Serendipity

37 102
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Serendipity. Such a beautiful word. It is so pleasing on the ears and is easy on the tongue. Come on, try it, "se-ren-dipity". It is amusing to stay and so lovely to hear right? It seems like you are saying something magical and you know from the sound of the word that it is something mystical and just filled with fantasy.

What does the word even mean? I always thought that it was synonymous with the word destiny. Maybe in a way, it is, but it's totally not the synonym of it. As the definition of the word goes, it states that serendipity is "the occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way." Basically, serendipity can be characterized as positive coincidences or as some people call them, happy accidents.

See? What did I tell you? I told you that serendipity is something wonderful, just by the sound of it, it's already a marvelous thing rather than an odious concept. I like to romanticize this word and relate it to some other grand ideas like "love".

This reminds me of the movie Serendipity that was shown back in 2001. It was a romantic comedy that starred John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale. It was a lovely story of a couple of strangers that met at a department store and ended up in a cafe called, you guessed it, Serendipity. Their wonderful meeting ended up without the guy knowing even the name of the girl.

Although they both had a great night, the girl thought that it would be fun to test destiny and leave it to fate what would happen to them.

The guy wrote his name and number on the back of a 5-dollar bill and the girl spent it on some treats. She said that if the bill made its way back to her, then that means that they are meant to be together.

To make things fair, the girl also wrote her name and number on the first page of a book and she gave it away to be sold in a used books store. If the book made its way to the guy, then well, it's destiny.

Pretty sweet right? That's what I thought too when I first watched the movie. I was in loved with love back then and rewatched the movie several more times along with other romantic films such as "The Notebook", Lakehouse, and others.

I guess, the reaction and the perception of an object such as that movie depends on the person. His experiences and his overall outlook in life. I was a kid back then so I took the movie like it was a positive thing. But now, with my age and with all I know, I think it mirrors real life, it sucks. LOL

I don't want to get all negative and sappy on you but it's true, I don't care for it now. Here's why:

So they both written their name and numbers on a random item but it's not fair. It's like telling the guy to do all the work. How is that destiny? How is that serendipity? All the guy has to do was to go from book store to book store and look for that book. Which he did. He spent 7 years looking for the book but he was not able to find it.

The guy did all he could. He traced down every clue and every lead to find the girl. He went on a frantic manhunt just to locate that dreamy girl from 7 years ago. But he could not find her. He was desperate to see her one last time before he gets married. He just had to because in all those years, he was not able to let her go and he still feels that there is something special between them. He did all he could, and every way has been spent.

At last, he had laid his hands on the book with the girl's number. It was given to him by his fiancee. She thought that he just liked the book so much that she bought it for him. Out of all the copies of the book, his fiancee was able to buy the very copy that he was looking for, the copy of the book that he spent 7 years looking for. His fiancee managed to buy it for the very first time. If it was serendipity, for whose sake was it?

On the other hand, there is no way for the girl to find the 5-dollar bill. So I guess she did not put any effort into it.

But the funny thing is, the wheels of fate or destiny began to move when the girl did. Having broken up with her fiancee, the girl decided to also seek the guy. She found the 5-dollar bill in her friend's wallet and she started the journey. And she just spent a few hours to find the guy. They ended up meeting to where they spent their night talking.

That's totally unfair to the guy, in my opinion, he did all the work but he was not able to get what he wants, but when the girl finally decided that she wants to meet, then now it's time for destiny and serendipitous events to take place? What is this??

Well, from another perspective you can say that serendipity and destiny work when both parties are into it.

Aloha!

Have you seen the movie yet? Well, if not...I apologize for spoiling it for you. I just wanted to air out and vent out what my realization is. Maybe it's also because of my mood when I was watching that movie.

Alright, since this is such a big word and it has a huge construct of obscurity, let us make this into a prompt and make it a part of our #promptfactory shall we?

So the word is "Serendipity". What can you make out of it?

Go on, you can make something fantastic about it, I genuinely believe that, but if you think you can't be creative enough with just the word, here are some guides that could start you with it:

  • Do you believe in coincidences? In happy accidents?

