"Special Working Day"

11 79
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

December 24, 2021 - This is the day we celebrate Christmas eve. Usually, this is the day when we prepare for Christmas. We cook food, prepare gifts, and just about everything that has to be done before celebrating Christmas. This is also supposed to be one of the merriest days of the year despite being one of the busiest too.

Usually, I am now helping in the house to prepare the food and drinks that we will consume all throughout the night. I am usually tasked with setting up the audio-visual system so people who want to sing or perform could do so. It might be tedious but I like to do it because it makes me happy and glad.

But then, in our country, December 24 has been declared as "Special Working Day". What was that you ask? I don't even know. I read about it and asked our human resources about it. Is it considered a holiday? Is it considered a regular day? Well, the only answer I got was "it's a special working day". Again, what's that?

As they explained it, we have to work for the day. If we didn't, we won't get paid. Hmmm. Okay, so it's a regular day? Nope. It's a special working holiday. Okay, so we get paid premium or holiday pay? Nope, only the basic rate. Okay, so it's just a regular workday? Nope. It's a special working day.

What on Earth is "special" about it? Nothing. Absolutely nothing. It's just a regular working day. So just like any other day, I'll be taking the afternoon off. Lol.

I guess, what's special about it is we barely work in the office. As in, barely.

The moment I arrived at the office, I could smell the hot pot broth coming from the pantry. Following the aroma, I went into the dining area. Upon opening the door, I saw one of my colleagues already cooking the hot pot (shabu shabu). After setting up my workstation, I went back into the dining area and grabbed a bowl. A bowl filled with soup, various balls, noodles, and some vegetables. It was breakfast!

For one thing, it's special. It's not every day that we can cook in the office like that. And hot pot for that matter. Special!

After eating, we were feeling quite sleepy already so we can barely work. Thankfully, there were no active support tickets to attend to. Just a few. And nothing was really that urgent so we could take it easy. To pass the time waiting before we can eat again, another coworker introduced a coin game that could potentially make you earn some cryptocurrency. I think the game was called LuckyFarmer. It's just a browser game that looks like the game we play on the arcades where you insert coins on the slot to make the coins on the machine fall into your bucket. It's a simple yet addictive game. I'm currently playing it while writing this.

After only a few hours of waiting, it was time to eat again. Carbonara and "pansit", top that off with some pizza slices. We also have Ube and Leche Flan for dessert. And also some butchi too. Now I tell you what, that's SPECIAL! It's not every day that we could hold a feast like that. And if you can't call it special, then I don't know what is.

I know that I share this sentiment with many other workers today. It really sucks right? LOL. But anyway, hang in there, and we can all be together soon, and that day will truly be special...but until then, let's just stay safe and celebrate special days like today responsibly.

Merry Christmas!

How are you celebrating this year? I know that for many of us, this Christmas will be difficult to be Merry. With all the things that are happening all around us, the pandemic, the typhoons, and many other disasters, it will really be hard to have a merry Christmas and a happy new year. I just hope that somehow, someway, all of us could see the light that will shine upon us this season. I hope that the light is strong enough for all of us to see no matter where we are in the world and in our lives.

A few days ago, I wasn't really feeling the "Christmas spirit" too. I thought that it was just because I'm getting older or maybe it's because I'm just too broke to have a celebration that I really want to have. But as I load the car with the gifts we have as a family, I suddenly realized that I'm too selfish to think and to feel that way. Christmas isn't for me, it's for everybody. And I think that the true spirit of Christmas is in giving not what we can afford, but in giving what we can share with our hearts. It's really the thought that counts.

And with that ... just think and say that "Christmas is Alive within me" and you will be blessed.

Let's all drink to us all...

Cheers!!!

Author's Notes

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Series    : Random Articles
Title     : Special Working Day
Published : 25-Dec-2021
Author :  © RB

11
$ 2.81
$ 2.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Greatwolfman
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Sorry it's coming late but happy Christmas in arears 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha what a beautiful greeting.. :) thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh good. Can I wish u Christmas now 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can you send some for me? lol hahaahha. Anyway, Merry Christmas❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

they're already gone. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear! Sorry man. How can I wish merry Christmas now? But have a best day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thanks mate. Had a blast!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad to hear that you are working in Christmas Eve Sir. Anyways, Our Christmas Eve is really fun and happy together with my family.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

it was alright.. we were full :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cooking cooking cooking Many things are cooking this morning. Complements of the season ❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago