Some say money can't buy happiness...

12 73
Avatar for rayselp
1 year ago

Sumimasen...

Have you watched a short video on Tiktok or YouTube shorts or Instagram Reels with this audio and then suddenly, with a (sounded like a) short laugh tell you "Sumimasen... come to Japan."?

What's the connection, right? You will know when you'll be able to watch it, so I will try to post my own version of it here:

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/ZCK-M2VE-wE

Well, come to think of it. If you'll not be "too serious" about it, it's actually true. Let me justify why money can be a tool for someone to be happy. But before that, let me set the records straight, I am not encouraging the thought that money is the source of all happiness, the Bible actually tells something about money and its connection with evil. It says that the love of money is the root of all evil. Okay, guys, it's the LOVE of money, and not money itself.

Now, here are the reasons why the "Some say money can't buy happiness... sumimasen, come to Japan." statement is true.

  • Good food. Japanese cuisine is known all over the world because of its uniqueness in terms of its ingredients, manner of preparation, and aesthetics. Back in the Philippines, I always liked Japanese food such as sushi, ramen, sashimi, katsudon, etc. And mind you, at work, whenever we have a year-end treat celebration, we would always choose restos with different varieties of all-you-can-eat food. When I went to Japan for a short trip in 2017, I was able to eat ramen noodles, and some sushi rolls, however, since the budget was tight during that time, the food that I was able to eat was only limited. Now, the budget is still tight, however, whenever I get a chance to eat out, I would always choose the ones that are authentic. They are quite expensive than home-cooked meals, but you know, you'll get what you've paid for. You know that cooking for them is an art, and you'll get to experience the art itself in every bite of their delicious, tasty food. I am gonna show some photos of the food that I've already eaten here:

    Katsudon in my favorite Katsudon place in near Kintetsu Nara Station

Unagi, Katsudon, and sushi... what else can you ask for?

Who's gonna say no to authentic ramen, yo!?

  • Beautiful places. I am currently living in Nara City in Nara Prefecture, which is south of Tokyo. It is one of the prefectures in the Kansai Region, a place near several tourist destinations like Osaka, Kyoto, Hyogo (Kobe). Nara is known for deers, which just roam around in the park. Actually, they roam around everywhere in Nara, even in front of my dorm! The last time I went to Japan (2017), I was able to visit Osaka, Kyoto, Kobe, and Nara but only for a limited time and with a limited budget. Lol. Since last year, I've been to some places like Takayama and Shirakawago in Gifu Prefecture where I experienced my first snow.

    My first snow experience in Shirakawago, Gifu Prefecture

    Together with my dormmates, we went to Kyushu area, the main southern island of Japan, particularly in Miyazaki and Fukuoka, where we spent hanami (cherry blossom viewing).

And for the first few days of the Golden week, I visited my friend in Kanto area where I visited Tokyo and Yokohama. I was totally awestruck.

I've actually also been able to go to different places around Nara because Nara is rich in history, it is viewed by the Japanese as the "cradle of civilization" and is known to be the oldest city capital of Imperial Japan, from 710 to 794. I will show photos of Nara, probably in my next article.

  • Great Service. For sure, living in Japan is not cheap, especially since I come from a developing country. I've been staying here for almost 8 months now, and even if I am not a citizen, I am indebted to all the Japanese people because I am one of the beneficiaries of the government as a scholar. And from my vantage point, I can attest that the services offered to all citizens are truly what they deserve. For example, before coming to Japan, I was already vaccinated in the Philippines with Sinovac, but according to the city hall, they should have me vaccinated again with Pfizer because Sinovac is not recognized here. I should have, but I was not allowed to (sad) receive financial assistance from the city because of the effects of COVID-19. This kind of financial assistance is given to residents who belong to no/low-income families.

These are just some of the things that make me happy. Sure, money can't buy happiness, but when you have it, use it to come to Japan... and I hope to meet you by then!

ahem, sumimasen... :D

9
$ 2.20
$ 1.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @SuperJulalaine
+ 1
Avatar for rayselp
1 year ago

Comments

Money can help you to buy lots of things that make you happy. You are living at beautiful place dear. I'm craving to taste this cuisine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really a beautiful place, and every passing day, I utter my prayer of gratitude for being here.
Hope you can visit Japan soon!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have relatives and friends living and working there and all they say is good things about it. Nice Sceneries , cleanliness , honesty of the people and more. So if i do accumulate lots of money then i would be happy to go there and explore. Spend it with good food to make me happy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really nice here po. But the language barrier is making it a bit difficult, so you should know how to converse in Nihongo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sumimasen, konnichiwa. Ang ganda nung mga pictures, feel na feel mo nga ang Japan pero doon sa first picture kami namangha. Akala mo nasa shooting ng Game of Thrones 😁. Ganda.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for the appreciation, yung photo po ba na tinutukoy nyo ay sa cover photo? It's a shot from temple here in Nara, Japan po. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohayo rayselp. Let's meet in Japan 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, why not? Hopefully Japan’s borders will be more open to tourists.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your funny😊 "sure money can't buy happiness but when you have Money, use and come to Japan" I will come someday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You will love Japan, I swear!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Expect me in Japan someday.. Its actually true money can't buy happiness, but poverty also can't . being poor is even worst because you will not be happy and won't live comfortably

$ 0.00
1 year ago

See you soon, then! I agree that money can be a tool for happiness, you can live comfortably, while also being able to share and make others' lives better. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago