Keeping hopes low

12 45
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago
Topics: Thoughts, Life

Life can be funny sometimes. The more we want something, the harder it was to get what we want or the more we expect that we would achieve something, the more we won’t. It doesn’t happen always but I can say almost always. It happened enough number of times on things that matter to me, to cause me enough heartaches, pain and disappointments, for me to realize that it is what it is.

When it first happened, I didn’t understand. I was young and naïve but as I grew older, I started to think of this as a lesson to be learnt - to not be overly confident, to not be arrogant, to be grateful with what we have and to be humble in each of our actions. In exams or in competitions, over confidence can fail us. We may get complacent, we may slack, make careless mistakes, we may end up checking our answers less, thinking we’ve got the answers, become lazy and finally, we end up failing.

Many times, whenever I hope for something, working towards something and somewhat expect I will get it, most times, I don’t. I would end up getting disappointed and feeling like crap at the end of it. Over time, when I was faced with similar situations, not getting what I hoped for or expected, I learnt to hope and expect less because the pain was lesser that way.

When I first started off writing, there were articles that I spent a lot of time in, researching, taking photos, drafting and checking, hoping or usually expecting a good earning. But the articles ended up with a measly amount or none at all. It was an utter disappointment but there was no written contract that we would get a good earning for every good article. Besides, different people has different level of appreciation on any form of creativity work, writing is one of them.

Sometimes, we console ourselves and cut ourselves some slack when it happens once, maybe twice but if it happens again for the third time, we would question the system, not so much ourselves and most probably quit altogether.

Then, when I lower my expectations, lower my hope, reprioritize the purpose of doing what I do, if or when I do not get what it is that would have been expected or hoped for, it works much better for my mind, body and soul. I would have less stress, I think about it less and I just do things for the fun of it. You know the whole ‘enjoy the journey, not the destination’ saying. I have to agree that it works much better for my overall well being. But to say that we should not hope or expect at all, it wouldn’t make much sense especially when it means something to us. Realistically, to not have any expectation or hope is not feasible. Lowering them is feasible.

When we expect something after putting in an effort or we hope for it, if we get what we expect and hope for, we will be all happy and jolly. But if or when we don’t, the intensity of disappointment that envelopes our emotion to a point of potential illness that sometimes have no cure for. The only way to cure is to revamp, restart or flush it all out or have a major overhaul of the way we think and what we think. It is not easy but I feel that it is something needed to be tried instead of keeping it all inside.

But what if it is an expectation from others? It is not easy but we will need to manage it and overcome that expectation. It is always a question of why do we do what we do and if it is something we need to answer to ourselves, not to others because we are the ones to live with it, not others. People can tell what they want about what they expect from us but in the end, the very bottom line of things really comes back to what we really want at the end of the day.

If expectation and hope is low, there will be less heartache, less disappointment and lesser time will be needed to heal which means, we can move forward faster, sulk a little lesser, complain less and refocus.

Image source: https://unsplash.com/photos/HH8Sk2LfeCk

7
$ 2.06
$ 1.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
+ 2
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago
Topics: Thoughts, Life

Comments

It depends on the occasion or what you do if you should keep expectations and hope low or high. With low expectations an interview won't go well. With high expectations you won't win the lottery. Some things, platforms like these for example, I see as an extra. It can be the cherry or the whipped cream on the pie and if not I won't die. I can eat something else or skip the meal. 👍🍀💖

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I usually will think I will fail while half hoping I won't :D Yes, it does depends on the occasion sometimes :) <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keeping our expectations low is a good technique for us to not be disappointed too much. Life is plain and simple if we treat it as it is, but we humans tend to want for more and more, so thenmore we expect the kore get disappointed. It's okay to expect but not to much that we know things will get complicated and the disappointment that we will get is really a pain.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes true. Human nature is hard to please sometimes, and we just need to be conscious about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that we should be satisfied with all the things that we have, and to not expect too much, to do things with love without thinking about what we will get and success will come when we do not expect it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree, if we do things for the love of it and not expecting something in return, success does come when we least expect it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keeping expectations low can be a strategy. But as long as that doesn't mean for us a less effort to achieve the goal. However, I prefer to keep my expectations high most of the time and face failure if needed.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I totally agree. As long as we do not compromise the expectations with effort. I salute you for having the strength to do so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keeping your expectations low and having high rewards turns out to be an awesome experience. Its way better than thinking that the best will come and then the worst happens. So heart breaking!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes very true. I prefer to think like that too! Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Where there are no expectations, there are no disappointment

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agreed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago