Memoirs Under the Rain

26 49
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Woke up with the rain dancing on top of the roof today. Feeling pretty chilly and the wind is cool. There really is something nostalgic and mellow in the way rain flows against the window pane. It has the power to send us back to the times that we treasure for all eternity.

With my morning cup I sit by the window and I watch the cloudy skies drench the whole vicinity with its tears. And as I look out to nowhere your face emerges from the fog.

It comes to mind that day that we first met. It was raining then, I was on my slick shirt and you on a black dress. Your head on the table as you were feeling tired because of work. I waved at you with a smile, you waved back while frowning. It was an awkward encounter and it was nothing more than that.

We became friends you and I. You said you like how I see things in a different light and you love the arguments we shared. You found my analogies cogent and compelling that you made me your confidante and your thought buddy.

We grew closer and closer drinking the nights and our worries away. Remember that night when I went into your house? It was raining then and I had to be stuck until the morning comes because I did not believe in umbrellas. You made a hot cup of chocolate as we held our giggles within because your little sister was already sleeping.

It was raining cats and dogs at that time when I called you out and you said that you would hear me out. You didn't judge me, your deep eyes made not a single bat. Instead, you held me in your arms and we went to your friend's house and we drank all night.

Image 1

What about that black umbrella we shared during that one time. I think that was our first fight. You stormed out of its shade and walked several paces. I quickly followed you and sheltered you from the rain. I swear I tried hard not to laugh when you said, "Must we really fight in the rain? Do we really have to have this movie-like scene?" I held your hand in the middle of the road, you shrugged it off and left me there.

That first night we shared when we went to the beach. We were unable to swim that night because the rain was pouring nonstop. The owners wouldn't let us near the seashore so we stayed up in our room watching late night reruns. I sat beside you on top of the bed and you shared that warm blanket with me. We were so lazy to get dressed and we shared our skins' heat underneath the sheet.

You always had that adventurous fervor that made you do things for the sake of the experience. Sneaking into a private lot just to hide from the night lights, that we did. My heart already racing from the thrills and you put my hands on your hips, you held my face and kissed my lips. I was surprised but without complaining I heeded your lead. My hands wandered through your curves and you let a single moan slipped. I held my laughter and you made it easy with your tongue twisted in mine. I swear that we would have stayed there all night if not for that rain who poured all his might.

And how could I forget the way it rained that day. I couldn't hear a thing from the rustling sound made by the mad night sky against the tin roof. The heaven's crying, you were sobbing and I was hurting. There's that bitter taste of the rain, on that day when you bid farewell.

You said it's time for you to move on with life, and that life does not include a stupid boy like me. You said that you'd follow your dreams even if it meant leaving me. The rain may be hard but my heart's already in flood. You may be hurt but I was also impaired. Words thrown here and there but the most painful of them was that stare of utter contempt and damnation from those eyes of yours. And with that I knew, it's over, we're over, you're gone.

I stepped outside, put the umbrella down and looked up. That way, no one sees the tears that the rain washed away. I thought back and went over all the mistakes I did, things I've done that you didn't deserve. If this is a way to punish me, then I would gladly accept.

It has been a while before I completely healed. It took a lot for me to be back on my feet. Everywhere I went I see your face, and everything I've done you're in my mind. You moved on, and I did too. Now it's only the rainy days that can remind me of you.

And as I get up with an empty cup, I shake my head and force a smile. I'm feeling the pride inside and I say, "It has really been a while."

Hey there!!!

There really is that melancholy when it's mildly raining and the skies are gloomy right? Anyhow, thank you for being here and how are you doing today? Do you have any memorable moments under the rain too? Are they good? I'm dying to know. :)

Anyway, I'll just enjoy this night cup and bid you good night and as always,

cheers!!!


References :

Lead image: https://www.myneworleans.com/rain-rain-go-away-2/

Image 1 : https://www.zastavki.com/eng/People/wallpaper-108475.htm

17
$ 16.49
$ 16.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
+ 3
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! Let me say, you really are such a great writer. The way you put your thoughts into words and your choice of words reminds me of Nicholas Sparks. I love it. I can't even answer your questions anymore. I got mesmerized by your words. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my goodness! Did you just say compare my word choices to that of Nicholas Spark? Hahaha I am in awe and I am so thankful for that. :) Thank you so very much! I'm so flattered. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I'm serious. It was fun reading it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks mate :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful yet painful memoire you have there, I was about to cry. I didn't even had time to remember mine because I am too fix by yours. It is long ago, you tell me it's already healed but I could still feel the pain raw and rushing as i've read the memories you have shared with her. I know it's been awhile but a while doesn't mean it's fully forgotten. Still, Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know right. You totally get it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe because I was there looking at you, how broken you are as rain poured down how flood drown you with so much sadness I was there charrrr😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha it's alright, life goes on. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, memories are part of us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, u should have sing laughter in the rain po, it's a good song 'bout a couple who got soaked in the rain po n gets cold, really cold that the guy's shaking na po, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha I know that song. :) It's good. Classic

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, u do po? Lol, yes, it's a good song n a classic nga po, guess u also like old songs po eh, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tbks make me remember when I use to dance in the rain when I was a kid. I wish I can still play in the rain nkw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome to do so. just don't get sick. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. Sad stories only the rain could understand. When the next rain comes again, make sure to cry all you have, alright? That way, no one will notice your tears, the rain would have migled with them anyway. That's why summer is there, to make you feel better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, but summer's too hot nowadays. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwww rain reminds me of me bein a kid- free and happy. I enjoyed reading your heartbreak omg. Peace. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha I am glad that you enjoy my laments. Hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well what do you know? I enjoyed that read... the way it was written, the poignancy of it. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwww. Thanks mate. Stay dry. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meit! nakakaiyak talaga ito. May gusto lang talaga ako i make sure so that worth it ang pag cry cry ko: "Truth ito diba?"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha truth and nothing but the truth. Hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No wonder my friend over there at noise says she 'crushes' you hahahaha. para maiba ang term. She chatted me saying such. I said, nothing wrong with that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol who was that friend??!! hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ooops!!! Did I say something?!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you did. Spill. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago