Headache: Instead of Pain killers, Why not Oral Rehydration Salts?

6 58
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Last May 30, 2021, the Philippines recorded one of its highest heat indexes with a scorching of 51 degrees Celcius. That's half of the water's boiling point which is extremely dangerous to anyone's health. Even turning on your air conditioner to the coldest setting won't make a change at all.

Aside from warm and humid weather, it is also the day where the sleeping monster inside me has awakened. When I say monster, I am pertaining to my stomach.

I am one of the individuals who have a sensitive and choosy digestive system. I am not rich but this tummy is acting like one. I have no choice but to prevent the monster from waking up, so if you met me personally, you may notice that I am picky with the food I will eat.

But unfortunately, I ate something that I didn't even remember, which makes this stupid monster goes into a rage. I used the comfort room almost 5 times and still, my tummy is still furious. This is where I decided to take a loperamide capsule to make this creature fall asleep.

Guess what? my tummy doesn't stop there. I am already feeling weak. I am also starting to have a headache as a result of constant fluid loss. At first, I think the headache was just a result of blurry eyesight but my father clarified that it may also a result of dehydration. It makes sense because the weather is incredibly hot plus the fact that I have LBM (Loose Bowel Movement). So he suggested taking an oral hydration salt and mix it in a glass of water. Along with this, he remembered his deceased co-worker who also died of dehydration.

He said that they thought everything was fine but the very next day they received news that their co-worker had a heart attack due to dehydration. According to the partner of the deceased, her wife was experiencing a mild -severe loose bowel movement. She also experienced a headache and weakness that they thought at first a sign of COVID-19. Her condition worsens in a short span of time so her husband decided to take him to the hospital. She became a COVID-19 suspected patient and the nurses and staff bought her to an isolation room. A few hours later, she died.

After this incident, my father keeps on reminding us that whenever we faced the same situation, we should tell him right away. Dehydration is very dangerous but not everyone was looking at it seriously.

Back to the topic, though my stomach is still in trouble, I slowly regained my strength and my headache was slightly reduced. I may conclude that the headache I experienced earlier is the result of dehydration.

This is where I realized that what if most of our headaches are just caused by the lack of fluids inside our body? Imagine that we keep taking painkillers just to resolve this problem but the truth is our body is just sending a signal to drink water.

According to Medical News Today, a subsequent headache produced by a lack of fluid in the body is known as a dehydration headache. Dehydration headaches can range from moderate to severe, similar to a migraine.

When we drink alcohol, the headache and dizziness we feel are often caused by dehydration. According to Healthline, alcohol is a diuretic, which means it causes you to lose water. It causes your body to drain fluids from your blood at a significantly faster pace than other liquids through your renal system, which comprises your kidneys, ureters, and bladder.

So instead of drinking painkillers to fight the effects of alcohol, you should drink lots of fluid. You may also try using oral rehydration salts that you can buy at any drugstore. This medicine is used to relieve dehydration in children and adults who have had diarrhea. This medication replenishes fluid and electrolytes (body salts) lost as a result of diarrhea or vomiting. This only cost $0.31 or P15.

I mentioned earlier that the heat index here in Cavite reached 51 degrees Celcius, and I think this is also the factor that contributed to my 'dehydration'. Since many of us are experiencing headaches when the weather is hot, maybe the real cause of that is the loss of fluids. So better think before drinking that pain killer.

Final thoughts...

Although oral rehydration salts are helpful in treating dehydration and its effects, consulting your doctor if you feel something isn't right is still the best. I'm just sharing my experience that I believe most people had experienced. It's up to you.


You may check out my other recent articles...

15
$ 12.60
$ 12.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CryptoMax
$ 0.06 from @kingofreview
+ 8
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I do not know that us exactly alcohol or not but i often drink cold drinks but that is normal one.. I think always that cool drinks can hell me more than any salty medicine as like you have mentioned rehydrate salt..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yesss tubig! hahaha. napakaimportante.

ang hirap ng feeling mayaman yung tiyan ano. tho hindi naman ganyan akin pero naiimagine ko kasi, ang hirap lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try also to go from home para maiwasan yung dehydration. Through that, di ka masyadong mauubusan ng fluid. Kapag kasi nasa bahay ako ng lola ko, para akong piprituhin pero mas presko rito sa terrace namin at hindi mainit. Personal thoughts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i experience the same too every time it's very hot 😭😭 i usually get an upset stomach and its gonna ruin the whole day 😩😩 i try to remain hydrated and just sleep all day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do take care of to remain hydrated. I'm surprised at how hot the Philppines can get. In Malaysia, we average 32 - 35C during the day, and sometimes, when it goes higher, we literally feel like melting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

to be honest, the Philippines is getting hotter and hotter as time goes by. Maybe it's the effect of climate change? Anyways, take care also and drink lots of water

$ 0.00
2 years ago