New Hobby Unlocked!

14 71
Avatar for noisytoothie
2 years ago
Topics: Hobbies

Hobby is what makes us occupied during our leisure times or rest time. It is not done mandatory but it is something I'm looking forward to. It is an activity for enjoyment.

Personally, I love doing my hobbies. Mostly, my hobbies are all related to my passion in music which includes singing and playing instruments. I've been in the music industry for about 13 years, since my friend introduced this to me. I even can't imagine I would be this indulged to go through music at a young age.

Commonly, aside from the above-mentioned hobbies, another hobby of mine is writing poems or journals before. Another thing is spending time with my friends, actually this is the best hobby because I got to spend time with them and forget my reality problems.

This pandemic had brought so much changes in my personal daily routine. I'm also doing some exercise before but I can't now. Pandemic even brought me here in this platform and became also one of my hobbies. I'm not actually into writing such long article, I just want some short poems or short thoughts.

School has been stressing as it is. I believe every student will agree on me. So aside from school matters, I try to engage myself to different things that will somehow help me get out of my school matters even for a short period of time.

One of my friend introduced this new hobby to me - crochet making. Yes! It seems too difficult to do but actually I've tried doing this before when my mother and sister join an entrepreneurial program where they are taught how to do crochet and other related stuffs. This is not new to me, but it seems to be unfamiliar to me right now. So I decided to give it a try. :)

It's not so long ago when I started this. I first ordered the hooks in shopee for my first step in this new hobby. I bought a set of hooks, with different sizes, amounting to Php 232.00 but since I had a voucher, I got to less Php 88.00, so I just paid Php 154.00 or about $3+. For those who are interested on buying such hooks, here is the shop where I ordered it.

shop name: fivepoint.ph

My mother already had some yarns in her past seminars so I got to tried practicing with it while I don't have my own yarns yet.

In starting with this hobby, I seek for some beginner tips in youtube. I also learned that there are different kinds of stitches depending on what type of product we are going to make. Here are some of my crochets.

Actually, I am planning on making this a facemask holder but I still don't have hooks for the both ends. My sister have already ordered it but it's still not delivered.
I guess there's an improvement :)
This is the first crochet I made. This is called a single-stitched crochet. I want to be familiar first with its different stitches.
I finally ordered my own yarns because I just got the money. I can't wait to do more crochets with these.

So, yes. I just introduced to you my new hobby, so let's push it more forward. Some of you may also have interest with crochet so I'm going to share with you some helpful information about crochet. :)

20 Basic Crochet Stitches

  1. Single crochet stitch

The single crochet stitch is the simplest stitch to learn how to crochet.  It’s quick and easy and can be worked in rounds as well as rows. Combining it with different crochet stitches can result in some fun results.

  1. Double crochet stitch

This is one of the most basic crochet stitches. It’s essential for completing patterns and moving forward in beginner crochet. You can use this to make granny squares or the v stitch which you’ll learn more about later.

  1. Half Double crochet stitch

Half double crochet is one of those easy crochet stitches when you first learn to crochet. It’s a little shorter than a double crochet stitch but follows the same steps.  This stitch is great for textured bags or detailed sweaters.

  1. Treble crochet stitch

This stitch is one of the taller crochet stitches. It’s 4 chains tall and just takes a bit of repetition. If you’re looking to work up a pattern quickly, try the treble crochet stitch. This stitch would work well for a loose crochet blanket

  1. Slip stitch crochet

This is traditionally used as a joining stitch when crocheting in the round. However, you can easily crochet a hat or even an afghan blanket with the technique. It can also be used to create flat invisible stitches. This stitch serves many purposes.

  1. Moss Stitch (Granite Stitch)

The moss stitch crochet stitch is made up of two of your basic crochet stitches. The single crochet stitch and the chain stitch. Through using these two easy stitches, you can make the textured moss stitch. It goes by many names, the granite stitch and woven stitch to name a few.

  1. Granny Stripe Stitch

This stitch consists of the double crochet stitch, the single crochet stitch and the slip stitch. A crochet stitch guide might be helpful when you come across this stitch. It’s most commonly used in patterns on how to crochet a blanket.

  1. Elizabeth Stitch

The Elizabeth stitch is one of those really unique crochet stitches. It’s also been called the mini bean stitch because of the raised rounded shapes the stitches make. It looks intimidating but it’s really easy to learn and is absolutely beautiful.

  1. Star Stitch

The star stitch creates a beautiful star or flower shapes in the fabric. It’s condensed and squishy. One of the most perfect crochet stitches for blankets.  It would look beautiful in a baby’s or child’s room

  1. Puff Stitch

The puff stitch is so much fun to work up. As far as unique crochet stitches go, this one is super easy too. It creates soft puffs on your fabric. Like mini clouds. This texture looks great in scarves or blankets. I even think it would make a sweater more modern.