  • Have you experienced something serendipitous?

  • Maybe you can make a story out of a name and a cellphone number written on a dollar or peso bill. :)

And if you're still out of ideas on what to write, you can roam around the Prompt Factory community or you can check out @JonicaBradley 's PromptlyJonica for inspiration.

Anyhow, I would like to say how much I appreciate you taking your time and sharing it with me as I ramble about this romcom with a chug of beer so0oo...

Cheers!!!

Series    : Prompt Factory
Title     : Serendipity
Published : 15-Oct-2021
Author    :  © RB 

23
$ 13.04
$ 12.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.10 from @aaskelter
+ 10
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Maganda paring kahit Luma na..,.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ah oo.. maganda pa din naman siya.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

La serenidad es una hermosa y dificil virtud para cultivar. No todos llegamos a manejarla ella calma tu mente para poder afrontar la tormenta. Me gusto tu publicacion ahora soy parte de tus suscriptores. Saludos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

muchos gracias! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma panuod nga hehe. Anyway Nice to meet you ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes... luma na.. pero di naman sayang oras. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had already seen that movie. It's like looking for a needle in a haystack. I guess when destiny is written, no matter what you do, it will always come to you. But it is a movie because in real life if you drop those 5 pesos here you will not find them in your life ahah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, I know right? That could end up in someone's makeshift piggy bank LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

А вы знали что интуиция это наше шестое чувство?Люди могут предсказывать свою и чужую судьбу благодаря этому чувству.И у того оно сильнее - у кого хорошо работают два полушария головного мозга.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, diko pa napanood yong movie at wala akong ma say sa totoo lang ahahaha. Ewan di ata ako mahilig aa ganyang movie hahaha. Dun tayo sa comedy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha comedy din naman yan.. ibang movie kasi ang gusto mo eh.. aminin mo na. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahahaha, hoyyy enebeee. Wag ka maingay 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah secret lang sige

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A happy coincidence! I'll see if I can't come up with something.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, I just love it when fate works out in the end . ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, in my own opinion I don’t think fate was fair on the guy, like 7 years? That’s a lot. On the other side, it took the girl hours to find him. Serendipity is a good word. I don’t think I use it often in my vocabulary. Time to add it. Haha.

I haven’t seen the movie though and since it is old, I don’t think I’ll ever watch it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha exactly.. how was that fair right?? Yeep. Definitely add it, it's quite a pretty word.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true. Your perception and mood for a mivie depends on how we feel about life and love at that very moment. That movie would hit if the audience are teenagers. People who are still starting to fall in love and is very in love with love but as we mature, we tend to examine things closer and we wouldn't believe that much especially when we came from a break up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hmmm interesting.. I don't think teenagers today could relate to that movie though.. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice . i'll try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeaaah. I'm waiting to be mesmerized. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always liked the sound of the word serendipity but didn't know it's meaning until now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds so fancy right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Serendipity is actually my favorite word 😍 I've seen that movie many times and I keep falling in love with love. It made me believe that if it's for you, it will be yours. I think that's how destiny works right? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How do you explain the movie then? So... it's not for the guy? But it's meant to be for the girl? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's meant for both of them. They could get married to their respected fiancés but destiny is indeed powerful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, well yeah, in the end... :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sounds wonderful indeed. and it is wonderful too. But I believe in blessings rather than serendipity. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blessings rather than serendipity? How are they connected?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. I don't believe it's accidental. It's a blessing from above given at the right place at the right time. Ganon. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so for the real accidents,, what are those? Where do those come from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's my point. I don't see it as an accident. I mean, yes, it is accident, in our eyes. But what I believe is that God let it happen for a reason.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

point taken.. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the words too. It's sounds like and something to do with serenity and infinity. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha yeahh.. they all sound alike..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm. serendipity. Did not know its meaning too, until it was released as a song by , of course, BTS. hahaha! It's a solo track of Jimin, a member. And I loved this word ever since. such a wonderful word.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know him. he sings those insanely high notes. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago