The item was given by a Priest.

24 40
Avatar for mommykim
1 year ago
Topics: Treasure, Item, Personal

June 26, 2022

Treasure,

You might not know it but someone treasures you and want you all by themselves. There's someone out there willing to risk everything just to give you everything you need without wanting something in return. But as most people or those bitter ones says that there's no freer in this world, even the little things have its price.

Also, a treasure is some materials given or bought and it means everything to you, old or new, it has sentimental value that no one can replace even in the memory. A ring, a bracelet, a handkerchief, or even a necklace and other material things that are somewhat worth keeping for.

Why am I mentioning the word "treasure"?

It's the continuation of the 30DoG challenge.

When it comes to items I had a lot in mind, from the very first thing Mum gave to me or the one that my first love gave to me to celebrate our first weeksary (shooooooooooookt) or the first things my classmates, my colleagues, my friends gave to me.

But the item I treasure and is with me still up to this day is this.

My first Bible(Cebuano), was given to me by a priest 20 years ago.

Our barangay always held an event every month of May after the town fiesta, they organize the "Flores de Mayo" for kids aged 5-12 years old. I and my cousins were called to attend the event as it was all open for all the residents in the barangay, and even Mum agreed to let me attend it. We have Saturday sessions on Praying the Rosary and singing the Ave Maria song and other songs and praises for Mama Mary.

The activities lasted all the Saturdays of the month of May.

On the last day of the event, all the Parish priests and nuns came all the way to watch us sing and dance to some songs in honor of Mama Mary, we even recite prayers and poems dedicated to the mother of our Savior as a thanksgiving.

The priests were then told to give something to a kid that inspires them, and I was chosen as one of the recipients, I remember the name of the priest was Fr. Gummalion or we sometimes call him Fr. Gums. He gave me this Bible as he said I was so obedient and even memorize the prayers and also lead in praying the Holy Rosary(well I'm a thick face before lol!).

As you can see, the Holy Bible was full of dents and signs of many years that came by we're visible on it. This Bible has been with me for quite a long time until I bought my very first English Bible (NABRE)

Oh, you might misunderstand but I'm not who you think I am. I am not a believer before, I only join and became consistent as I was inspired by my cousins and other kids whose doing their best, in short, I'm a competitive kid before. My faith started to bloom when I reached High School and College. This Bible was a witness to my pain and happiness.

Whenever I am doubtful about some decision at an early age, like having to choose what club will I be joining, or should I join such competition, this Bible is my companion in making those decisions. Not that I am opening and reading its contents all the time but I am merely holding onto it. Holding and just letting my thoughts ponder on it. Looking and it and not opening it. Then after a while, I would return it to the shelves and sleep with peace of mind and having my final choice and what to do the next day.

This still remains even after how many years. Well, guess whose hair are these? It's my son's. As my Mum really believe in the old superstitious belief so she cut some of my son's hair and put it on the book that was present and always with me the longest. And up to now, his hair is still there, lying between the pages of the Bible. I told Mum that I'll be removing the hair and putting it on some of my old books instead.


This book was long forgotten as I am used to opening the English Bible nowadays and even the Bible app on my phone. This old one also has holes in it and the culprit was the termites living in our old room before. I was late in noticing it as I was not around the house when I was renting some rooms near work before.

There are a lot of items that I really treasure ever since but this one truly holds a special place in my heart as this was my ever companion in times when I am doubting the world and myself. I consider this as my confider that's why I am still keeping it with me although I can't read some as they we're all eaten. And I am also thankful to that Priest for he gave me something to rely on.

That would be all for this challenge..

Thank you for reading!
@mommykim

6
$ 2.66
$ 2.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 4
Sponsors of mommykim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mommykim
1 year ago
Topics: Treasure, Item, Personal

Comments

Awww love it! Parang gusto ko rin gumawa ng 30DoG para hindi ako mahirapan mag isip ng article.

Same mamsh! Yung first hair cut ni Gav nasa bible din namin, bible nung wedding namin :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

gora na mamsh para di maubusan nang topic

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yun mga ibang old bibles namin himala na nagsurvive sa fire :) As in walang sign na nasunog man lang.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

may protection yun pre

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahh Bibles are really a treasure pala talaga though I don't rrally believe on it I still respect it po pero same kayo ng father ko po yan din iniingat ingatan nya.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

we do have different beliefs and it just turns out the me and your dad prefer to value such items

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woww this is the best gift you've ever received sis. Sobrang worthy nya i treasurw kasi mas lalo kang mapapalapit ky God.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

true at siya talaga naging daan para magbalik loob ako

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang luma na ng Bible. May lumang bible din nanay ko galing sa nanay nya. Kaso hindi na nya ginagamit

$ 0.01
1 year ago

actually di ko na din ginagamit to pero nasa Altar ko pa din...yung English version na kasi gamit ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohooo, ang tinitreasure ko talaga now is yong hikaw na bigay ng Mommy ko. Buti nga lang at orig sya so ei kakalawangin. Need lang hugasan minsan. Sayang nga ung kwentas na partner nito ee. Nagalit si Mommy ko sakin binaon ko daw sa lupa tas ayun di na nahanap hahaha. Same sa singsing aguy. Sana nasa akin pa unh mga un at pinakaiingatan. Pero actually marami din akong things na tinitreasure like letters from a friends, even the thibgs na di na magagamit kasi atmyae ng gumana. I still have those coz why not diba.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

hahaha baliw bakit mo binaon ano ka mag treasure hunting....kahit ako man may mga letters din akong pinakaiingatan na until now nasa akin pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bwahahaha alam mo na noona bata pa huehue. Tanda ko un na nangyari pero not sure anong nasa isip ko that time at binaon ko hahaha baka nasa 6 yrs old lang sko noon, not sure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

tagal na pala...jusmi kinaon na yun nang mga endangered specie sa lupa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For someone like me I don't ever think there will ever be someone that wants me all to themselves I don't ever see that even in my dreams maybe in those dreams I can see myself wanting me all to myself not someone. The item that I treasure the most for me are just too many mostly the ones given by my parents but the most cherished is my life looking around and seeing what young ones are my age doing I just become speechless and thank them for giving me this treasure.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

good thing that you had a lot of friends that you can say they're your treasure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The most beautiful and sacred treasure is the word of God (the Bible). Always keep it!!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

will really do

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In ancient times there were still many superstitions and maybe even today.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

totally agree and they really hold onto that belief until now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala noh bisan asa jud diay ng tinuhuan na ang first hair nga na cut kay ibutang sa libro heheh!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

ay naku beb since first born until now mao daw na ginabuhat nila mama

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We also have bible in our house ate bigay din sya ng pastor namin before sa kapatid ko and until now andto pa din. Sabi nga po nila pag yung unang gupit ng baby ko ilagay namin yung hair nya sa bible.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

ay meron din pala kayo nang kasabihan na yan...heheh

$ 0.00
1 year ago