Is Splinterlands a Good Investment? 17 Months Later ...

0 286
Avatar for libertycrypto27
3 years ago

Cover Image: Logo image owned by @splinterlands - Edit by @libertycrypto27- Font used is Open Source

On the 19th of October 2019 I started my ludic adventure on Splinterlands.

Since that day, more than 17 months have passed (exactly 17 months and 7 days) and after all these months Splinterlands is still my favourite game on Hive and most importantly I still enjoy playing it.

Every game based on a blockchain is not only a game but also an investment.

This dual game/investment aspect applies especially to Splinterlands.

Splinterlands in fact provides the possibility to buy and sell NFT (cards), to buy and sell game tokens (DEC) and also provides the possibility to put DEC tokens to work in the farms of some DeFi projects such as the recent Defi project of the Leofinance community: https://cubdefi.com/.

So far Splinterlands has proven to be for me not only a good game but also a good investment. For this reason I write a report every month in which I consider Splinterlands solely from a financial point of view and completely leave out the game aspect.

Note: In the numbers in this report, the comma "," and the dot "." are both decimal separators.

Here are the topics I will cover in this monthly report:

Report topics

- Final Result Previous Report

- Valuation of Splinterlands as an Investment (after 15 months)

- Total Investment Cost

- Total Revenue

- Value of my card collection

- Value of accumulated DEC tokens

- Revenue from selling DEC tokens

- Value of Plots

- Profit/Loss Calculation

- ROI Calculation

- Final Considerations

- Month by month history of my investment in Splinterlands.

- Does anyone who signs up today still have a chance to make a good profit?

- Contest

Final Result Previous Report

The starting point of each of my monthly Splinterlands reports is the result I recorded in my previous monthly report

In the graphs of the following two images you can see the results (ROI and Profit) I recorded in my previous report.

After a little more than 16 months I got a total profit of 392.60 $ and a ROI of 140.84 %.

Now it's time to check if my investment has increased in value or decreased in value after 17 months since I joined Splinterlands.

Valuation of Splinterlands as an Investment

(after 17 months)

To evaluate any investment it is always necessary to compare costs and revenues.

Below I will calculate the total costs I have incurred and the total revenue I have earned to date.

Total investment cost

The total cost of my investment on Splinterlands is given by the following sum:

Subscription cost (Starter Set: 10$) + Total cost of Cards purchased + Total cost of DECs purchased + Total cost of Plots purchased

Since the date of my last report (March 4, 2021) and until today March 26, 2021 I have not invested in Splinterlands and for this reason calculating the total cost of my investment until today is very simple because it corresponds to the value of the total cost calculated in the previous report which is 278,76 $.

However, I have continued to optimise my card collection:

- I sold some cards that I don't use in battle (mainly gold cards)

- I bought some cards useful in battle (my last purchase was Gold Dragon level 2).

Total Revenues

In the game of Splinterlands the revenues are made up of:

- the market value of the Cards that make up a collection of cards

- the value obtained from the sale of the cards

- the value of the DEC (Dark Energy Crystal) tokens accumulated and not reinvested.

- the value obtained from the sale of the DEC tokens.

- the market value of the purchased plots.

- The value obtained from the sale of the plots.

How much are my cards worth?

To find out the total dollar value of my card collection I always use the Peakmonsters site (https://peakmonsters.com/@libertycrypto27/collection) which within the Collection section provides the calculation of the value of my card collection.

The peakmonsters site calculates the value of my collection based on two different prices: Market prices and List prices.

To calculate the value of my card collection I always consider the lower of:

- the total value using Market Prices.

- the total value using List Prices.

Note: These two values must be considered as estimated values when calculating revenue.

In order to obtain these values in practice, I must be able to sell all the cards in my collection at current market prices or at current list prices.

In reality, there are cards that are easier to sell and others that are less easy to sell, although up to now I have always managed to sell all the cards I have put on the market at the lowest market price.

If I wanted to calculate the precise immediately monetisable value of my card collection I would have to consider only the BID Prices for each card in my collection and the calculation would become very time consuming because I have 1200 cards in my collection (3757 BCX) and for this reason I settle for an approximation.

