top of her lungs "Levanta Pipe" (Raise Penis).

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha nooooo seriously?? My oh my haha that lady has some courage in her!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can imagine her all her life, with a basket on her head, screaming through the streets, the real word is "Para Pipe", I remembered after I posted.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahahaha no way! That's awesome and funny as f***. I would like to hear her someday, and eat some at that beach.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It wasn't exactly on the beach, she walked all over the city, wherever she went.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We had one here that sold Catalinas, and he shouted, pardon my French, "Cucaaa, cuca rellena" hahaha we laughed hard whenever we heard that old man, and the Catalinas were amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago