I want rain, but I should love the sun first.

5 45
Avatar for joow
Written by
2 years ago
Sponsors of joow
empty
empty
empty

I wish the rainy season will come. I miss smelling rain and wearing something thick and warm the whole day. I miss the sound of pitter patter on our roof and also the sound of frogs singing in the fields. I miss a lot of things during the rainy days, especially the long sleeps that I have in the night and morning.

I remember when I was still in highschool, I always hope that the rain will cancel out classes. That it would make my bed colder so I can have an excuse to hold my blanket closer to me.

When it's raining, mom always cooks chocolate rice, or hot chicken noodles with boiled eggs. The kitchen would smell of Mama's coffee and tv would be playing, showing the news for the day. It's like a special day even if it's just a normal morning, with still sleepy children sat around the table.

But sadly, it's not the rainy season yet. I think it's going to be summer first. I could actually feel the summer coming because I'm starting to sweat even at night. But It's weird though—the weather is hot but the clouds are always so grey, like it's going to rain. The sky looks grey from morning to afternoon but it doesn't even let out a single drop.

I think that's okay, so that we can have a shield from the hot sun. The clouds are grey and thick, the wind smells of rain but there is no rain. I would be disappointed if I have the mindset of my 17 year old self. But I am now 22, 5 years older, and I now know that I should be thankful that we have a cover above in the sky. Or else out skin will burn and out plants will wilt.

But, being thankful doesn't stop me from wishing of rain. If there's no rain, or even the smell of it or color of it, then I wish there'd be the look of it in the streets. Not wet pavement, but blurry air. I want the fog, the aura it brings to the city, like the whole place is haunted or mysterious. But I guess that's impossible too because the fog just comes when it's cold.

The fog comes at the end of the year and at the beginning of the year. The fog seems to be a special effect at moving on from the last year and moving forward to a new year. The fog, the mist, I want it. But it's summer so I really can't.

And so i am left with no choice but to enjoy the warmth these days offer. But to accept the yellow sun, the light wind, and the fact that summer has to arrive first before everything else I am wishing for. I should enjoy the plants looking so lively and not drowning in accumulated water rain. I should, savor the warm days before I let my fingers face the freezing cold.

I should just enjoy the sun first before the rain. And then, when the rain comes, I'll try to enjoy it a lot, and not wish for the sun to come back quick.


ENDING NOTES: This is my thought before going to sleep. It's because a while ago, the sky was grey but I could still feel the heat of the sun. It makes me want to shower in the rain. But just like what I said a while ago, no rain came. And I think another good thing a about it is that it made me write an article hahaha!


PREVIOUS ARTICLES

https://read.cash/@joow/i-just-want-to-go-home-and-escape-your-stares-89233b90

https://read.cash/@joow/have-you-reached-a-destination-now-6d6a448a

https://read.cash/@joow/it-might-sound-repetitive-but-i-want-it-d2da8ae1

https://read.cash/@joow/my-afternoon-saved-my-lonely-morning-3e98d82d

IMAGE SOURCES

Wet street

https://pin.it/5Aw3orG

Empty road

https://pin.it/3oyhrp5

Blooming tree

https://pin.it/1cdOHsI

Lead image

https://pin.it/2mZPpjP

6
$ 3.70
$ 3.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Unity
$ 0.02 from @Tilawat
+ 2
Sponsors of joow
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for joow
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I love rainy weather too. Btw, nice to meet you co-newbie haha. I like how aesthetic your lead image are. Goodluck to our journey here in read cash.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow thank you! I only got it from Pinterest hehehe

I stalked you, but I wasn't able to read an article yet, and I saw that you're also 22! We're the same age! And yeah, I hope we do well here : D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You need to enjoy every day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes you're right! But first, I need to learn to broaden my view of my day so I wouldn't dwell too long on the bad times hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I have this problem too

$ 0.00
2 years ago