On March 4, 2021 my card collection had a value of $519.24.

Today my card collection has a value of 819.63 $ (using Market prices)

My card collection has increased in value by $300.39 over the previous month.

I was honestly surprised by this increase in value and it is the largest increase in value I have seen in 17 months.

This data is even more remarkable if I consider that I sold many gold cards to increase the battle strength of my card collection.

How much are the DEC tokens I have in my wallet worth?

The DEC (Dark Energy Crystal) are the Tokens native to the game of Splinterlands that can be used to buy various elements of the game (cards, potions, card packs, plots...) or can be sold and bought on HiveEngine/LeoDex or can be used on some farms (DeFi).

For each battle won, every Splinterlands player receives a certain amount of DEC tokens as a reward, which depends on several factors:

- the rating

- guild level

- the use of specific cards (Gold, Promo, Alpha)

- the number of consecutive victories in battle (Streak Bonus)

Thanks to my gaming activity, the cards I sold and the completion of daily and fortnightly quests, I have a total of 68367 DEC tokens in my Splinterlands wallet (previous month: 89741 DEC).

I also made a mistake this month: I bought 10 Quest Potions that cost me 7275 DEC.

My intention was to write a post about whether or not the different potions were worth it, and I accidentally clicked on the buy button.

So if you want to buy Quest Potions, don't! :)

Today 26 March 2021, the dollar value of 68637 DEC is 58.11 $ (Highest Bid on LeoDex/HiveEngine)

Revenues from the sale of DEC tokens on Hive Engine

I have almost always used DEC tokens to buy cards to add to my collection and on one occasion I sold DEC tokens in exchange for HIVE tokens.

On October 5, 2020, I sold 81000 DEC tokens on the Hive Engine marketplace and received 400.14 HIVE in exchange for a value at the time of sale of 64.8 $.

How much are my Plots worth?

On November 21, 2020 I purchased 3 Plots at a price of 7500 DEC each for a total cost of 22500 DEC whose $ value at the time of purchase was 19.66 $.

The plots can be purchased directly from the Splinterlands website for $20 but can also be purchased on LeoDex/HiveEngine for a much better price.

In my report I consider the value of the Highest BID on https://leodex.io/market/PLOT to be 16 HIVE per plot.

So the total value of the three plots in my possession is 16 HIVE * 3 plots = 48 HIVE = $23.90 (value 4 March 2021: $32.40)

I now have all the data I need (Total Costs and Total Revenues) to calculate any profit or loss I have made in just over 17 months of playing and investing in Splinterlands.

Profit

( Revenues - Costs )

After seeing the increase in value of my card collection I expected a good result and in fact as you can see from the calculations in the following picture my profit after 17 months on Splinterlands has increased and is now 687,68 $ (previous report 392,60 $)

ROI

Return On Investment

The ROI I have achieved in just over 17 months is 246.69% (previous monthly report 140.84%).

Final considerations

A truly outstanding month for Splinterlands and all its players.

Such an important and general increase in the value of Splinterlands cards shows that Splinterlands is a worthwhile project that still has a lot of potential.

In just over 17 months I have made a profit of 687.68$ and achieved a ROI of 246.69%.

The profit is up $295.08 from the total profit I had recorded in the previous monthly report.

The positive result is even more valuable considering that I did not inject any outside cash into my Splinterlands investment.

The result I have achieved this month is by far the best result since I started my Splinterlands adventure.

Splinterlands continues to prove to be a great game and a great investment!

Month by month history of my investment in Splinterlands

Below you can see the history of my personal investment in Splinterlands regarding the ROI and Profit I have achieved month by month and from the sixth month onwards.

