My world, the world has changed.

6 14
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago
October 19, 2021

I have published an article in honor of my Mom more than a week ago. Luckily, I got a friend who helped me go home to see her for the last time. I never thought that I was good enough to deserve that kind of help.

I never went home 4 years after I got my daughter and the last time I told my mom before we leave was "Don't cry". I didn't want to see her cry because I know we would be back. But yeah, I returned to see her wake and bury her.

So I made some preparations before going home to Iligan City.

Changes in traveling

I easily booked a plane ticket via Cebupacific and paid through Gcash. I had to also have my antigen swab test to make sure I am not a carrier so I went to the clinic on the 5th and paid 960 pesos. It only took 30-45 minutes to get the result. It was negative. I felt relieved. I then went to the Barangay Hall and declared I am going to travel. I got their phone number so I can call them when I am to return to Manila.

I was afraid that I might be positive with Covid because I had a headache, sore throat, and runny nose because I cried. My mother-in-law was worried because I am going to travel and I might get infected somewhere in-between especially on the plane. But do you know that the plane is considered to be one of the safest places because of its filtering system? The HEPA filters remove 99.9% of bacteria, viruses, etc. and you have your mask and face shield, virus transmission is almost impossible. But due to the WHO mandate, passengers are still required to follow minimum health protocols.

My daughter didn't really sleep the whole time on the 5th of October so I was so tired and I had to travel to Mindanao, wow. Thanks to Biogesic and Vitamin C, I had extra energy.

On the 6th of October at 7:00 AM, my dad-in-law and eldest Bam drove me to the nearest taxi terminal. I felt awkward because it was my first time in a taxi after 2 years. It was covered in plastic. And of course, I took my first taxi pandemic selfie.

Tired, heartbroken, and sleepy

Caloocan is far from Terminal 3, I was praying that the traffic jam won't be that bad because I didn't wanna pay 1K for the taxi. Good thing, it was only 635 but I gave 800 to the driver. I know life is hard for all of us, but I just wanna make it a little easier for him.

And when I arrived at the airport, I was carrying an infant seat for my granddaughter. I was advised to check it in, the passengers are only allowed 1 hand carry so I paid 1k for the baggage fee. What a pain!

My smartphone wasn't very cooperative too, I couldn't open the s-pass.ph website. Since I will land at Laguindingan airport but go to Iligan, the CDO LGU required an s-pass. And the Iligan LGU required a travel clearance. The documents needed were negative rapid or antigen test results, a vaccination card, ID, and a plane ticket before they issued the clearance. I asked for assistance from the Info Desk and voila, got my s-pass.

S=pass

While waiting for the flight, I ate Arroz Caldo because I was already famished. And then, I took my second pandemic selfie in the airport.

Terminal 3

Everyone's trying to act like everything is normal but it really wasn't. But we, Filipinos, are resilient. We are good at handling difficult challenges.

After an hour, we were then called to board the plane. I was excited and sad at the same time. I do feel thankful for the help of my friends and family members, especially the financial part because it made going home possible with fewer hassles.

My ticket

There were only limited services on the plane to avoid infection. There was no selling of snacks and everybody was required to bring their own liter. While on the plane, I took my third pandemic selfie.

We landed at 1:55 PM in Laguindingan International Airport. I had my lunch at Dunkin' Donuts and then chose a van to Iligan. I was annoyed because a man took his mask off while in the van, perhaps I was so paranoid about getting the virus. I just couldn't imagine giving it to my family members. No freaking way.

My world has changed

IWhen I arrived at my sister's house, I inhaled steamed water with salt. Then rested for a while before going to my mother's wake. It was so painful seeing her in the coffin. I felt she didn't want me to see her that way.

Oh my, I'm gonna miss you a lot Mama. I could still hear you in my thoughts singing "You Made Me Live Again". You had a powerful and beautiful voice that's why you were devastated when you had a stroke and couldn't sing anymore. Singing was your passion, your happiness.

But I know you're already pain-free and happier wherever you may be. You can now sing your heart out.

Wakes and burials have changed

Before wakes were full of noisy people and you could see them playing card or board games until wee hours. Not during the pandemic because the people are cautious about the situation.

I was wearing a mask the whole time, even if there were only a few people. I didn't wanna let my guard down. I talked to some of the visitors especially my Mama's friends and my cousins, I sang songs with my nephew and attended the worship for my mother until I became so tired. My sister and I then checked in to a lodge somewhere with our granddaughter, Pixie.

She was peacefully sleeping while I was preparing to sleep

Goodbye Ma, and thank you, friends and family

On the 7th of October at 11:00 AM, we buried our Mama. I didn't have the guts to take videos and photos. It was just so heartbreaking for me. I didn't even look at her for the last time before she was buried. I wanna remember her beautiful face forever.

After the burial, we had lunch at my elder sister's house. I called the Caloocan LGU advising them of my return. And then I went to my aunt's place to take care of some family issues. She gave me shoes for my kids and myself. And my cousins, Aunt, and grandma brought me to the airport for my flight at 4:20 PM. My cousin tempted me to have a stopover at the beach near the airport because I complained about not being on a beach for years.

CDO Airport selfie

I arrived at the airport and had a snack, then I took my 4th pandemic selfie at Laguindingan International Airport while waiting to board the plane. I arrived in Manila at 6:00 PM, had diner at Windy's inside Terminal 3, and waited for a grab. Goodness, the fare was more than 1K PHP. But I was glad that I had experienced the Skyway.

I arrived home almost 9:00 PM, inhaled steamed water with salt, took a bath, and stayed in my daughter's room for quarantine. I never felt so tired and sleepy that I doze off for 10 hours straight. I then went to a nearby clinic for my second antigen swab test and was relieved that I am still negative.

I'm ending this article with a quote "The best place to cry is on a mother’s arms.” —Jodi Picoult

Saying goodbye to my mother still hurts me and I think I'm gonna carry this pain until my last breath. Please cherish and take care of your parents.

Are your parents still alive? What's your special memory with either your father or your mother? Let's have a little chat.

To my sponsors old and new: thank you very much, I owe you one! 🙏🙏

Dear friends: all your likes, subscriptions, and upvotes are greatly appreciated ❤️❤️

Thanks for your time and I hope you won't get tired of reading my articles.

©Ngotngot, the fyrfinex 🔥🐦

All images are mine unless stated otherwise.



3
$ 0.49
$ 0.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

Condolences sis...Keep safe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When these situations happen to us our world changes in an instant, we have no choice but to adapt because our world will not be the same as before, something important will always be missing. I pray that you recover soon and can continue as before, although I know it will not be easy. Good day to you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that is so sad you are still facing COVID 19 attacks. Here is no Corona and everyone got vaccine. This is too hard to wear such a mask and than travel. Am i right? I am just assuming because i never put or wear such a mask.
Best solution is that get vaccine, and move freely. I hope you guys get rid of crona soon and enjoy your natural life. Stay inside and take care of your family especially your mom and Yourself too. Good night. :))

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend. Where you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago