The Perfect Crime Finale

12 37
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

I remember the second time I saw him, Neal. It was a private auction where art collectors from all over the globe attended. Some items on that auction were family heirlooms by prominent people and some were rumored to be stolen paintings and artifacts.

You wouldn't really last in the art world if you can't teach yourself to look the other way. Some people said that the art trade is the golden gate towards the underworld, they may be right in some cases, and that one was one time they were right.

As custom in the art world, the party was a classy one and everyone in attendance was just astonishingly stunning. It literally looked like the gathering of people controlling the world behind the scenes.

I saw him from across the room with a spring on his step. He literally looked like a kid in a candy store. The sparkle in his eyes and the brightness in his smile as he looked side to side keenly observing each and every artifact on display.

image1

He acknowledged my presence from across the room and made a beeline towards me.

"It's fancy meeting you here Mindy. I don't think you belong here, even so, you looked dashingly lovely tonight" he said as he reached for my hand and placed a gentle kiss on it.

"And I am not surprised to see you here. Are you selling something, or are you taking something?" I whispered into his ear.

I am still not sure whether he was offended or was excited about my little remark because the next thing he did surprised me out of my wits. He swept me off my feet with his arm around my waist and then one of his hands was pinning my hand against the wall.

"Well, if you insist. I shall take this," he said as his lips locked against mine, I don't know why I did it, it may have been the champagne or the sweetness of his lips, but I kissed him back. He gently bit my lower lip and then pulled away.

"Enjoy the rest of the evening Mindy. I'll see you around."

I immediately sprung to my feet and as I turned back, I realized what was the painting hanging on top of my head while I was pinned back against the wall. It was the beautiful painting of Renoir, dubbed as The Sisters.

image 2

For the rest of the night, I didn't see a glimpse of him but his presence in me still lingered.

He popped in and out of the gallery from time to time and we started going out. He kept an apartment downtown and it looked like a normal bachelor's pad from all angles. Despite spending nights in each other's places, I felt like there was still this hidden layer of personality inside of him and I peeled that layer off one night. I was alone at his apartment and he had to go out in some sort of work emergency.

I was feeling bored and put my hands on some books off his shelf. And then the magical thing happened, it was exactly what happens in the movies involving a bookshelf. As I lifted one particular book, the bookshelf parted in the middle and it opened up a secret passage into another room.

The room was filled with art stuff, paints, canvasses, sculptures, and tools. There were also several 3D printers in there. It was a whole other world, it was like a workshop and a museum at the same time.

But there, in the middle of the room, an unfinished portrait laying there on the easel. I walked towards and it tears fell from my eyes as I realized who the portrait was. It was me, but a very beautiful version of me.

"It's for your birthday." he said as he walked behind me.

"What is all this stuff? Who are you?" I asked.

"It's still me. I told you before, I'm an art thief. But I only steal stuff that is already stolen. The perfect crime."

It took a lot of guts and getting used to, being with a man like that. But I didn't have what it takes. I called it off days after my unfortunate discovery.

After he gave me the finished portrait, I hang it on the wall of my place and I am still looking at it now even if I haven't heard from him for years.

Maybe he retired after that, or maybe he's dead somewhere. But if I could be honest with myself, he really did pull the perfect crime. Everything to gain but without victims. And for me, his perfect crime was stealing my heart.

I still remember him dearly and each and every stroke of this painting reminds me of him. But as I looked real close to the painting, I noticed that the lower portion of the portrait seems to be fading. I patted my finger on it and it felt like it was covering another layer. I tried to press several points on the painting and the same thing happened. It seems like there's another canvass underneath my portrait.

I took out a cutter and carefully and shallowly cut out the sides of the portrait. I lifted up the portrait and there it was, staring me back into the eyes, the same painting the first time we kissed. The Sisters by Renoir which was displayed at that auction that night.

He really is a romantic.

Hi!

I know I know, what an abrupt ending eh? My words were all stolen from me. Anyhow, I hope that you somehow liked it and don't be disappointed enough that you would boycott my account. I pray that you stay with me, as long as possible. :)

I really appreciate you being with me and with that...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Series    : Random Articles
Title     : The Perfect Crime
Published : 26-Nov-2021
Author :  © RB

Image 1: Fb.com

image 2: flckr.com

11
$ 8.60
$ 8.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.24 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 6
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Teka.. Pwede may alternate ending? Palibalik ang ninakaw na puso! Char..

Anyway, it seemed like an open ended story naman. I was just here hopelessly hoping na magkikita sila in an art gallery and reunite again, kahit as friends lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha pwedeng ending un.. hahaha pang korean eh. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a very romantic yet dangerous one, I saw this scenarios on movies but this one is so romantic, if I'm the lady on the story then I'll immediately marry that guy since the love is sincere and pure hopefully nothing bad happen on them, those paintings worth a million that's why they can live in a luxurious life if they will sell all those paintings and artifacts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe yep.. we can live off those paintings.. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyyy finale na ateee I want more from you po...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha waley. pampalipas oras lang eh. ahhah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh I want to read more though, hehehehhe. I hope that the guy is in the good hand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah maybe... maybe not..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wala na ako na wattpad pero pilit mo akong binabalik Sir hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah para may wattpad din kunwari dito haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Binunuhay mo katawan wattpadian ko Sir hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha pasensya na

$ 0.00
2 years ago