Food Journal: Mom! We got Milk!

16 24
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Mom! There's milk in the CLAP BAG!

Yes, that's right. We get milk in the CLAP Bag.

For those who don't know what CLAP is in Venezuela, let me explain:

Local Supply and Production Committee

They are food distribution committees promoted by the Venezuelan government in which the communities themselves supply and distribute priority foods through a house-to-house delivery method.

Source

Yes, that's right. I will not discuss how this came to be, why or when, it's politics which I don't like to talk about and is not all together related to today's post. But, the truth is that if we don't get milk in that bag, we don't consume it because it's too expensive and can't afford it, that's why, when it does come we take advantage of it and cook whatever we can that has milk in it. And that's my cue to start my story.

Without oven or cookies!

Last year, it was just my mom and me. My little sister had gone to Caracas to start a new job which didn't take off due the Pandemic. Thank you Covid! Anyways, it was the end of July I believe when the bag came, and to our surprise, it got milk. So, we got somewhat exited but not too much, since it was a 200 gr sachet. Still, better that than nothing so we save it until the location called for it.

By August, I had a terrible cough, chest pain and overall weakness, and thought: I got Covid! Thankfully that wasn't the case, even though it was treated like it was and so, I was locked down in my house without the possibility of even get a ray of sunshine in my face.

One thing you should know about me is this: When I get anxious, I eat! So, I started roaming the kitchen looking for something to make and found the milk.

Hum, what can I make with this?

So, I got on the computer, opened Youtube and started searching for something easy, with few ingredients and fast as well as delicious. Good things come for those who wait, and in my case for those who search because I found a video of a Plombir Cake, I'll leave the link at the end of the post.

The basics of this Cake is that it takes No Oven to make it and the Cookie Crust in fact doesn't have one single cookie in it! This gave me an idea, to make a Tartlet using almost the same ingredients as she used on the Plombir Cake. I checked the cabinets, found what I needed and started my experiment.

The Cookie Crust.

This is totally foolproof. You just have to roast some wheat flour in a pan, until is golden brown, that's it. Roast it until it's brown and add melted butter mixed with sugar and vanilla. That tastes like Maria cookie (Venezuelans will know what I'm talking about) and the tartlet comes out looking exactly as if was made with graham crackers. Let it rest and take care of the filling.

The two on the left are from Google and the two on the right are mine

The Pastry Cream

I always try to follow the recipe in regards its ingredients, with the measurements, not so much. But this time I was forced to look for alternatives, cheaper alternatives, and since I wasn't allowed to leave the house I didn't wanted to cause my mom too much trouble I had to improvise.

A pastry cream is based with eggs and milk, and I didn't had eggs. So,what to do? If I did it the traditional way, it would turn out a little bland and too simple, so, I did a caramel first, then added the milk and flour to thicken the mixture and voilá! Filling done!

The result is more of a Caramel Cream than a Pastry Cream.

There you have it, a simple dessert, with few ingredients, no oven, and just as delicious as if where done the traditional way. As promised, I'll leave the link of the video from which I got this idea, it's in Spanish but you can activate the subtitles.

Thanks for Reading me!

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

7
$ 4.61
$ 4.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 2
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

That looks very tasty, friend. So cool to make the crust without Galletas Maria. I'm already curious to try.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I surprised the first time I made it. Now is a must have whenever we have milk in the cabinet Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No oven to make it? Like eyyy, imma try to do that. Gonna watch it first in youtube thanks for idea

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're welcome!! I have to do it like the video to decide which one I like best haha maybe it will be a neck to neck, who knows...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a good idea for alternatives. If I am the one cooking that I eventually give up since I do not have the ingredients. I guess you have experience in cooking that's why you can think and improvised quickly. Btw, it looks delicious!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I loce to cook ever since I was a toddler, and with the situation over here that came in handy because the circumstances forced us to find ways not to eat the same thing over and over again. This is very easy to make, you should try it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you have your own measurements of ingredients or did you base it on YT recipe?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I used my own, based on what I had a the time. The mold I have is 23 cm in diameter, so for the cream I used 600ml of milk, 4 tablespoons of flour to thicken, 1 tbs of vanilla, 3/4 of a cup of sugar, and for the crust I believe it was 4 or 5tbs of Butter, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1cup of roasted flour and a splash of vanilla.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great. Let me try it and share with you how it turns out. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very good improvisation, you have to try this recipe. In this crisis we have learned to do many things with minimal ingredients and of course with the help of youtube, speaking of Maria.... I have a long time I do not try it.... :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Confesion: I'm not a fan of Maria haha but in this instance it is nice to taste that distintive flavour they have even if you're not actually eating them. Despite the crisis, I'm grateful because I learned to value even more the gifts life has given us and not take things for granted, this has been a tough lesson to learn my friend. Maybe soon I'll post the different ways I have to cook lentils!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have a few recipes with lentils, let's see what you bring us again. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha soon, I promise!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

cool, I think it's delicious because it was made by hand and love. I am amazed on how you improvised ingredients as an alternatives. I don't know that the price of milk in Venezuela is too expensive, how much milk cost madam?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The prices are international, you may see that this is a good price, the problem is that the income is very low and we have little liquidity, so we prefer to buy something of greater use.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! Yes, love makes everything special. Milk, umm, it depends of the form in which you buy it; if it's fresh from the cow, over here 1 lt costs 0.50usd. If bought in a supermarket and depending on the brand it costs from 1 to 1.50 usd, and if you buy the powder, the last time I checked, 250grams where about 2.50usd

$ 0.00
2 years ago