Next Level: Writing Skills

7 28
Avatar for kingofreview
2 years ago

Do you think that I'm a horrible failure in terms of writing? Honestly, I felt disappointment towards myself upon the skills I've been rooting because it seems like my words are repetitive and their growth of engagements are like a piece of cake.

And here I am, a rotten potato, also aiming at the success that they got, and I also want to be like them. Do you think that I'm envious or just jealous? I didn't mean to be exactly like them since we have our own differences in our little ways, but I just want to improve that skills.

Personally, I'm not envious like you what saw in the movies wherein an antagonist will do anything just to replace the throne that they got. Being on low-key enough has been already abundant for me to fill out the insecurities that I skipped since I'm not a perfect person. On the other hand, I think this objective will gonna break your expectation.

Obviously, I'm not a fond of reading books. I hate gullible modules. Likewise, I hate reading the context that I need to memorize and to understand just because I will need it for my future. Furthermore, I have two subjects in this year which are related to enhance my vocabulary in English literally and figuratively and those are Oral Communication, and Reading and Writing book.

In fact, those books assists me to write my own with different elements and how will I talk to other people, but it's not thoroughly effective in some points. Conversely, I have a subject entitled Practical Research and I didn't like its concept because no one teaches me on how to apply those in my daily lives. Admit it or not, it's inevitable to take a group or individual research, especially I'm almost finished on the last semester and my past classmates when I was Grade 10 are currently taking their defense. If you ask me what I have learned, I will say nothing.

Contrarily, I like to read books, but I'm slothful to read it in English. I was reading E-Books on Wattpad before, and I love to read in Taglish form especially through the works of Maxinejihi, Jonaxx, CeCeLib, and other authors who are famous at this career. Basically, it doesn't gradually help me to write, but it helps me to write my own story and article.

Hence, I need to learn more. I eagerly want to learn more. To earn more. To be better. But what is the first step that I will do? What will be the second? A third or fourth? Should I burden the plans that I must do? Therefore, I should to sort out things that will help me in terms of writing.

Maybe these techniques will not help me as a whole and actually, I'm aiming to improve more. Since my introduction or background takes too long, let's drive in to the right point.

  • Read more books. Do you think that I should follow these rules? Do you think that I should go to Wattpad or any publication site wherein I can practice my skills? What should I write then? Is it descriptive, narrative, or persuasive? I'm still on the hanging bridge while looking at the answer. Stupidity is most likely hitting me in no place.

  • Read more than five articles. This recommendation will gradually help me to cover up my knowledge about trading, grammars, life, etc. Actually, I'm only reading less than the specific aim since I'm prominently busy at doing modules. Otherwise, I can still read but not to the point that I will be got addicted. In addition, I write also some words that I didn't know then I will search it for word of the day. On the contrary, I may also make a content for my noise account then I will be rewarded for my learnings. I think that's make sense.

  • Trust the process. I checked my first article and my article today, and I can say that my writing skills are slowly improving. I still have grammar holes,but I'm ready to coorect it. As a four months writer here, I just need to trust myself and don't mind the toxic people around as long that I know that I'm doing right.

  • Try to read a PDF about writing. Basically, I will insist myself to read a PDF about writing or how to improve my writing skill even though it's not really my forte. Through that, I can learn little by little on reading and I hope it will be successful.

On the contrary, I'm aiming to be better at my writing skills since I'm not a good speaker and I hope these techniques will be my lending hand if I need them the most. By the way, what certain improvements will you give or your suggestions? Can you please criticize me in a good manner through comments? I will deeply acknowledge that.

10
$ 4.23
$ 3.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 2
Sponsors of kingofreview
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kingofreview
2 years ago

Comments

I was thinking of Bjorn when I was reading this. He felt humiliated before because of the essay that he wrote but because of that he improved on everything. He would rely on English dictionaries, English to Tagalog and dictionaries and books of synonyms and antonyms back in our days. But whenever I read his articles, you wouldn't think that he has bern humiliated with how good he writes his articles. If he can do it and so can you. I am also not fond of reading books. I was even more into Filipino teleseryes that's why my dad would always tell me to watch English movies if I wanted to improve on my English. I may not speak as fluently as my dad, my brother and my friends but I know that I am still a work in progress. I would even ask them whenever I would hear a new word that sometimes I would feel so stoopid. However they do not let me feel that way because sometimes there are also some words that they do not know and they would rather search for it when they are all by themselves. One day we will be really good both in writing and speaking. 😉

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You can do it! :) Btw, I hope you'd get to learn something in your academic subjects. I personally hurt as a teacher if my student is not learning. I wish you can have a better experience next time. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm not blaming the teacher but this pandemic is kinda stressful. Thank you po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand and I agree with you, this pandemic really had a toil in all of us. I wish you well in your studies! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I take up those subjects, too way back in senior high school but I think Practical research is fun. It's just that Paraphrasing is the one that almost drained my brain since my vocabulary at that time is limited.

I'm not also a good writer but also aiming to be a good one. I learn to improve by reading other works and observing their writing styles. I'm always reading English novels so I'm always motivated to write novels also in English.

I think the best way to learn and improve is by reading. Just try to read English every day, you'll just get used to it that you'll just notice one day that you have already improved.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maybe I'm just stupid at reading since no one teaches me. I will read and read of course. Thanks po Ate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome. You're doing better now, just keep going.

$ 0.00
2 years ago