Three of the most memorable major mass communication subjects I studied

Avatar for nathawriter
2 years ago
Topics: College

Some people believe that taking mass communication course in college is simple. "Masskomportable" and "video video lang" are two derogatory terms I frequently see on social media and hear people use to describe this course. They had no idea how difficult this course in reality.

I chose Mass Communications as my college course because I assumed it did not include a Mathematics subject. Yes, I am one of those students who despises math, despite having studied Accountancy, Business, and Management in senior high school. Kidding aside, I already shared the reason in my previous article, but if you haven't read it yet, the reason I chose mass communication is because working in the television and media industry has always been a dream of mine.

Transitioning from high school to college has been difficult for me, and one of the reasons for this is because of the major subjects in the college of Mass communication. Let me share three of the most memorable major subjects I studied in this article.

Program Planning

In the media industry, planning a program is extremely important, which is why I was so excited when I took this course subject. The journey was stressful because we had to produce a program as a group. Our professor gave his approval for our group's Make or Break game show, so we only made one episode on it. The fact that we need to make a lot of props and assist the production in setting up, I experience sleepless night here. Regardless, it was a fun experience as I I learned a lot about how the production works in real life.

Producing Live Programs for Broadcasting and Related Media

Because our section needs to produce a program, this subject made my third-year student life feel like hell. Following the brainstorming session in class, we decided to create a show called "iDream," in which we showcase different people who are known for their incredible talent. As the Floor Director of the program, I learned how television production works more in real life. Unfortunately, we had only shot two episodes when the pandemic lockdown began, but we continued to produce the remaining episodes online.

Script Writing

This subject course has pushed me to come up with a unique story idea despite the fact that I am not a writer. As part of our finals requirement, we must write a storyline, consider the characters, and write a well-written script. After several story concept rejections, my professor finally approved my concept:

Ito ay kwento ng isang binata na makakakilala ng matandang lalaki, hindi lingid sa kaniyang kaalaman na sya pala yon in the future. Bawat pagdaan ng araw, ang matandang lalaki ang siyang nagbibigay ng payo sa bawat problema ng binata at kung ano ang dapat gawin nito. Sa pagdating ng isang mabigat na desisyon, hahayaan ba niya na ang matanda ang mag desisyon at patuloy siyang makikinig sa payo nito? o sundin ang kaniyang sariling kagustuhan at maranasan ang kalayan ngunit maaaring maging dahilan ng kaniyang pagkamatay.

3
$ 0.50
$ 0.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Freedom007
Sponsors of nathawriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nathawriter
2 years ago
Topics: College
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I love maths actually and anything that involves just only reading without calculating, I do struggle with it. Mass communication is a good course to study Nice to meet you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like what you do in your course. Actually, AB Journalism is one of my choices back then. But I didn't pursue it because lackof confidence. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think all courses have math subjects. But it doesn't focus on that field. Mass communication is indeed a good course.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am rooting for your success on this kind of career you are about to achieve soon. I am confident to say that you can make it because you already have the skills and knowledge to do so. Also, it is your desire, surely, you will have it. Just keep going.

Nice to meet you, natha 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This platform is really for you my friend. You have the skills in writing thus making you easy here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago