Dreams and superstitions in the Philippines

37 22
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Sept. 5, 2021

I spent a quite lovely time with my loved ones today. We should go back to making Sunday a family day again. I kind of miss bonding with my partner and my eldest. And I wanted to go offline but I got excited about this week's prompt so here I am sharing another story with you.

The Philippines is one of the most superstitious countries in the world. I think this is mainly because of the Spanish influence after the colonization. Superstitions are already part of our culture despite innovations and advanced technology.

Dreams are believed to be the gateway of reality and they are always attached to superstitions. Filipinos love interpreting dreams. If you go to Quiapo, you will see a lot of madams. They won't only interpret your dreams, you will also know about your future.

I do have some dreams that I could clearly remember, here are some of those:

My strange dreams

  • I was 9 and was battling with my life due to dengue fever. When I was sleeping, I saw my mother in the market buying oranges for me. I was wondering why I was looking at her from above. Then I saw a road leading to the sky, there were bright lights beside it but the rest of the background was dark. And I was alone.

  • It was between 2010-2011 when I dreamt of my mother's mom. She looked so radiant and was crying with happiness. I saw her unite with a cousin who died in 2007 (the soldier who was killed by the terrorists). I was shocked because she's alive and the other one's dead. I called my mama and told her about my dream. My grandmother died after 3 days. I guess it was a sign that she's going to pass away.

  • Sometimes 2013 or 2014. I saw my grandmother Gloria in my dreams. She was met by my father. I was wondering why it's happening because my grandma is still alive but she's seeing my dead papa. Then my aunt confessed that my grandma Gloria had stage 4 cancer. Grandma was in the ICU for 24 hours after the operation. I knew they kept a secret from me but my dreams revealed what it was.

Here are a few dreams and their meanings according to our superstitions:

A boat/ship- It means the death of a loved or close friend. I actually saw it in my dream and when I told my mother, she scolded me. She said I should have knocked on anything wood or bitten it like a pillar of the house or a bed's headboard to reverse the omen. I am not sure if it's true. A few months after that, we received a piece of news that my cousin (who was a solder) died on his duty.

Water- Like the sea or ocean. It is interpreted as a relationship. When the water is deep, it's a deep relationship. When it is clear or murky, it represents the type of relationship you have with your parent or your partner. Its smoothness or turbulence states the condition of your relationship.

Falling teeth/tooth- It means someone in the family or relatives is going to die. So if one dreams about it, you have to wake up right away and bite a piece of wood. Just don't chew and swallow the piece of wood.

Flying-It means that you have a high dream or aspirations. If you fall while flying it means that you might fail from achieving a dream or a goal.

Death or dying- Dreaming that you died isn't a bad one. It means change is coming or is already happening. It is the start of something new.

How about you? Do you know what your dreams mean? Did you experience strange dreams that came true or a dream that is too real that you never wanna wake up? Share your story by commenting below!

This is my entry for this week's writing prompt Dreams. If you would like to participate, these are the rules:

  1. Write anything on Dreams

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words to please Rusty

  4. Join and submit your stories to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!

To my visitors, co-writers, especially the newbies, do visit my sponsors' page and be awed by their stories.

TO MY SPONSORS, I LOOK UP TO YOU GUYS. THANK YOU FOR THE SUPPORT!

Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty

Credits to Unsplash.com for the images.

I'm gonna sign off early. You will hear from me tomorrow.

Sweet dreams, good night!

8
$ 3.85
$ 3.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

My dreams are often about chatting with my relatives who already passed away. I don't know why as well. They all look so real in my dreams. As if I am teleporting back to the days that they are still alive and I am still a student. I often wore school uniforms as well in my dreams.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think there was something important why you kept on dreaming it. Baka may incident that you cannot move on yet?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sure as well yet, but I can't think of any.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dreams are mostly weird😭 like you, I dream of someone's dying. And never ko sinabi sa iba. Sabi nga nila, you need to tell it to any wood esp. woods at your house. Ohmy, para akong tanga pag ganon djk lang po ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know that when you see a ship or boat in your dreams it means death, this is the first time I read about that po. And some of the superstitions that are mentions above are already known by me for I was told that by my grandparents. They also said that bite a wood if you dream about something bad and ofcourse i probably do that po because I believe to them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am not sure where that interpretation originated but some of my dreams came true when I dreamt about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh maybe totoo nga po sya. Wala pa po kaseng nakapagkwento ng tungkol sa ganyan sa akin eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung lola ko kasi mestiza Spanish daming alam hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah kaya naman po pala. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my first time to know about those dream superstitions here in the country hehe. Your dreams that came true were mostly about death...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sis, and I told my partner I think I used to be the angel of death kasi I usually bring bad news :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, it's perhaps premonition, and you didn't know any better then, and of course, none of it was your fault. I have a cousin who saw someone dying in her dream. A few days after, that person in her dream passed away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sis, naging medium ako at yung cousin mo para siguro maging mas maingat ang mga mahal sa buhay or para ihanda.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ganon nga siguro sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered last year a couple of days before our house burned down, I told to my partner about my dream and it involved a fire. I can't recall the details. My partner reminded me of that dream that I forgot. I did tell him at that time but no idea about the details.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some dreams are an omen. Glad nothing bad happened to you both.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Our family home burned down to the ground though but thank goodness no one was hurt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What caused the fire? Though it's sad that it was burn to the ground, it's a blessing that everyone was safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hardly remember what I dream. But when I was little, I remember been told when you had a bad dream or a nightmare, you had to share it with someone, so the dream didn't come true.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, that's true. I was told to change the sides of the pillows to sleep on when I told my mother about a bad dream.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you still do that? I mean sharing your bad dreams?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes I do so it will stop or not happen. Last night I dreamt about getting lost and I went out from a place because the people were not wearing masks lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, I do it if I have a bad dream ;) LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe share the scare lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never have a good dream in my whole life... Only nightmares and weird ones that I can't remember clearly now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Some dreams are meant to be forgotten or never to be remembered. Just a slice of it, maybe. They say you can remember only 20-50% (hahaha sorry I do not exactly know) your dreams or nightmares. (just some) mostly, you can clearly remember those bad ones. Because that are the events do you do not want to happen. So the brain saves it😅 kidding. Anyways, maybe you are stress @sponked? I hope you'll have good dreams.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree on this one :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really hope the nightmares won't come to reality. Thanks for the kind words and the infos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am hoping for a better or good ddreams for you sponked. Don't take those infos seriously 😅✌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why do you always have nightmares?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not always nightmares, it's just that when I have a dream, it's either really weird, or really bad...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try to tell yourself that it's just a dream everytime you have a bad one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe you did have good dreams but you just couldn't remember :) I can hardly remember my dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really hope so. Nowadays I just wish to not dream so I won't have nightmares though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's understandable. I wouldn't want to keep dreaming too if that's the case.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe you were too tired to remember your dreams heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago