A Breath of Fresh Air Amidst the Pandemic

26 74
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Since the pandemic started my social interaction became less and less to the point it's starting to affect me. Although I said to my past blogs that I am an introverted person, in these difficult times I can't avoid but feel lonely. I often feel that I am alone with the journey as I can't openly express my feeling to my parents.

So last time one of my tropa (friend) invited us to have an overnight get-together at his house. I was skeptical if I will accept the invitation at first because I know that my parents will not allow me. They are very strict in following safety protocols as our place is at very high risk from COVID-19 infection. They also think that I and my friends might do something illegal like consuming prohibited drugs or something else and that's ridiculous. Like, we are friends since 8th grade and nothing is happening to me so they should trust them. But considering that I am not going out of the house for almost half a year now, they may let me pass through.

So the day of our overnight, I took the courage to ask for my parent's permission. At first, I feel that they will not permit me. This is where I released my 'sad but it's an okay' card. I will accept their decision but I will make them feel guilty by showing how sad I am. Lol, I can't imagine how dramatic I am that time, and every time I remember myself doing that, it feels cringy. But that's okay because after doing that, they allowed me. But in return, they said that I need to finish all the pending household chores.

At exactly 9 pm, I left the house and bring some important stuff with me. Our place is quiet already even the curfew will start at 10 pm. The gentle and cold breeze started to stroke my skin and the moon is guiding me with its soft light. It's liberating to see all of this once again in a while. After several months of staying inside of my house and focusing on other priorities, it's a breath of fresh air knowing you can go out again and socialize with your friends.

It took me almost 10 minutes waiting for a ride. I'm a little bit worried here because there are a few to no vehicles are passing by. I messaged my friends that I may have a problem with transportation and they should get me when the problem continues 😆. But luckily, a jeepney passed by.

15 minutes until I reached my destination. I was lost for a while because I am not informed that they already moved to another subdivision. Good for me, my father's workplace is nearby and their new house is also a walking distance. In case, I got lost and my friends decided to just abandon me (which is impossible), I will just go with my father. I messaged them to lead me to the correct path of life, jk. They responded and I arrived at their place within 5 minutes.

One of my friends arrived earlier than me. If I hadn't just gone astray I might have been ahead of him 😅.

Nevertheless, my friend's mother prepared us some snacks for our movie marathon and midnight talks. She's so generous to the point she said that we can call her to cook some snacks if we're still hungry. Of course, that's embarrassing so we did it on our own.

I thought it will be just three of us that night but to our surprise, my friend arrived at 12:30 am. He said that he just waited for his father to sleep so he can escape from him. He's used his bike to travel from his home all the way down here. He's a cyclist and it's a piece of cake so nothing to worry about.

We had a great time sharing what happened to each other's lives in the past few months. There are some secrets revealed, new experiences unlocked, etc. It's a great night indeed. We started to feel sleepy at around 5 am and even we like it or not, our eyelids felt tired and eventually falls down to cover our sight. We woke at 7 am and left the house at 8:30 am. We are sleep-deprived but the enjoyment is still prevailing on us.

One of my friends thought of going to our old school to get his document. Thanks to him for mentioning that as I also need to retrieve important papers. So before heading home, we decided to go there.

I forgot to mention that our school is also walking distance from our friend's house so we just used our feet to reach our destination.

Upon walking, we passed at a checkpoint and authorities start intercepting our way. They invited us to come over as according to them we violated a rule; we don't wear a face shield. 'Luckily', according to them, 1st-time health protocol violators are not punishable; we just need to list down our names and they will take a picture of your face. I have no choice but to remove my face mask and show off my haggard and sleep-deprived looks to them. They warn us to not let this happen again or else, we will not be granted police and NBI clearance for one year.

After passing through, we laughed so hard about what just happened 😂. One of the strictest health protocols in the world but also the one with the highest infection rates, lol. Anyways, we reached out to our alma mater. We had a short chitchat with our former teachers and we say our goodbyes for a while; it may take us a while to visit them again.

After that, we say goodbyes to each other and we parted ways. As I wave my hands at them, sudden realization kicks in; what if this is the last?

Final thoughts...

Although I do not recommend going out and hanging with your friends during these times, it doesn't mean you need to put your mental health at risk. This is also the reason why I accepted their invitation because I noticed that these past few days I am almost losing my sanity; mental and emotional breakdowns over simple things. I also noticed that I am often talking to myself and I think it is not good. After some reflections, too much isolation is not good for my health, and a little bit of fresh air can help.


You can check out my recent articles...

14
$ 24.38
$ 23.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
+ 7
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

You are a great story teller. The way you composed the sentences are just as good as talking face-to-face.

Anyway, how did your friend got there in the middle of the night without officers noticing him? 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you :))

Ewan nga din namin don. Ninja yata yon HAHAHHAA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

what if this is the last?

HAHAHAHAHAHA baka nasa ospital na kayo after a week. Haha, wag naman. By the way, wala kasi akong malapit lapit na friends kasi lahat nang mga nagiging kaibigan ko, temporary lang at makakasama ko lang sa room :>. Medyo nakakasad kasi di ako friendly na tao tapos kapag may mga picnic or gathering mga pinsan ko, mostly di ako sumasama kasi tinatamad lang talaga ako makipag-socialize pero sumasama rin naman ako kaso kapag importante lang. Pero in terms of magkakaibigan, syempre sumasama ako kapag nagkakayayaan (wag lang drughs) Haha, 12AM na kasi kaya ganito ako magcomment. Reminiscing the past kuno.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg ngayon ko kang narealize na parang pag binasa, mamamatay na kami next time HAHAHAHHAHA. Btw, oks lang naman na hindi makipag socialize often pero try mo din kahit paunti unti lang hahaha. Dami din kasing mstutunan na experience from other people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aww you got to hang out. i feel you on the need to interact kahit na introvert tho. we're still humans, after all UwU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never thought your country strict like this and your parents too still as you are adult enough now.. Anyway,here covid case is not serious as we can go market even without any face musk and this is because i am in Village.. Anyway meet with friend always pleasure if they able to understand us and we do the same but we nevee visit at house as you know meet with friend mean fun as well adult words, discussion haha..sso usually meet restaurant, field for better happiness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. The government here still sucks and we have no choice but to follow. Its great to hear that everything seems normal there. I wish we had the same situation too.

You never visit your friends house, well we have different culture. Here in the Philippines, we often do this hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have visited bro but mostly time we visit outside as we prefer outside most haha..anyway, for the indian Corona huge effect let us be little bit more strict but we do not care this anymore as we take it as fun🥱

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats nice to hear. Keep safe tho 👌🏻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay bro,see you next

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waiting for that moment when we can freely go anywhere without any tension remaining at home is best for now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waiting for that moment too :)). I hope after this pandemic, we can go back to the normal norm.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natawa ako dun sa sad card.. hahaha. Naalala ko din nung college days ko na kapag magpapaalam kailangan mag trabaho muna sa bahay bago payagan.. hahahaha..

Miss ko ndin maka jamming mga friends ko nung college. Malalayo na kasi kami sa isat isa.. hays.. nkaka. Miss tlg..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lagi ko pong ginagamit yung card na yan everytime na gusto ko talagang makalabas hahaha. Pag di epektib, tatakas nalang, charot hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

vghnjnbcd

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan kailangan talaga natin huminga, breathe some fresh air, take a break. Nakakasuffocate din kasi na laging nasa bahay. Minsan kung ano anong naiisip.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hays kung wlaa lang pandemic baka lagi akong nasa labas hahaha. Ayaw ko na magstay dito samin, toxic eh hahsha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dito nga din po sa amin. Toxic ng mga kapitbahay.😂 minsan gusto king umalis kaya lang alam mo na, may virus pa. Wag mo na lang isipin yung mga bagay na nagpapastress sayo, baka madepress ka pa nyan. I undergo on that experience nung kasisimula pa lang ng Covid, kung ano ano din iniisip ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pasampal nga ng kapitbahay nyo 😂. Btw, salamat sa advice ❤️. Lagi mo din tatandaan na lahat ng nararamdaman mo is valid at everyone is moving at their own pace 👌🏻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Matanda kasi yung kapitbahay, baka masabihan pang lang galang at respeto, bahala na lang sya sa buhay nya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Clipooooi, we're jusy here when you need someone to talk, we can talk about your kwashes or Itsuki, then @Carisdaneym2 is also there. Magkakaroon kayo ng love triangle omooo 😱 with @Crypto.maniac 😱

Anyway, buti kapa napagayan ano, ako ata di paoayagan pag ganyan ka sad man 😭.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHA salamat ate ruffa 😂. Pinapalaya ko na si itsuki mah loves 🥲. Tanggap ko nang silang dalawa hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahahaha, talaga ba? Dika na lalaban pero bakit naman ganon. Pano kung kayo pala ang nakatadhana, omayyyy 😱😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yawa baka magbago ba desisyon ko HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha, abay mahina ang will nito ahahaha. Laban or laban? 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Or nalang 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago