Let's play Reggae music

18 33
Avatar for mommykim
1 year ago
Topics: Reggae, Rasta, Music

May 12, 2022

I was shuffling thru my playlist to find some new songs but I got bored so I searched for the most trended one in the Philippines and the source gave me this Sun and Moon by Anees . This song hits when some of the local artists here in the Philippines did some collaboration song with these and it trended in Tiktok. J.Roa was the most searched one for his rendition duet with Anees is really cool.

As I was looking at the artist and his genre of song it reminds me of those rasta days for me, the dread lock kind of hair, those angst trend before.

Back when I was in my junior school years, Reggae music has been loved by everybody. As a girl who loves music I always listen to our radio before and when Sunday afternoon came the DJ would really play some reggae songs either from local and international singers.

As I am more accustomed to the oldies pop, I am not that informative when it comes to reggae but i do love and listen to their songs. I also know some artist internationally like Bob Marley since he's the most famous one with his songs "No Woman No Cry" and "Buffalo Soldier" but I also love Sizzla especially his " Thank you Mama" song dedicated to the mother's. He's not that famous but this song of him really live in my heart rent free. Then there's also Sean Paul with his really bop song "Like Glue" that I ohhhh so love dancing especially the woody woody part lol!!

This song is kinda memorable for me as I was assigned to do the intermission number during a program we made back in school. I can't think of any songs for I'm not a singer myself and I also need to do look like a performer as per what the genre I choose to perform. Then I remember that I memorized this song by Bob Marley and I have a polo with lot's of green and red colors in it.

There are also local artist who dive in the reggae genre like Tropical Depression and Brownman Revival, these band really did became a part of my youth back when Kpop was not that establish and booming.

I know most of you remembered this song you can play it while reading the article.

Most of Tropical depressions songs are so bop and it's seasonal to the situations before like Kapayapaan. Some of their famous songs that I somewhat memorize the lyrics up until now after haven't heard of it for quite a while like "Do the Reggae" .

Then here comes Brownman Revival with their famous ong " Maling Akala" and " Ikaw lang aking mahal" at Lintik.

I just love how awesome they are and the way they blend well with the instrument being used as mostly they we're professional.

Then the famous One Day by Matiyashu performance that had me goosebumps even though I watched it for a couple of times already. The unity of the people singing is just sooooooooo. I was actually crying the first time I watch this years ago.


I was just taking you to the time of my youth where these songs have been on repeat.

Thank you for reading!
Be blessed and be blessing!
@mommykim

9
$ 6.04
$ 5.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 6
Sponsors of mommykim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mommykim
1 year ago
Topics: Reggae, Rasta, Music

Comments

There are certain reggae songs that I find pleasing to the ears but it's not really my type of music. My sister rather liked reggae music a lot that she would play it almost every day. 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

maybe it's also because of the message of the songs since it's the reason why I also love reggae

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganahan jud btaw ko anang songs ni bob marley beb ayyy. Bet jud kaau.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

kaayo beb...naa pa jud ko playlist ana ay until now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One day is the best reggae song for me po. Medyo hindi ko na po naabutan yung ibang reggae songs noon pero ito pong nga local reggae songs na video na pinakita nyo po ay naririnig ko po paminsan minsan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

ang ganda talaga niya beb and all those old reggae songs from the past

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For the first time in quite a long time, pangit internet ko kaya dko maopen videos mo hehehe.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

hahaah okay lang madam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love Bugoy's version of One Day :D

$ 0.03
1 year ago

ay oo nga maganda din talaga yung cover niya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

bob marley i like his music because the flow of music that is fun and exciting really touches the heart that is still quiet.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

and you can jive while be inspired by the lyrics

$ 0.00
1 year ago

those days nga pag reggae na gani, sayaw jud tanan tawo hehe

$ 0.02
1 year ago

ay mao jud mamsh and kanang wa diri wa ngadto nga mga da moves ba hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank youuuu ani mommy, na comfort jud kaayu ko nimo this early. Gikan ko work na kapoy pero nawala akoa duka tungod sa reggae songs. 😍😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

awww baby glad I did give you a little comfort..ayaw kaayo palabi intwon,,,rest din pag may time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bob Marley's music is still making an impact today.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

indeed because the song can jive up and would lift up your mood,,, my feet will really dance to the rhythm whenever I hear such kind of songs

$ 0.00
1 year ago