The trend of ROI from the sixth month onwards is as follows:

- ROI after 6 months: 34.73 %

- ROI after 7 months: 77.02 %

- ROI after 8 months: 10.93 %

- ROI after 9 months: 34.33 %

- ROI after 10 months: 16.99 %

- ROI after 11 months: 57.68 %

- ROI after 12 months: 118.59 %

- ROI after 13 months: 113.41 %

- ROI after 14 months: 111.62 %

- ROI after 15 months: 121.26 %

- ROI after 16 months: 140.84 %

- ROI after 17 months: 246.69 %

The trend in PROFIT from the sixth month onwards is as follows:

- PROFIT after 6 months: 27.99 $

- PROFIT after 7 months: 82,346 $

- PROFIT after 8 months: 24,214 $

- PROFIT after 9 months: 78,902 $

- PROFIT after 10 months: 44,014 $

- PROFIT after 11 months: 149,437 $

- PROFIT after 12 months: 307,279 $

- PROFIT after 13 months: 316,13 $

- PROFIT after 14 months: 311,16 $

- PROFIT after 15 months: 338,02 $

- PROFIT after 16 months: 392,60 $

- PROFIT after 16 months: 687,68 $

But whoever signs up today still has a chance to make a good profit?

As is almost always the case with all successful games, those who signed up for Splinterlands early on made a great investment and received far more rewards and value than me who signed up several months after the game was released.

In the beginning the rewards for completing daily quests consisted only of cards from the Alpha collection while today the rewards consist of chests and on average 1 in 3 chests contains a card (Untamed or Reward collection).

It is enough to take a look at the Splinterlands market to see how those who immediately saw the great potential of Splinterlands made big profits.

In fact, the cheapest Alpha card on the Splinterlands market is Spineback Wolf, which is priced at $0.21, while the cheapest Untamed card is worth 10 times less: $0.02 (Kobold Bruiser).

I signed up when the Alpha cards were already out of print and there were only Beta cards so those who sign up now will grow much slower than me.

Yet despite the fact that it is now more difficult to grow as fast and make as much money as in the past I still promote Splinterlands and recommend it to family and friends because Splinterlands is not just a game but much more!

Splinterlands offers so many ways to make money, and the first one that no Splinterlands player should ignore is the weekly contests run by the @splinterlands account.

Contest:

Every week Splinterlands organizes 3 weekly contests.

Due to the high number of participants in the contests Splinterlands rewards its players who participate in the contests with up to two upvotes per week.

In the following image you can see the last two upvotes I received in one week from Splinterlands as a reward for participating in 2 contests.

I received a value of just over $10 for participating in two contests.

With just two posts I exceeded 100% of the entry fee to start playing Splinterlands.

This explains why I continue to promote and recommend Splinterlands.

Obviously the value of the @steemmonsters account vote will depend on the effort and quality of the post but in 17 months I've never seen a Splinterlands contest entry post even a short one without a Splinterlands vote.

I hope you enjoyed this report and thank you for taking the time to read it :)

Will ROI and Profit grow in the next month or will they decline?

Follow me to find out ;)

Not a Splinterlands player?

If you are not a Splinterlands player, you are missing out on a unique opportunity to have fun while earning cards and DEC.

If you decide to register, you can do so from this link:

https://splinterlands.com?ref=libertycrypto27

Of course if you'd like to use my refferal link... :)

If you use a refferal link when registering for Splinterlands you have the following advantage:

Splinterlands is a beautiful game but it is above all a good investment (I'm not a financial advisor and this is not a financial advice but just my personal opinion) especially if you regularly participate in the weekly contests organized by the @splinterlands account (on Hive blockchain).

See you on the Splinterlands battlefields.

Unless otherwise indicated, the images in this post are screenshots taken from the sites:

https://splinterlands.com/

The images containing calculations and tables are my property

The font I used in my images and in the images I edited is Open Source

Follow me also on:

NoiseCashhttps://noise.cash/u/libertycrypto27

Hivehttps://peakd.com/@libertycrypto27/posts

Leofinance: https://leofinance.io/@libertycrypto27

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/libertycrypto27

Publish0xhttps://www.publish0x.com/libertycrypto27?a=MYervALeOB (Ref.)

Blurthttps://blurtter.com/@libertycrypto27

5
$ 3.43
$ 3.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for libertycrypto27
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments