Is Splinterlands a Good Investment? 16 Months Later...

0 836
Avatar for libertycrypto27
3 years ago

Cover: Logo image owned by @splinterlands (on Hive blockchain) - Edit by @libertycrypto27- Font used is Open Source

On 19 October 2019 intrigued by reading so many posts on Hive about playing Splinterlands I decided to sign up and start playing as well.

Since that day more than 16 months have passed (precisely 16 months and 14 days) and after all these months Splinterlands is still my favourite game on Hive.

Any game that includes the possibility to buy and sell NFT (cards) and game tokens (DEC) is not only a game but can also be considered an investment.

So far Splinterlands has turned out to be for me not only a good game but also a good investment. For this reason I write a report every month in which I consider Splinterlands solely from a financial point of view and completely leave out the gameplay aspect.

Note: In the numbers in this report, the comma "," and the dot "." are both decimal separators.

Here are the topics I will cover in this monthly report:

Report topics

- Final Result Previous Report

- Valuation of Splinterlands as an Investment (after 16 months)

- Total Investment Cost

- Total Revenue

- Value of my card collection

- Value of accumulated DEC tokens

- Revenue from selling DEC tokens

- Value of Plots

- Profit/Loss calculation

- ROI Calculation

- Final Considerations

- Month by month history of my investment in Splinterlands.

- Does anyone who signs up today still have a chance to make a good profit?

- Contest

- SPT tokens:

- Contest and Giveaway on Twitter:

- Trivia Challenge

Final Result Previous Report

The starting point for this monthly report is the result I recorded and posted in my previous report

In the graphs of the following two images you can see the results of my previous report.

After a little over 15 months I had a total profit of 338.02 $ and a ROI of 126.26 %.

I wrote my last report on January 28, 2021 and now it's time to check if my investment has increased in value or decreased in value.

Valuation of Splinterlands as an Investment

(after 16 months)

To evaluate any investment it is necessary to compare costs and revenues.

Below I will calculate the total costs I have incurred and the total revenue I have earned to date.

Total investment cost

The total cost of my investment on Splinterlands is given by the following sum:

Subscription cost (Starter Set: 10$) + Total cost of Cards purchased + Total cost of DECs purchased + Total cost of Plots purchased

From the date of my last report (January 28, 2021) until today March 4, 2021 I have not invested in Splinterlands and therefore calculating the total cost of my investment to date is very simple because it corresponds to the value calculated in the previous report and is 278,76 $.

However, I have continued to optimise my card collection:

- I sold some cards I don't use in battle

- I bought some cards useful in battle.

Revenues

In the game of Splinterlands the revenue consists of:

- the market value of the Cards that make up a collection of cards

- the value obtained from the sale of the cards

- the value of the DEC (Dark Energy Crystal) tokens accumulated and not reinvested.

- the value obtained from the sale of the DEC tokens.

- the market value of the purchased plots.

- The value obtained from the sale of the plots.

How much are my cards worth?

To find out the total dollar value of my card collection I always use the Peakmonsters site (https://peakmonsters.com/@libertycrypto27/collection) which within the Collection section provides the calculation of the value of my card collection.

The Peakmonsters website calculates the value of my collection based on two different prices: Market prices and List prices.

To calculate the value of my card collection I always consider the lower of:

- the total value using Market Prices.

- the total value using List Prices.

Note: these two values are approximate values because in order to obtain these values it is necessary to be able to sell all the cards in my collection at market or list prices.

Up to now I have always managed to sell all the cards I put on the market at market prices but to find the immediately monetizable value of my card collection I would have to consider only the BID Prices for each card in my collection and the calculation would become very time consuming (I have 1146 cards in my collection) and for this reason I settle for an approximation.

On 28 January 2021 my card collection had a value of $500.79.

Today my card collection has a value of 519.24 $ (using Market prices)

My card collection has gained a value of $18.45 over the previous month.

How much are the DEC tokens I have in my wallet worth?

The DEC (Dark Energy Crystal) are the Tokens of the Splinterlands game that can be used to buy various elements of the game (cards, potions, packs of cards, plots...) or can be sold and bought on HiveEngine/LeoDex.

For each battle you win, you receive a certain amount of DEC as a reward, which depends on your rating, the level of the guild you belong to and the use of specific cards.

Thanks to the battles I won, the cards I sold this month and the rewards from completing daily and fortnightly quests, I have a total of 89741 DEC tokens in my Splinterlands wallet (previous month: 38788 DEC).

Today, March 4, 2021, the dollar value of 89741 DEC is 54.92 $ (Highest Bid on LeoDex/HiveEngine)

Revenues from the sale of DEC tokens on Hive Engine

On one occasion I sold DEC in exchange for HIVE.

On October 5, 2020, I sold 81000 DECs on the Hive Engine marketplace and received 400.14 HIVEs in exchange for a value at the time of sale of $64.8.

How much are my Plots worth?

On November 21, 2020 I purchased 3 Plots at a price of 7500 DEC each for a total cost of 22500 DEC whose $ value at the time of purchase was 19.66 $.

The plots can be purchased directly from the Splinterlands website for $20 but can also be purchased on LeoDex/HiveEngine for a much better price.

In my report I consider the value of the best buy offer (BID) on https://leodex.io/market/PLOT to be 36 HIVE per plot.

So the total value of the three plots in my possession is 36 HIVE * 3 plots = 108 HIVE = $32.4 (value 28 Jan 2021: $23.60)

I now have all the necessary data (Costs and Revenues) to calculate any profit or loss I have made in just over 16 months of playing and investing in Splinterlands.

Profit

( Revenues - Costs )

As you can see from the calculations in the image below my profit after 16 months on Splinterlands is 392,60 $ (previous report 338,02 $)

ROI

( Return On Investment )

The ROI I have achieved in 16 months is 140.84% (previous monthly report 121.26%).

Final considerations

In just over 16 months, I made a profit of 392.60$ and achieved a ROI of 140.84%.

The profit increased by 54.58 $ compared to the total profit recorded in the previous monthly report.

The positive result is even more valuable considering that:

- I sold some gold cards and received DEC in return.

- The value of the DEC tokens decreased compared to the previous month.

The profit and Roi I have achieved in 16 months are the best results I have achieved so far.

Splinterlands continues to prove to be a good investment as well as being a good game.

Month by month history of my investment in Splinterlands

Below you can see the month by month history of my investment in Splinterlands regarding the ROI and Profit I have made.

The trend of ROI from the 6th month onwards is as follows:

- ROI after 6 months: 34.73 %.

- ROI after 7 months: 77.02 %

- ROI after 8 months: 10.93 %

- ROI after 9 months: 34.33 %

- ROI after 10 months: 16,99 %

- ROI after 11 months: 57.68 %

- ROI after 12 months: 118.59 %

- ROI after 13 months: 113.41 %.

- ROI after 14 months: 111.62 %.

- ROI after 15 months: 121.26 %

- ROI after 16 months: 140.84 %.

The trend in PROFIT from the sixth month onwards is as follows:

- PROFIT after 6 months: 27.99 $

- PROFIT after 7 months: 82.346 $

- PROFIT after 8 months: 24.214 $

- PROFIT after 9 months: 78.902 $

- PROFIT after 10 months: 44.014 $

- PROFIT after 11 months: 149.437 $

- PROFIT after 12 months: 307.279 $.

- PROFIT after 13 months: 316.13 $

- PROFIT after 14 months: 311.16 $

- PROFIT after 15 months: 338.02 $

- PROFIT after 16 months: 392.60 $

But whoever signs up today still has a chance to make a good profit?

Those who have signed up for Splinterlands from the beginning have made a great investment and have received far more rewards and value than me who signed up several months after the game was released.

Similarly, those who sign up now will grow much more slowly than I did because when I started for example the daily and fortnightly rewards were made up entirely of cards whereas today they are made up of chests and on average 1 in 3 chests contains a card.

16 months ago there was no Collection Power requirement and it was much easier to advance in the higher leagues with more daily and seasonal rewards than now.

Yet despite the fact that it's now more difficult to grow quickly, I still promote Splinterlands and recommend it to family and friends because Splinterlands is more than just a game!

Below is a list of earning opportunities that Splinterlands offers.

Contest:

Every week Splinterlands runs 3 weekly contests.

If you sign up for Splinterlands and participate every week in two of the three contests organised by the @splinterlands account, you will receive your $10 entry fee back in about a month, just from participating in the contests.

Due to the high number of participants in the contests Splinterlands rewards its players who participate in the contests with a maximum of two upvotes per week.

In the following image you can see the last two upvotes I received from Splinterlands as a reward for participating in 2 contests.

I received a value of almost $7 for participating in two contests and with two posts I got the value corresponding to 70% of the Splinterlands entry fee.

Participating in the "Share your Battle" and "Social Media Challenge" contests is easy and fun.

In the 'Share your Battle' contest you must share a battle in which you have used the contest card, which changes every week.

In the "Social Media Challenge" contest you can write about Splinterlands, but with a completely free theme.

There is also a contest for artists called "Splinterlands Art Contest".

SPT Tokens:

When you write a post and use either the splinterlands tag or the spt tag you will receive an amount of SPT tokens based on the amount of tokens staked by users who vote on your post.

SPT tokens can be bought, sold, delegated and staked on LeoDex or HiveEngine.

Today 4 March 2021 1 SPT token has the value of 0.001190 HIVE (Highest BID).

Contest and Giveaway on Twitter:

Splinterlands also runs a number of Twitter contests and giveaways that are easy to enter.

Trivia Challenge

I hope you liked this report and thank you for taking the time to read it :)

Will ROI and Profit grow in the next month or will they decline?

Follow me to find out ;)

With this post I am participating in the weekly Splinterlands contest entitled "Social Media Challenge".

If you're a Splinterlands player, I highly recommend that you participate as well.

Not a Splinterlands player?

If you are not a Splinterlands player, you are missing out on a unique opportunity to have fun while earning cards and DEC.

If you decide to register, you can do so from this link:

https://splinterlands.com?ref=libertycrypto27

Of course if you'd like to use my refferal link... :)

If you use a refferal link when registering for Splinterlands you have the following advantage:

Splinterlands is a beautiful game but it is above all a good investment (I'm not a financial advisor and this is not a financial advice but just my personal opinion) especially if you regularly participate in the weekly contests organized by the @splinterlands account (on Hive blockchain).

See you on the Splinterlands battlefields.

Unless otherwise indicated, the images in this post are screenshots taken from the sites:

https://splinterlands.com?ref=libertycrypto27

https://peakmonsters.com/

https://leodex.io/

The images containing calculations and tables are my property

Font used is Open Source

Follow me also on:

NoiseCashhttps://noise.cash/u/libertycrypto27

Hivehttps://peakd.com/@libertycrypto27/posts

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/libertycrypto27

Publish0xhttps://www.publish0x.com/libertycrypto27?a=MYervALeOB

Blurthttps://blurtter.com/@libertycrypto27

7
$ 11.46
$ 11.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @lerkfrend
Avatar for libertycrypto27
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments