Staying home

10 34
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago

I might have missed the boat but I still would like to join in the Curation Duo #1 hosted by both @wakeupkitty and @heartbeat1515 . Am not really sure how it works but one will never know if one doesn't try. It is a wonderful effort by the both of you and I appreciate it. I think that is the thing that is missing since the changes took place. It once had but I don't feel it no more. The soul.

@heartbeat1515 mentioned in her post that: "For Curation Duo #1, I would like to read your thoughts, feelings or experiences about the current pandemic, Covid-19 through poetry."

I gave haiku a try for this. I read that haiku goes with just 3 lines, in a 5-7-5 syllables order, with a total of 17 syllables. It doesn't have to rhyme. The theme is usually related to nature I think but I am not sure. I may be wrong but it is still worth a try.

For this case, lets just say that I am going with a haiku-ish poetry because I seriously do not think it is haiku. Here goes...


Source: https://unsplash.com/photos/doQ-2cV92NI

Home, they said before,

Is where the heart truly is,

But, which home, I ask.

For some, it is not,

Some moved out, far and away,

Home away from home.

It is the best place,

To stay safe,  stay well, indoors,

But, for how long more?

 

Please don’t get me wrong,

I love staying home, indoors,

Doing things I like.

 

But I do miss things,

Things we used to do freely,

Without fear or fright.

 

At the beginning,

It was truly horrible,

Fear of the unknown.

Everything, felt nuts,

Everything, surreal, unreal,

What it was, don't know.

Surgical or fabric,

What is good and what is not,

Does it matter still?

Glued to the telly,

Was most of what we could do,

Watching, praying, hope.

Source: https://unsplash.com/photos/smgTvepind4

It was quite nice though,

When people came together,

United, as one.

In virtual meetups,

Globally and locally,

Brought tears to most eyes.

Lost jobs and lost cause,

Frustration, sadness, worry,

Lost time and lost lives.

It truly hits home,

When people we know get hit,

Hanging on, praying.

It has not ended,

Not sure when, will it ever,

Things have changed, for sure.

So near yet so far,

I miss my dear family,

I miss the outdoors.

 

I miss the pool, parks,

I miss swimming in the sun,

I miss free breathing.

Life and lives have changed,

For the better, or for worse?

No one knows, really.

Ignorance, or not?

Its conspiracy theories,

Just mind boggling.

Lockdowns, on and off,

Numbers, are going up still,

Rules are still in place.

Where did the year go?

Or years, from the looks of it.

Disappeared for good.

Do we vaccinate?

Can we trust them, can we not?

Do we, will we not?

Source: https://unsplash.com/photos/D_4R9CcYZOk

Waiting for the day,

To go out without worry,

No hesitation.

 

The end is not near,

Staying home is still the best,

While we wait, till when?


Thank you for dropping by.

I appreciate it. I appreciate you.

https://unsplash.com/photos/D_4R9CcYZOk

5
$ 1.47
$ 1.00 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.30 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @heartbeat1515
+ 2
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago

Comments

I love this one! I hope fear will be over soon and I am glad my home is a good place to be. 💖🍀👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you soooo much dear <3 I hope so too. Mine too but I miss my family who are so near yet so far due to the restrictions which are still in place. Thank you for introducing me to haiku. I had fun with this one :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to hear you had fun writing Haiku.

Seeing my daughter and friends this year will not be in it. I watched a discussion yesterday and this is only the start of spreading fear. This virus is used to control and distract people from what is really going on. Not my world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true. This or that? Here or there? Now or later? So much uncertainty right up to the end we don't see. I hope there is an end... some sort of closure but what is that they say about uncertainty... this really puts it into perspective eh ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no! Your comment was marked as spam :( Who the toot is doing this? I had some comments marked as spam too a few months back. Really evil kenevil. I hope so too, some say this may be for years to come even with all the vaccinations because new variants keep popping up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All my comments are marked as spam Not sure, why I got labelled low quality, spammer... but it is what it is ;D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is nice. I can get the longing for the old days where we have less fear especially breathing, which is crucial for living. The curation will be going on from now on. Perhaps with a different topic for the same community or in other communities of mine and @wakeupkitty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you dear <3 Yes me too! It is so tiring to go out now. SIgh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success with your poetry. My friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you my friend <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago