Ngotngot!!

21 18
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

That's what my ate would call me every time she's annoyed at me when I leave the house to either play with my friends in the neighborhood or go to the beach with them.

"All you do is play, hang out with your friends. Why don't you help with the household chores? That will make us very happy! I just don't know why you are so lazy", my eldest sister desperately said.

But I didn't want to listen!

"You are like Juan Tamad!", she added...

If you don't know who he is, he was a guy who would wait for a guava fruit to fall while his mouth is widely opened. His story is a part of Filipino culture.

The nerve of my sister comparing me to him but it's true, I really was lazy.

When I was in elementary, I won't take a bath unless my sisters boil water for me. Waking up at 4:30 or 5:00 AM is too cold. They had to wake up early to do it and bathe me. Yup, my ate would sermon me while cleaning my body. I don't even fix our bed after waking up. It couldn't find any happiness to do it, we'll go back to sleep on it anyways. They say I am like a snake leaving my skin behind and then getting back to it.

And I didn't wanna sweep our wide ground. I could only imagine my sister's anger upon seeing the Kaimito or starfruit leaves. "Ngotngoott!! I told you to sweep all the leaves, the surrounding looks so dirty!". "It's still early, if I sweep right now they'll just pile up. I will do it before the sun sets", I told ate while walking towards the door.

I am the youngest and I felt so privileged to just be lazy. And I was a papa's girl, I was untouchable.

"Look at your cousin April, she already knows how to take care of her siblings. She even laundries their clothes, iron them and wash the dishes. And you? You don't know anything! Your dirty clothes are all begging for soap and water. Be like your cousin", sermoned Lola Pinas.

So I took our dirty clothes and rinse them thrice. I didn't know if it has to be soaped and soaked, or brushed. I proudly hang them under the sun.

"Ngotngottt! What did you do?", my ate's blood pressure was almost out of control. "I thought Lola wanted me to be like April?", I replied. "The clothes are still stinky!", ate desperately responded. "I did what I thought was right", I sadly said.

Then one day, "Glaiza, can you go to your uncle's house and turn the light on?", Papa ordered. I didn't listen and pretended to sleep until I heard him fighting with my uncle because of the light. It was so bad that they almost killed each other because of my laziness.

"Dear Ma'am I am sorry if I am absent because I have a stomach ache"...Then a headache, toothache, and all the other aches I could use as an excuse. I didn't wanna go to school because I didn't have shoes, I wanted to watch my favorite Julio at Julia, or I just wanna climb the guava tree, eat its fruit and just kill the time.

I don't wanna defend my attitude when I was younger. But I learned a lot from my laziness. I changed as the years gone by. I just wished I knew how to properly do the household chores just like how my Spanish great-grandma Julia did. But I believe I am doing my best by remembering what I've observed from her and my sisters.

Thanks for reading my friends!

This is my entry for this week's prompt which is laziness. Should you wanna join the fun, remember to:

  1. Write anything on laziness

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Tag @JonicaBradley

  4. The longer your article is, the more likely you will get attention from Rusty. I suggest 600 words at a minimum.

  5. Submit to PromptlyJonica (please join if you haven't already)

  6. Have fun!

Were you lazy when you were a kid? Do you think laziness is bad? Leave your comments below and let's have a chat!

To my sponsors old and new: thank you very much, I owe you one!

©Ngotngot, the fyrfinex 🔥🐦

October 16, 2021

The lead image was from Unsplash.

The rest of the content is mine unless stated otherwise.

4
$ 1.30
$ 1.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

It's funny how you tell this, hehe. You were a lazy girl. Or maybe you were a little spoiled by being the youngest.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was both my friend lol :) Sorry for the late response. Lost the internet and too many notifs hehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't be sorry, hehe My notifs are on fire too. Have a nice weekend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha, ngotngot!!! You really made me laugh with this. You rinsing the clothes and just hanging them. I can only imagine the frustration of your sister hehehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe galit talaga sya sis kasi walang sabon sabon ang mga nakasampay hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, kakatawa lang imaginin :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung ilong na halos umuusok na sa galit sis at nanlilisik na mata heheheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaha i can imagine that look :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung proud ka dahil naglaba ka, wste nagbanlaw lang pala ng marumi pang damit.. Tapos pinagalitan ka lang din sa huli.. Hehehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehee akala ko kasi tama yung ginawa ko sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

truth..ahaha...mga bata pa ngang walang kaalam alam noh...parang ako nung first time nagprito ng isda :)...saglit lang sa kawali tapos kuha agad. Di ko alam na hihintaying pala dapat mag golden brown yung kulay...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaha naalala ko tuloy first time ko nagluto ng rice..Sunog na hilaw hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay danas ko din yan.. Sunog ang ilalaim, hilaw ang gitna, malata or malambot ang ibabaw..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe umiyak nga ako sis kasi akala ko papagalitan ako ng mga ate ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay talaga sis? Ako kasi oanganay kaya walang mag scold sa akin na mga ate or kuya.. Hehhe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikaw pala ang boss sis :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku.. Mas voss ang mga kapatidbko saken sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were really lazy, you didn't do anything, haha, neither did I, ;), I loved to play, I never ate on time, but school homework was another thing, you had to do it on time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I didn't like going to school during my younger years really.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I just say hi first ngotngot heheh. I'm baby and were probably the same heheh, the youngest, the privileged ones. And yeah I always get scolded by my ate when we were younger up till now hahah. And I liked how you got offended when compared to Juan Tamad yet acknowledged it at the end haha. Also I didn't realize that this week has a new prompt if it wasn't for you so thank you big sis.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Glad that you are a "bunso" like me :D You are welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago