Long and Winding Road

14 60
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

January 01, 2022 - a perfect day to celebrate. People are still on vacation and everyone is still in a festive mood. And also, there's still enough leftover food in each household enough to feed several homes.

With every economic and practical reason considered, we decided as s family clan to make that day our special day to gather every relative and get together in a simple reunion. And everyone agrees so we made it into an annual event.

It is not every day that we could call up every family member and everyone under our family tree to gather in one place and join the casual party. But this year was even more special.

One, because it's the first time that we would see everyone else since the pandemic started and it's the first time that we were holding the reunion in another venue aside from our own households.

This year, we decided to just rent out a place, a resort on a farm where they hold events and such. The choice was made because our usual venue is now pretty crowded than usual because of the newly built convenience store, Alfamart, besides it. Oh hey, and those stores are everywhere nowadays. I just noticed it. And they're even inside small barangays like ours.

Anyway, so I woke up that day around 9:45 in the morning. I was still pretty sleepy and a bit wasted from the partying in welcoming the year 2022. And that was a lot of drinking and eating.

So after preparing myself for another party, I put on my light green shirt, that's the motif for the year's party, I hopped onto my motorcycle and set out to go to the venue.

It was my first time going there so I have no idea where it is. And I just relied on Waze and google maps. The apps indicated that it was just about a 20-30 minute ride from my place.

After some time driving, the app is telling me that the venue is near but then I was a bit confused. The road I'm traveling was all familiar to me and the corner that the app is telling me to take is not even a road, as far as my memory is concerned.

You see, the road's familiar to me because I have been passing through there for years on my way to school every day. In all the years I spent traveling through there, I could have sworn that there's not a path there that would lead to a resort or something, I couldn't even remember any road there wide enough to be passable by vehicles.

And sure enough, as I reached the destination the app was telling me to turn right to, there's a small signage with the name of the resort with an arrow telling you where to go. And that's a good question, go where? And in the direction the arrow is leading to, there's a small pathway made of soil. I mean small because it's just wide enough for a small sedan. It's barely a road. One wrong step and your car will end up in the rice fields.

A long and winding barely road, you can only pray that you won't have to face another vehicle on the way because if that happens, one of you has to go back to where you both started since only one vehicle could pass through and there's nowhere to park while waiting for the other vehicle to pass. It's a two-way road but could only cater one way at a time.

After traversing that long and winding road, I finally reached the destination and it was a small semi-private resort with just one pool. The place is out of nowhere so you can party all you want without troubling others.

And we had serious fun during the party and it was worth traveling that mysterious and really scary road. One of those times when it is not about the journey but the destination. For that particular case, the destination was really the thing to look forward to and not the journey.

Happy New Year!!!

I hope that this year finds you well if not better! Let's get this year started with a kick and let's all grind our bums to a better future.

I really appreciate the time we spent together last year and I sincerely hope that we spend more time for this year too. Thank you very much and until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Telegram: meitanteikudo

Series    : Random Articles
Title     : Long and Winding Road
Published : 03-Jan-2022
Author    :  © RB 

13
$ 4.72
$ 4.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.03 from @Giddyboy
+ 1
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

A great writer of note. You deserved every accolades from me. I like your write-up. You used Goggle map to connect the location of the event center you are going. Oh that's awesome. You are very current. Keep it up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy New Year. And happy reunion too. Cos so many of them got to see each other after long, after this pandemic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saya namern yan! Belated happy new year!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ahaha gv lang pagpasok ng new year syempre.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to see you,you are enjoying your holiday and being with other and be happy,your holiday celebrations are really appreciative.stay blessed and happy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woahh You did really enjoy your holidays. Take care always. Same here although we're not complete fam we did celebrate our holidays happily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am away on a holiday with my friends, silly right Glad you could spend yours with your relatives

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope we can have a reunion too, I mean I never see some of my cousin's for how many years.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh yey, it will be fun... let me know if you need a singer. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really didn't get to spend the transition into new year with my family cause I am away on a holiday with my friends, silly right Glad you could spend yours with your relatives ,I could have your feel on navigation of throbbing roads 😆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Grind more and more 😊 Nice to meet you here in rereadca Oi appreciate also that you were here☺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh heyyy! Nice to meet you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This year I haven't been into the resort but I'm hoping one of our relatives will invite us so that we will have the free entrance fee..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Free entrance fee is always a big plus for invitations. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago