Customer Service is my language

21 39
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

"Hello, my name is...How can I help you today?"...

Everyone thinks that customer service is just all about answering the phone with a one-line verbatim. It's not true. Customer service is everywhere, a lot of people are just unaware of it until the emergence of the BPO companies and the evolution of the business industry.

I've been a call center agent for almost 10 years. I went from a non-voice agent to a voice. It was such an enriching and unique learning experience. Although some of my accounts were difficult, I didn't surrender because helping people is my passion.

How do we define customer service?

Credit to Unsplash.com

The term "customer service" has been changed to "customer experience". Customer service is providing great service to customers following the company's guidelines. While customer experience is creating a positive and efficient customer experience.

What do we need to do to provide good customer service or experience?

  1. Get to know thy customer- This is what we called "profiling". Depending on what product or service you have, the type of response that you give makes an impact on the customer. For example, you speak too fast to an old woman who has hearing problems, and then you send a survey after the call ended. Do you think you'll get a positive rating?

  2. Avoid technical terms or jargon-Use layman terms in explaining the issue to the customer. Don't use terms and acronyms that only your account or team knows. Avoid confusing your customers, they might end up being upset instead of being happy and satisfied.

  3. Be authentic and be professional-Your listeners know if you are "real" or not. Smile when you speak on the phone, it makes a big difference because you'll sound friendly and professional.

    Stop saying "I sincerely apologize, or "I'm so sorry" over and over again. We, Filipino, always over apologize. A sincere apology is enough.

  4. Actively listen- It's different from just mere listening. Listen with the intent to help, to resolve the concern. Do not assume. When someone becomes too familiar with the process, he/she already assumes what the customer is calling about without hearing the customer first. This is wrong. Over speculation often leads to customer frustration, dissatisfaction, and escalation.

  5. Remove "noises"-There are 2 types of noises: internal and external. Internal noises are your worries, doubts, fears, or any other emotions that hinder you from listening properly. While external noises are background noises like people talking in the background, loud music, car horns, etc.

  6. Respect the customer's time- Make a "temp" check with your customer. Aside from checking what mood they are in, get a "feeling" whether they are in a hurry or not. Stop prolonging the call. If there is a need to call them back, make sure it is between 9:00 AM-8:00 PM, or within office hours. After-hours calls are prohibited in some countries like Australia. If you want to avoid an ombudsman complaint, know when is the right time to call.

  7. Learn some idioms/know how to respond appropriately- I know idioms are so academic and boring but they do come in handy. Learn to respond appropriately to idioms. Read books, broaden your knowledge. A customer loves a smart conversation.

Credit to Unsplash.com

Here are funny stories of some calls that I recollect:

  1. -Customer: "Thanks for resolving my concern. I'm a happy camper!".

    Agent: "Oh, where are you going camping, sir?".

    -Angry customer: "I don't want to talk to you, I want to talk to the highest authority".

    Agent: "Ma'am, the highest authority is "God". (Not sure if she was being sarcastic or not.)

    -Angry customer: "Your company sucks, f*** you (repeats multiple times)

    Agent: "Sir, stop f****ng me, or I might be forced to end this call".

****************************************************************

Customer service can be: opening the door with a smile, sending a parcel on time, a professional email, etc. It doesn't start and end with someone who answers the phone.

Do you have an unforgettable positive or bad customer experience? What happened and how was it resolved?

And I do hope everyone is safe and sound on this cold Sunday night. I'm gonna go downstairs and have a sip of my hot chocolate drink ☕

To my visitors and co-authors, I value your time, comments, feedback, and suggestions.

If you are looking for inspiring and creative stories, kindly drop by on these beautiful people's pages:

Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty

I LOVE YOU, MY SPONSORS. THANK YOU AS ALWAYS.

And I hope it's okay to send a second entry to the 13th writing prompt #Language by @JonicaBradley and @TengoLoTodo ..Thanks a lot.

Have a great weekend, cheers mate!

**All images were from Unsplash.com

**The rest of the content is mine

8
$ 6.37
$ 5.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JonicaBradley
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 5
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

What a hilarious sample of the conversation lol! Indeed the highest authority is God and it is the truth not sarcasm, but still funny lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah we tried so hard not to laugh when it was narrated by my TL. I miss working in the BPO, daming bloopers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ten years' worth of experience is shown in the 7 points you brought up above. I've gotten some bad experiences with customer service these past few years. Whenever we have an internet problem, the CS can't give any explanation and instead just give us our case number every time we called and then say they're doing it as fast as they could. The moment I change the internet service provider, all my problems go away!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The CS teams here are not that trained enough compared to international BPO accounts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very informative to those aspiring call center agent..

Hahaha natawa ako doon sa camper hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah andaming mga bloopers sa BPO sis kung alam mo lang..Thanks for the upvote :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really should work in customer service so we can have experience in how to deal with other people and hopefully we can learn to treat each other better. I can't remember any experience that made an impact in me. I guess it was all routine what I did then.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I totally agree :) Grabe English 101 naman ang sagot ni sir, joke lang..I know it when a CSR is genuine or not in helping me out and some cust serv here in Pinas sucks but it can be fixed I guess. Thanks for the upvote :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ngek haha! Galing mo din naman sa english 101 ei :D Genuine or not, treat them all equally with kindness :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree and thank you for the reminder. Sa tagal ko sa BPO alam ko na kung paano sila paikutin hehe I try to be kind as much as I can :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I bet you had more awesome years within those 10 years sis. This reminds me of the movie "The other end of the line"hehe. And also reminded me of a horrendous experience with *171 hotline, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, sis I had a lot of fun being in the BPO industry. I learned so much talaga. Hmm some cust serve here in Pinas really sucks, they will put you on hold for too long until you give up hehe..Thanks for the upvote :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe you did or you wouldn't have stayed in it for 10 years☺.

Ahh truth! Many bad experiences o cust service in the country. Not all though because some would go the extra mile to help you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great read and well done you for ten years. As with any job there is good and not so good, same with customer service agent. Your call recollections made me smile, I am a happy camper after reading this!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe where are you going to camp, sir? Yes, po I agree and in the BPO that's the work of the Training Team, to mould and prepare their cust serve trainees for the account. Thank you po for the upvote :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right, and customer service is much more than just answering a call. I find it interesting that you approach the language prompt from this perspective. Nice to read!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just had the "eureka" moment and I wanted to share :) I loved customer service and will always will :) Thanks for the upvote :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like that you feel enthusiastic about your work! You are welcome! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always ok to write on any of the prompts any time as many times as you want forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I am so glad that we could do that :) Thanks for the upvote :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago