My Sister's Experience When She Tested Positive In Covid 19

12 42
Avatar for joydigitalsolutions
1 year ago

Did you have any experiences with Covid 19? How did you feel when one of your family members tested positive for this virus inside your home? Covid 19 occurs in the Philippines around December 2019, but if I'm not mistaken, they only put some action in March 2020. I remember when I was working and they just announced that we would not be working for two weeks due to the spread of this virus, not expecting it to last several months, and then they fired me because the restaurant branch was permanently closed.

It's been a year since my sister tested positive for covid 19. It was her birthday when she contracted the tgr virus. She worked as a vendor in the hospital canteen, so it was expected that she would become infected. Because there was no vaccination prior to that year, 2021, the virus was contagious and spread widely throughout the country, infecting many people and killing many more.

It was during the day when my sister at work felt uneasy and as if she had a high fever. She was having trouble breathing as well, so her coworkers informed the boss of her predicament. Her boss works as a doctor at that hospital. They gave her an antigen test to see if she had covid. It came back positive, so they tested her again for covid 19 in the provincial lab to be sure. Because the antigen test is not 100 percent accurate, the real test is required. After they test her, the results will be available in 12 hours. They told my sister to stay at home for a while longer if there is no outcome. We ate together that night, and we won't mention anything about her getting infected, and as such we just let it go.

The results came out in the evening, while we were already in bed, and when I looked at the email, it said in the documents that she was positive in covid 19. My brother-in-law fixed the kubo kubo outside our house that night so that my sister could stay there for 14 days. Fortunately, they have agreed that my sister will remain isolated in our home rather than going to the barangay hall to stay.

We also need to go to provincial in the morning to get tested for covid 19 because we live in the same house and there is a chance that we will become infected as well. Certainly, we are not positive, so we are glad. The sad part is that my nephew wanted to hug and kiss his mother but was not allowed.

We are not permitted to speak or eat with my sister. We just saw her depart. My sister's birthday arrived, but we did not celebrate. We just got meryenda pizza and drinks. We stayed like that for a month after they told my sister to stay at home, even though the 14-day quarantine had already ended.

It is difficult to have a covid positive member of the family; we don't know if she will recover after the 14-day quarantine period is over. She is unable to taste anything. I remember one time when we had chicken meat and I forgot to add salt and stayed until afternoon, when we didn't have a refrigerator. I still cook it even though I know it's not good and has an unusual taste. My sister is the first to eat, and I ask her how it tastes. She said it was fine, but she had no idea how bad it tasted. Haha. That night, I didn't eat that dish.

Final Thoughts

My sister is now fine and feeling better. Thank goodness, she overcame that period and fought even though it was difficult. Covid 19 is not real until you have experienced it. My sister did not believe in the virus until she went through that phase. Now she believes, and she keeps herself safe at all times.

Thank you for reading!

Lead image from Unsplash.

Sponsors of joydigitalsolutions
empty
empty
empty

Thank you dear sponsors.

Publishing Date: May 28, 2022

8
$ 2.44
$ 2.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
+ 3
Sponsors of joydigitalsolutions
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for joydigitalsolutions
1 year ago

Comments

I suppose it must have been difficult for everyone at that time. I actually don't know any one close to me who had tested positive for COVID, so I can't say I understand how it felt.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ilang beses din akong naging direct contact pero di anman nag positve nakaka bahala yung Moneypox

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nag ka covid ako dati ate nung October 2021. At akala ko madedeads na ko. Haha. Pero ayun, naka survive and kicking pa rin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bad, bat pinakain mo pa sa ate mo hoy hahaha. I mean yong chemkin.

Anyways, mahirap talaga yang ganyan ee lalo may anak pa. Maigi nalang din at naging okay ate mo. Malakas resistensya nalabana nya yang mga virus na yaan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember nung nagkacovid dn yung sister ko and her family sa in-laws nya last year. Good thing nakapagpa booster shots na sila lahat at yung pamangkin kong 2y/o hindi nagpositive. Salamat sa bakuna. Mild symptoms lang sila lahat pero ang bilis makahawa, nung una indenial pa kami syempre pero a day apart lang nagkahawaan na sila doon tapos naka AC pa sila and closed yung bahay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

After second dose of covid vaccine ,I was sick and lahat na nararamadaman ko ay signs and symptoms ng covid.Siguro kapag pina swab ako ay for sure positive ako ,pati pamilya ko nahawa,asawa at anak grabe yung nangyari sa amin that time and napaisip ako at nagsisi kung bat nagpabakuna pa ako kasi yun talaga yung dahilan,marami din dito nagkasakit at napositive pagkatapos mabakunahan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've had symptoms of covid but I didn't report it to the health workers and I can recover at home in a few days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good thing you recover on your own.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I heard about the symptoms, though few people in my count had it and some didn't survive it, thank God your sister is okay now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. It's so sad to know that they didn't survive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I see a lot of people saying covid is not real. I don't blame them. It's because they haven't experienced it themselves

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really difficult to believe unless you experience it on your own.

$ 0.00
1 year ago