  1. Shell Stitch

If you’re looking for one of the most unique crochet stitches, try out the shell stitch. It’s so simple to learn to crochet this stitch but it looks really impressive. It starts with single crochet. You can begin with fsc if you know how. Then you go into the stitch pattern!

  1. Primrose Stitch

Learn how to crochet the primrose stitch with this simple tutorial. It uses chain stitches and the double crochet stitch. There are few crochet stitches as beautiful as this one. Use it to dress up children's wear patterns or make a delicate washcloth set.

  1. Cluster Stitch

This stitch pattern focuses on the single crochet stitch. Because it mainly uses this stitch it’s suitable for even beginner crochet. Pay attention to your placement of stitches and you’ll be able to create a thick fabric with the cluster stitch.  

  1. Lemon Peel Stitch

This stitch uses only basic crochet stitches to achieve something that looks really complex. After a couple of rows, you’ll be crocheting full projects with this easy to learn the stitch. It’s also known as the grit stitch. You can find tutorials under both names.

  1. Popcorn Stitch

This is a variation of several different crochet stitches. I’m sure you’ve heard of the puff and bobble stitch. While they are similar, the popcorn stitch requires the most yarn. All of these make great crochet stitches for blankets. Try popcorn out.

  1. Waistcoat Stitch

This is one of those easy crochet stitches. It’s flat unlike some of the more textured stitches on this list. It’s as easy as the single crochet stitch. The key is working into the posts instead of the loops.

  1. V Double Crochet Stitch

This stitch would make a beautiful afghan blanket. The crochet stitch guide creates what looks like little v’s all throughout the work. You’ll need to know how to use the double crochet stitch to achieve this pattern.

  1. Side Saddle Stitch

This isn’t as simple as the moss stitch crochet pattern but it’s worth it once you see how gorgeous it is. It uses several stitches and clusters to create a unique design. Master how to crochet a blanket with this stunning stitch.

  1. Picot Single Stitch

This is a fun variation on the single crochet stitch. Create this raised stitch using single crochet and chains, and some creative twists to the classics. It has a similar look to Tunisian crochet but without all the special tools. If you haven’t heard of Tunisian crochet, check out this article on it and learn about all the fun stitches. If you want the simplicity of crochet with the drape of knit, you’ll love it.

  1. Aligned Cobble Stitch

The symmetry of this stitch would work beautifully with a crochet blanket. As long as you can sc and treble crochet, you will be able to master this stitch. It’s made up of basic crochet stitches that you probably already know.

"These different crochet stitches are the fundamentals to become an inventive crocheter. If you’ve mastered the basic crochet stitches, you’ll be able to stitch these up in no time."

Source: 20 Basic Crochet Stitches

I think we all have the same thoughts in mind - we just think that they are all just the same stitches HAHAHAHA. Personally, I haven't tried atleast 18 of these types because I am still looking forward for my yarn. I just hope it will be delivered soon.

I'll update here if I already had some progress. I would love to share it with you! :)

If you also have your hobbies, you can share it too! :)

Sources:

Source: 20 Basic Crochet Stitches

10
$ 6.17
$ 6.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @francescawrites
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
Avatar for noisytoothie
2 years ago
Topics: Hobbies

Comments

It's so great to do something with your own hands, especially if it's a future gift.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed!!! And it was so fulfilling and satisfying!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really great! Especially now that most of us are in lockdowns or still limited to enjoy ourselves outside, having a hobby like this will definitely make them productive.

I love this new hobby of yours, hala super cute ng mga gawa niyo! I tried it before though I'm not that good at it when I was in elementary, siguro di ako mahilig sa ganyan lang talaga. Enjoy doing what makes you happy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh, thank you so much! It's quite hard but still can manage. :) And yes, I am really enjoying doing this. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am new to this hobby also (probably 2-3 weeks in this hobby), and the stitches I knew is limited, thank you for sharing these stitches, I am having a hard time to find pretty ones and only basic ones are the ones I find.

Hoping that we both enjoy our stay in this hobby, and I am seeing this hobby as an opportunity to open a small business :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great to hear! Crochet is really addictive, I must say. hahaha

yes yes!!! my 2 friends and I are planning on doing business in crochet. We're just busy with studies but we will find time soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same! I am planning on opening a small business but I think I still need practice and time management.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we are also just starting learning how to crochet so it really takes time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd just be happy to receive products of these as a gift. LOL! I maybe too lazy to do this thing. But I guess it is a girl thing and hobby to try. Maybe when I got nothing to do. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was worthy to try. Hehe discovering something new will never be boring, I swear:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you're right..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is lovely. Weldone ma'am. This is a very nice hobby, I wish I knew how to knit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I believe that there is nothing in this world we can't learn. You should try it too! 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will.

$ 0.00
2 years ago