When I was a teenager

22 26
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

I had fun writing my entry for the contest "When I was a kid", then @bmjc98 published her story about her teenage years.

Being a teenager isn't an easy phase to be in. There are peer pressures, fights and arguments with our parents, challenges in school, and all that stuff. But looking back, those complicated scenarios made it worth remembering and telling.

When I was a teenager I had my puppy love

Credit to Unsplash

Benjan was my best friend's cousin. I met him in the summer of 1994. I was 10. He was buying halo-halo when he accidentally touched my hand after returning my marble. He had "touch" at first sight with me.

He was so annoying. He would wait for me to arrive in our playground and kept on following me like a helpless puppy. I liked someone else already but he was persistent. He promised me that he will stop schooling in fifth grade and will transfer to my school.

I was cleaning our room's corridor one day and saw him and his Aunt (my first-grade adviser) passing by. My heart stopped beating and then beat rapidly.

"What is he doing here?", I asked myself.

He kept his promise. We graduated elementary together.

I had my first ever head injury

I was 12 and it was my best friend's sister's wedding. My gang was playing tag and I didn't want to join them. Why would I? I was wearing a sexy layered skirt. It was an important occasion and my crush was there.

But my cousin and playmate Erwin challenged me. He said, "Are you afraid to be "It"?". I said, "Why would I be afraid?". So I joined them and became "It". I was crossing the road and I saw a car coming, I ran too fast and unknowingly hit Janjan, Erwin's sister. I hit my head on the cemented road. It was painful and I saw the blood dripping from my head. A stone wounded my head and cut a little wound exposing my skull. It was a nightmare and everyone was suggesting to shave my head so they could find the wound. I found the wound's location and saved myself from getting bald.

I hit my coach's head with a ping pong racket

Photo from Unsplash

Now, this is probably one of my most embarrassing moments.

I was a table tennis athlete at 11 and it was a division meet. I was practicing ping pong- it was me against the wall. My weakness is "kill", I gotta hit the ball hard enough. My teacher was seated somewhere farther but I mistakenly hit the ball in her direction. I was sure that the ball was far from her head but I was wrong. I was using my backhand with full force and hit the back of her head so hard. Everyone gasped in terror I even heard someone shouting. I can't explain her facial expression that time. She seemed to be laughing but crying, ashamed of what I did to her. I wanted the ground to swallow me that very moment. I said "sorry" a lot of times and I almost wanted to quit the competition.

I loved listening to radio dramas

When I was 13, I lived with my grandma. We didn't have any TV nor cellphone so my means of entertainment was the radio. My favorite station was DYHP and my favorite drama was "Ruby Gallego Carreon". It was a love story and I just don't know why I feel giddy whenever I listen to it. Sadly, the main character's voice was changed and I got discouraged from listening to it. I was afraid of the 6:00 PM drama though titled "Ang babae sa Isla Asul" or "The woman in Asul Island" because it was scary. I would pretend to be a voice actress and mimic my favorite scenes in my favorite drama program lol.

I pretended to be my cousin from the USA and sent a letter to my crush

Photo from Unsplash

I was in second-year high school and a transferee. Who the heck won't have a crush on a cute and intelligent first honor? I was chubby during my high school days. He won't like me so I desperately used my close friend Rhiz's photo and covered its back with a bond paper to erase her dedication. I then wrote to him pretending to be my cousin, Nissa. "You have a crush on me?", he asked. "It's your penmanship!" he asserted. I was "deny to death" lol. I tried my hardest to fake my handwriting. Why would I admit it?

I wish I could see my facial expression that moment he interrogated me like a criminal lol. I didn't do it again, ever.

I had my first boyfriend at third-year high school

He was a transferee from a prominent school. Tall, lanky, and with a white complexion. As usual, I was not his first "target". He liked my classmate, the "Crush ng bayan", Rose. She had a fair complexion and a big "future". While I was well, chubby. She rejected him and so he placed his attention on me.

The lower years got a big crush on him. I didn't have to campaign for my candidacy as the secretary of the student council. He swept almost everyone's feet.

We had an argument and he sent me a love letter through our PE teacher (Yes, she was our "bridge"). Everything was perfect, except for his last statement that says, "Please give me another change". I was turned off. It was supposed to be "Please give me another chance". We only lasted for a month.

I never engaged in a romantic relationship after that.

I was a second lieutenant in our school's PMT (Philippine Military Training)- Bravo company

Photo from Unsplash

I may have been chubby but it didn't stop me from joining our school's military training.

I'd wake up at 4:00 AM. Our training starts with jogging at 5:oo AM ending at 6:00 AM. We had a wide oval so it was dreadful to jog while wearing the combat shoes. I used to memorize the 11 GO's (General Orders) by heart.

Then one of the student officers gave me ice water, I drank it thinking it was clean so I had amoebiasis.

It was memorable because our school became a refuge for war victims or an evacuation site. My heart bled whenever I hear stories of terror from mothers who've lost their sons and their friends. We never had our prom too because of security issues.

I badly wanted to go to PMA but my height was an issue. Guess what my height is (I think I never grew even an inch taller after high school).

I won first place in a science investigatory project

I was in 4th-year high school at that time when we won first place in the investigatory project. I was alone but was coached and mentored by the best Science teachers in school. My project was about a seed planter. The aim was to help our farmers plant mongo seeds more efficiently. I was happy and proud of myself. I also tasted the durian ice cream for the first time, my teacher bought some to celebrate our victory.

I was the only "chubby rose" among the thorns in our Electricity class

Photo from Unsplash

I chose Electricity as my elective. I didn't want Home Making, nor Entrepreneurship, or Fish Technology. I wanted something different, something exciting. And I was right. I had the coolest teacher in school.

Sir A would use different teaching methods that made our lectures fun. Building Wiring and Electricity wasn't an easy subject. It was a combination of theory and application. We had a lot of calculations and illustrations.

I learned first aid, how to draw a schematic diagram, how to splice a wire, how to fix some appliances, and how to draw a house plan. And he would teach my male classmates how to get a girl's attention.

I was always proud to be with my class whenever we needed to fix the electricity lines at school or if we needed to install the lights for some upcoming competitions.

Our teacher would ask me this every day, "Are you wearing shorts?". I had to because we are oftentimes called for wire and light installations and I can't do so if I only have my skirt and undies lol.

Our final project was a practical installation and wiring. I didn't know how to use the hammer so I always pound my fingers enduring the pain. I ended up having a grade of 89.

My schoolmates called me Shan Cai because my hair was as long as Barbie Hsu

Photo from Unsplash

Yes, you heard me right. My hair was as long as Shan Cai and everyone at school changed my nickname because of Meteor Garden. It was an advantage because I became popular but I never had my "Daong Mi Si" because I only wanted to focus on my studies. (Boring....)

****************************************************************

I wish I can go on and on but my baby cries from time to time so I had to be fast. And I do hope that I made you smile reading my story. I guess I had wild teenage years.

How about you? What were your unforgettable memories when you were a teenager?

****************************************************************

To my new visitors, subscribers, and co-authors THANK YOU VERY MUCH for your time, likes, upvotes, comments, and tips.

To my ever supportive and generous sponsors THANK YOU VERY MUCH as well. You can read their awesome articles just by clicking their pictures below:

Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty

Let's continue to thrive and support each other..

Have a great weekend mates, cheers!

-All images were taken from Unsplash but the contents are mine.

5
$ 2.81
$ 2.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

Haha very nice! Bet ko yung crush and love stories m haha. Sa akin boring tlga nung high school kaya puro aral-aral. XD

Also it's good to know you had such course. Not every female goes into such indeed. A distant aunt was an electrical engineer too but she said no way would she go up an electric pole. Haha. I don't know I think she works in the offices and does research. She even went to work in Japan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo makulay HS life ko hehe..Ang galing naman po ng tita mo :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Onga eh, astig siya hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Idol..Mahirap talaga electricity lalo na yung sa part na super technical na..dun ko narealize may trabaho na mga boys lang nakakainintdi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh i see...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah yung paano magwind and unwind ng motor, may schematic diagram yun eh hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Scientist ka pala, sis! Galing ah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehe nung elem at hayskul lang sis:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had a fun, memorable teenage life :) Interestingly, you even had a boyfriend at I'd guess, 15? Nice experiences you have had then :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

15 yes. It was a nice experience having someone na guapo. His surname is Comedia, so I guess he was not serious with me lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, lagyan mo ng n sa huli and yes, probably.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha oo nga po. As far as I know wala pa rin syang gf til now. Di ata nakamove on saken :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! Inaantay ka nya :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naubos na yata ang lakas ng loob ng niligawan ako..char

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Katulad po ng iba mahilig din ako makinig ng radyo noon, yung lolo at lola ko din po kase sila talaga ng mahilig magradyo nagaya lang kami ng kapatid wala pa rin po kaming TV noon. Drama rin po ang lagi nilang pinapakinggan at pati kami iyun na rin ang laging pinapakinggan imbes na music.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Drama in radio was also my favorite entertainment before, everyday I waited for it, its a good thing that the radio drama time sakto for the siesta time..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah it's my alarm clock. I know it when I am late in school when a drama called "Handumanan sa Usa ka Awit" starts. It means "A remembrance of a song" or something like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe you can electrify us with your long hair :D

The ping pong incident brought back memory about a church pastor who I accidentally hit with a stone. Me and some kids were playing on the school ground, kicking stones that were scattered there. At one point, I kicked one so hard that it went under the owner-type jeep that to my horror the pastor was under it fixing whatever. I froze there in fear when I realized that and so much more when he came out under it. He was a towering figure and I was in grade 2 or 3 I think so miniscule me. I can never forget his face and how angry he was. I can see the red mark in the middle of the his forehead where the stone hit him which became more red because of his anger and more so as he approached me and confronted me about it. I couldn't talk. I couldn't move. I don't remember what happened after. I thought he would hit me. Unfortunately, that face of his stayed with me all these years and looking back, it's like the devil showed his face that day through him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know how you feel lol..I still can remember how she looked until now. Good thing she did not fail me when she became my subject teacher hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Good for you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, when we have a disadvantage we have to fight harder and apply better strategies, apparently you achieved what you wanted although for a short time. At what age did you become a lieutenant, here military service is not compulsory and is done from the age of 18. My story of those school years were fun, although I only remember some faces and names at the moment.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was just a military training in high school :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago