The Tale of Cory Potts

15 55
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Under the dark blue sky, I was out in the garden and was just fiddling on my phone looking at the latest crypto news. I was reading about the current downtrend as a part of the bull run. As a casual crypto peep, it was hard for me to wrap my head around the idea of the coins and the market going down and they say that it is still part of the bull run? How does that work?

As I was lost in the moment my grandfather walked up to me with a bottle of liquor in his hand and two glasses in the other hand. He sat down next to me, twisted the cap off the bottle, and poured both of us a drink.

"Cheers" he said.

And then our glasses met in the middle and made a clinking sound.

"What are we drinking to pops?" I asked.

"Isn't the fact we're here today a reason enough to celebrate?" he retorted.

He makes a lot of sense but then again, that kind of thinking may have been the reason why he retired without much of anything really. He's the kind of person that when a payday comes, he feels like a millionaire and then a beggar right when the next day begins. He just blows everything off with wants and needs instead of saving some. I couldn't complain though, since while I was growing up, he doted on us and he would spoil us with toys and food and whatnot.

But still, I could not really help but think why he lived the way he did, he could have a better life now if he had just saved back then. He had a good job and the money was obviously good too. But he was just those people who immediately enjoys what they receive.

"Hey pops, why didn't you save money back then? You had a good job right?" I asked.

"Ah ra? What is this? Are you kicking me out of my house already?" he jokingly asked.

"Oh no! I was just curious. Mom and Dad always nagged us to always save what we could. I just wondered why you didn't live with that principle."

"I did, of course, I tried to save also. Who do you think taught your dad?" he answered.

"So what happened?" I was so curious that I didn't notice that I was prying already.

"Hmm. you're curious about that? Alright let me tell you the story:"


I had this friend back when I was working. Her name was Cory, Cory Potts. She was really a hard worker back then. Earliest bird in the morning and if the schedule permits, she was the last one to leave the office. She ain't that bright but she was a pleasant person to be with. She would pile up hours and hours in overtime. She's just so diligent like that.

A good lass, that Miss Potts. She was kind and she knows how to treat people well. But there's this thing about her. If you would ask around she's known our circles as one thing: a cheapskate.

She finds it hard to part ways with money and she would just like to earn money, day in and day out. As long as she does not have to, she wouldn't spend a single dime on anything, not even on herself. She would wear a dress down until its color's faded, she would wear down a pair of shoes until its heels are no more.

She would only buy what is necessary, she did not believe in enjoying the money she earned immediately. From what I can see, she was not a stingy person, not at all, she was just thrifty.

One time, we get to talking and she opened up about her money matters. Apparently, she was dreaming to retire early and live off of her savings. She told me that she would like to enjoy the retired life as early as she could and when she could still enjoy it. And it all made sense. I admired her for sticking to a very specific plan of hers.

Year after year, she stuck on to her process and she never let anything disrupt the way of her living. I was so motivated by her passion that I started doing the same thing. But I still could not get onto her level, she was just in a place on her own when it comes to saving.

But then, one stormy night came and it changed everything for the poor Cory Potts. It started raining hard, cats and dogs wouldn't even give justice to that downpour. But Cory, sticking to her methods chose to walk when she was going home. Her old umbrella couldn't hold of the raging water from above so she got wet. She got home okay but she caught a cold for staying too long out in the rain.

The cold and the fever worsen but she couldn't bring herself to call for a doctor. She relied on the medicine she bought over the counter, the generic kind and it didn't take too long for her frail body to give out. The fatigue from working so hard, the undernourishment from not eating well, and from her refusal to spend bigger amounts on things she need totaled to her fatality. She died a rich woman and she was buried without anything.

The poor girl was able to realize half of her dream. She retired early, but she did not enjoy the retirement. All of her savings and property went to the government since she has no one to live it to. Such a pity. And from then on, I said to hell with savings, I will live as long as I am alive. Ergo, I'm broke but I'm definitely happy.


His story that night made me withdraw some of my BCH and made me buy this nifty gaming console mounted on the wall of my newly renovated room. I stared at it with awe as I was seated on my new lazyboy chair in front of my new 55" flat-screen TV.

What a story.

Hey there!

Ooops! Hold on, think before you click on that withdraw button. This story is just fiction and is not in any way a financial or a piece of life advice. Saving for the future is still the best practice you can adapt. It just sucks that I don't have the talent to do that. If anyone could teach me a great trick to saving, I would gladly take the course.

Anyway, I would like to offer my sincerest gratitude to you for keeping up with my random posts and for supporting me all throughout. Thank you so much and until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Series    : Random Articles
Title     : The Tale of Cory Potts
Published : 08-Dec-2021
Author :  © RB

11
$ 4.07
$ 3.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

This is we call "dream big" 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

go big or go home kind of thing?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

agoi.at first parang anong story kaya to.then I came to realize si miss kuripot pala.Ako hindi ako kuripot lalo na sa food kasi para sa aking pasasaan ba't ngpakapagod akong mgwork eh dapat masarap din ang kinakain.Mas kuripot ako in terms of my wants ,mas prefer ko unahin ang needs ng family ko kaysa sa gusto ko.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ay oh tama naman un.. magwork ng magwork.. kain ng masarap . ehee

and right again. needs over wants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dapat lang kain ng masarap.kasi sa langit wala ng beer aww .ano daw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah may point

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah huh. Too bad for Ms. Cory Potts. True, it is good to save, nice to be diligent and hard-working but we must remember too that ourselves is our greatest investment and our health is wealth. Tomorrow is never promised so we should live and enjoy the moment. We need to be ready for tomorrow too. There should be a balance.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yeah.. key word is balance.. How do you save? :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malapit pa akong mabudol ah Hahaha. Kuripot ako pero pag ako nakagasto Sir literally na pamasahe nalang ang tira ahhaa

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah ay iba pala mapasubo ito.. pamasahe nalang ang tira. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan ending sir nasobrahan hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe I thought this is a story related to the some fictional war or love story. But when I read it is all about being "kuripot". Anyway, I don't even know how to save😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha I feel you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its really a sad ending for miss Cory, I know her purpose to save for her future so that she can retire sooner, however she's so cheapskate to the point that she's saving too much and it affects her health, she never realize her condition and stay to her goal. She died with nothing else to have, that's why the two morality here collides but we need to choose the best, it's between saving for the future and enjoy the money we got right now, for me there's nothing wrong in spending money as long as it's necessary and also for the sake of our health that Miss Cory doesn't realize, it's a great story.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

there should always be some kind of balance..

$ 0.00
2 years ago