Indelible

13 28
Avatar for lonestranger
1 year ago

Day 3: A Memory

(30 Days Writing Challenge)


"Your father got burned in the mountain so he was brought to the hospital!"

Vividly, walking home under a very hot weather on a peaceful road uphill with my classmate, that devastating news shattered my troubled mind for an on-going first quarter examination. 'Twas like a severe explosion happened. It was 6 years ago. I was only 13, and a grade 7 student whose goal was only to excel in her studies when her father got into an accident. Like I was totally dumbfounded when I heard those frightful words. Nothing even came out of my mouth as my tears were unstoppably on haste falling from my eyes. I couldn't even remember anymore how did I get home that time. I couldn't stop crying over and over again thinking that he might die so one of our dearest neighbor comforted me. We call her ate Joy and it was her husband who informed me on the road.

Since our out was early, I was the first one who came home and hours after, my eldest sister arrived followed by my younger brother and sister. Excluding our ate, she didn't cry that much looking tough just to uplift and give us hope that nothing worse will ever happen to him. My father was critical and had a 50-50 chance of survival. From head to foot, he got burns. We only received a text message from my mother that she can't come home to accompany my father in the hospital. The set up starting then was that my Lolo was the one who took care of us. He arrived every 3-4 in the afternoon to bring us food and slept with us since he can't stay because he also have his responsibilities at home. But then, they've decided to just split us to make it easier for him and to save money from fares as well. Me and our eldest sister stayed for a while in our Tita Gingging's house because our school is near while the two younger ones stayed at our Lolo's for still the same reason.

The day after it happened, we're still present at school. I can't really forget how I just cried when our adviser only asked me something related to the examination haha. I wasn't able to explain, so, that classmate I was with who's our neighbor as well was the one who carefully explained it to our teacher. The exam even stopped for a moment as they comforted me which made me feel a little better.

Well, it was so hard for us. Thankfully, God gave him another chance to live. If you just saw his burns all over the body, his situation was really heartbreaking. We've received both financial and spiritual helps from our brothers and sisters in Christ. Their money and and fervent prayers were great boons that assisted my parents' needs in the hospital. It was my Tito Rolan who took care of the papers. Everyone prayed endlessly in their houses as some visited him while we can't. My mother didn't let us see him at first seeing such in a very painful situation.

What's overwhelming was how my father have recovered fastly. The doctors thought it would take him a year in the hospital but then, he just spent 3 months there and went home. But of course, the injuries weren't that healed totally. He can't walk and a tiny dust can make those even worse. It was so sensitive that we have to clean all the time every single thing at home. Whenever my mom cleans the wounds, my father shouts painfully, which used to break me. Everyone also thought that his injuries will leave scars or his face and ears will deform. But we were wrong, it healed perfectly and today, only little ones are left like you will never believe he was burned alive and survived.

This is him now and he's still a bubbly person.

How good God really is right? This memory reminds me today that no single thing that our greatest God can't possibly do. Putting our faith and casting all our burdens to Him are what I've learned. He makes all impossible things possible. I'm not sure if that was a challenge or a scourge for my father as it was only between him and God. What I'm sure of is that it left us something that's truly indelible in our hearts and minds. God answers prayers as long as we put our trust in Him. Praying all together makes it even better. And amidst such kind of situation, people's true colors shine at its brightest state and only real ones remain.

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.

—Romans 12:12


Thanks. Owe you big time! ♡

Lead Image: Source

Let's keep in touch at Noise.cash!

7
$ 1.74
$ 1.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ayaan258
$ 0.03 from @reanbooks
+ 5
Sponsors of lonestranger
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for lonestranger
1 year ago

Comments

Whoa, I thought the picture you represented is 'before'. I guess it is something miraculous

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Still, the Lord protected him all the way from his burnt. Look at him now, his skin is fresh as milk and shiny as oil.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just how faithful God really is on His promise that He will never leave and forsake us in Hebrews.💗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true. I have many testimony about healing as well.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

💗💗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can swear that I had my heart in my hand when I read this, it's good that there is a happy ending, because otherwise I would cry:(

$ 0.01
1 year ago

hehehe that's why I'm very thankful to God☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looking at the picture, I think your Dad was a good man. That is why good karma had happened to him. I could feel the pain within you, seeing and hearing your father in pain. But a miracle happened because I think he has something more to do. God bless those who help and your family. 😇

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeahh that was really not his time pa po. Thank youu!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed There is nothing God cannot do, most time all we need to do is to caste our cares upon him. I really like the way you narrated it. It was so emotional

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you!💗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

During the first sentences I thought it was a story and the first bold sentence is a prompt. Was surprised as I realized it was a real event. Indeed a shocking one but also something to be grateful for big time (the fact that your dad recovered)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha I really bolded those words because until now, I can still remember it clearly and that is where this memory started haystt. I am forever grateful.🥺💗

$ 0.00
1 year ago