If I were my Papa

18 18
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

August 29, 2021, at 12:13 AM

The month is almost over and I still haven't finished writing an article to honor my dad. His death anniversary was on August 14. I was too preoccupied with Saoirse's 13th month's celebration (We only had ice cream).

My parents met when my Mama was 16 and my Papa was, I think 24. It was a whirlwind romance. I am pretty sure it wasn't built in the foundation of love, trust, and friendship because most of my childhood memories about them were all about fighting.

Given the chance to be in my father's shoes, here are things that I could have done:

Not marry my mama

It's not that I didn't want him to be happy. He should have asked himself whether he wanted to raise a family, not just marry out of obligation. They could have lived together first and figured out whether they are compatible or not. Then arranged joint custody if they weren't amicable. It could have saved them from hurting themselves. (If he married her because of love, things could have been different.)

I'd go back to Jordan

My papa was a class A welder. He went to Jordan to work and became the breadwinner of his family. When he came home to the Philippines in 1984, he was introduced to gambling and drinking by his friends. He got addicted to the vices. If he thought of our future, he could have returned abroad.

I will spend time with my daughters

My father wanted a boy, that's why he was so excited when my mama was pregnant with me. My name could have been Artagnan if I were a boy. He still named me though and I became his favorite daughter. But he didn't spend a lot of time with us. He spent it with his friends. But we did have some bonding moments:

My papa and I went to the city. I was 6 or 7. He got so pissed off because I kept on asking him to buy all the goodies I see on the street. He said, "I wish I didn't tag you along". In the end, he bought me a pair of sneakers.

I was 10. We went to the parlor, it was actually just a neighbor's house. The stylist asked me what hairstyle I'd love to have. I answered, "One length". I wanted to look good because school's gonna open soon. I was horrified because she kept on cutting my hair until it was too short.

I just made a research about "Coconut bob". It's the kind of cut she gave me. I thought I was just making it up when I said I looked like a coconut! I cried when we arrived home and blamed my papa. He was laughing at me, to my annoyance.

Coconut bob-credits to Photodetective

I do believe he tried his hardest to become our father. It may not be what he wanted to do. But despite his imperfections, I had a papa who:

  1. Protected us every time someone wanted to bully us

  2. Gave me a portion of his salary, especially when I was in college

  3. Knew how to play guitar and taught me how to do so

  4. Called me "Plangging and nak nak"

  5. Planted trees whenever he goes to his lot. We did see the fruit of his labor.

  6. Was always proud of me (I'm the favorite, sorry sisters).

  7. Was a good cook. I wish he taught me all he knew about cooking.

I didn't see my papa until his last breath. I was here in Manila trying to find a good job so I could support his medications. I do think he spent his life according to his will, whatever the result of those actions may be.

To the "Leader of the Band", thanks for bringing some "rock n' roll" into our lives Papa. This one's for you.

***************************************************************

I am not bitter that my Papa wasn't the father I wanted to be, but I am thankful that I existed because of him.

How about you, do you have the best dad? What were the greatest lessons you learned from your father? Any unforgettable moments? Comment down below and let's have a chat.

***************************************************************

To my visitors, thanks for your time in checking my page. I highly recommend you have a look at my sponsors' profiles and read their stories. Be inspired and learn.

Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty

To my generous and kind sponsors: thank you very much as always for the support and advice.

**Coconut bob pic was from Photodetective

**Lead image was from Unsplash.com

**The rest of the content is mine

6
$ 2.41
$ 2.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 1
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

My father is a funny man. He always makes jokes that keeps the family laughing. He works multiple jobs to support us. We're really lucky to have him. Well he has flaws like his anger issues but still we know how blessed we are to have a dad that's faithful to our mom and works hard for us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our dads may not be perfect but they do what they can. I have high respects to those who are responsible parents who do not take advantage of their kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess he wasn't really ready to have a family, nadala lang but he did his best :) I appreciate your upvotes always po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nak-nak is a cute way to call your daughter imma save it for future references hahahaha. First I wanna say sorry for your loss. Though he have some problem in his hobbies he still try to become a good dad. And I know he's proud of you right now

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the sympathy. I do wish he is proud :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh i remember my papa would also call me "nak-nak". Miss him so much though he was not on our side because he work in the city and we are on the province.

I can relate to that haircut of yours, when I was a kinder my grandmother did it to me and when I went to school, my classmates are all laughing at me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

See, it wasn't a good haircut lol. I admire your dad :) You lucky kid!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely not a good haircut😂😂

Yeah, I'm lucky to have my dad with me until today though I don't have many memories with him when I was young I am still proud of him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Was he that busy?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, If I recall he would just go home once or twice a year, or if he can't we would be the ones to go to the city and stayed there for a week or two during our vacation period.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see, I hope you still had a happy childhood with your family as a whole despite not having a lot of those with your dad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I did have lots of memories with my grandmother and my siblings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good enough :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've also experienced that kind of haircut when I was 5 years old, I've seen my photos. My father isn't perfect he has his own flaws and imperfections but still he is the best father for me. I am grateful of the hardwork and dedication he puts into his work to give us a better education and a comfortable life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lucky girl! Having that haircut at 5 isn't that bad. But at 10? I already have a crush lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First let me LOL for that coconut bob hihihi. I just can't contain my giggles. I had that kind of haircut too way, way back. I admire your dad for doing what he did for you and your sisters though they he wasted his life away thru alcohol and gambling. You had great memories of him❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sis, that haircut was a total nightmare for me. I couldn't stop crying for a day because of that. Good thing may headband na dati so natago ko yung bang ko. I wish I asked him to teach me how to use the gun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I can imagine. Although mine was longer, only the bangs was shortened

$ 0.00
2 years ago