My Sister Sent an Informative Screenshot

28 63
Avatar for itsmeCguro
1 year ago

Haloo! Welcome back to my parenting by eldest sister, C series. Lol. I had another circumstance where I used my parenting skills as the eldest in the family.

It happened yesterday, when my youngest sister went home after playing outside the house for more than two hours. It's school break. Usually it's summer at the end of a school year but since there are changes in their academic calendar, their break started last month. My parents don't usually allow my youngest sister to go outside and play with other kids because they're worried that she might got sick from playing with street kids. They're like that ever since. I'm just glad me and my younger sister, the middle child, were rebellious back then haha we used to sneak out when my parents weren't around, we were able to experience playing outside and got bruises too!

Anyway, since everything has changed when my youngest sister was born, I became a part of parenting her. Since last month, we gave her a chance to mingle with other kids inside our property, meaning they can play only within our residential gate. After eating her lunch, she'd take a bath, wear her watch then she'll tell me when she's ready to go out. She always make sure to bring her watch with her so she'll be aware of the time. She can only play outside until 5pm. She usually go out around 2pm, so she has at least 3 hours to play around.

We do allowed her to do that because we refrain her from using her phone, her tablet, and her laptop as much as possible. Since she's been using those gadgets for like two years already because of online class set-up.

She went back at 5pm yesterday, together with her friend. They went inside the house to play once again. My father, after seeing them ready to play once more, told them to stop playing and be back again tomorrow because it's already 5pm.

My sister, who's really into playing that time, gets her phone and began rushing to the bedroom. I witnessed everything as I eat my snack in the kitchen. My younger sister, the middle child, asked me why our youngest is frowning. I told her the whole situation.

After eating my snack, I hurried to the bedroom to see what our youngest is doing. When we say NO to kids, it's appropriate to explain why we said no. Oftentimes, they misunderstand our intentions to the point that they'd hold grudges.

When I was about to talk to her, she sent a message in our group chat that somehow made me amazed and laugh at the same time, although I didn't let my sister see that I'm laughing inside.

She sent an informative screenshot in our group chat, together with the question Do you know how important is playing for a child?

I was amazed for the reason that she knows her right and that she can search for something like this on the internet but I'm also terrified of the thought that she can search anything she wants to learn, even the inappropriate ones, so we should be aware of what she does using her phone.

I waited for a while for my parents to do something but they didn't bat an eye. They're busy attending to their personal stuff. Again, it's my duty as the eldest to do something, or else, my youngest sister might hold it against my parents as she grows.

I explained to her the reason why our father said no awhile ago. We didn't refrain her from playing. In fact, we love to see her play without using her gadgets. I appreciate the fact that she's right on how important the role of playing is for kids but everything must have a limit, or else, there'd be chaos. I cited examples so she can understand.

Also, if we let her friend play inside, her friend's parents might be worried since it's almost night and we didn't want it to happen.

Another thing I highlighted during our small talk is respect. Sometimes we need to acknowledge their voice as well, especially if they make sense.


July 13, 2022

15
$ 4.40
$ 4.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
+ 6
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
1 year ago

Comments

Loved your writing. You are one of the best sister and you are very good at parenting. Your youngest sister's screenshot made me laugh too. But what you wrote is real - It's scary what they learn at young age. Myself got to use phone while I was quite of age, but compared to me, my younger brother got to use at very young age.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yiee naman hehe. Hindi ka lang pala ate hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo magulang din wahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang cute na paranh ang kulit ng ginawa nya ay 😆 pero sa bandang huil napaliwanagan din naman sya ano at naintindihan nya naman siguro ang point nyo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

kaya nga ang kulit eh hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kakulit ng mga bata ngayon they are expert with gadgets and reasoning out din. Haha never been a parent sa mga kapatid ko since I am in the middle pero right now since I have an own kid medyo excited and scary sa mga mangyayari.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Normal lang naman na maging excited and scary sa mga mangyayari for your kid, for sure you'll be a great parent.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She knows her right, C. Grabe talaga ang mga bata ngayon, matured na sila at their age. You're doing great in co-parenting C. Hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the assurance ate! 🥰 I feel great knowing I'm doing the right thing. True ate, matured enough to be vocal. I salute her naman to that kasi ung generation ko eh medyo takot pang mag voice out unlike mga bata ngayon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad the sister understood it and yes, the technology is scary too sometimes or i guess most of the time

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Most of the time nga yata ate hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes yes yes i agree

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahah welcome to parenting journey. Ako 4 na kapatid ko ang napalaki ko ng maayos hahaha sana naman hanggang pagtanda nasa tamang landas pa din sila. Congrats sa pusong nanay mo, training na yan

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wooow! Galing sis. Sana nga naku, kinakabahan ako dito haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you'll already prepared to have a kid hahaha just kidding, it's important to explain to children the things that they don't understand like the situation happened that she feel mad cause she was stopped playing, you've made a good action to talk to her so that she can understand. However, I agree on what you told that internet is scary since kids have access on it and search anything they want, it's better that the phone had parent restrictions.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wahahah not yet uy! Mahal magkaanak haha enjoy ko pa muna ang life na hindi married and no kids haha saka na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

what a beautiful sister you are. You are aware of your responsibility. I agree with everything you said. Children are sensitive. we need to explain to them why we say no or why we forbid something

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I appreciate compliments like this 😊 It assures me that I'm doing the right thing. Thank u!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome dear. Always be happy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang galing ng sister mo sis at least Alam niya ang mga ganyang information. Ilang taon naba siya?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

She's just nine ate 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aigooooo natawa ako sa SS nitong kapatid mo sis. Btw ilang yrs na ba sya? Elementary? Kuúuhh. Kinakabahan ako sa anak ko pero buti na lang di sya nalabas ng house eh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Elementary palang yan sis, nine years old haha katawa talaga di ko na lang pinahalata na natatawa ako e

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pero matalino gaya ni ate niya hiji. Nako be ready, parang mukang mas may boses yang si youngest ah? 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis wahaha mas matapang 'to kala niya sya panganay haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wait ate pang ilan nga sya?? Pangalawa ba??

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bitin siguro sya kase minsan lang makapaglaro sa labas. Pagdating ng araw, magsasawa din yan hindi na magrereklamo. Pero ang cute ng reaction nya

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo sis, bitin nga haha kaya ganyan ang reaction nya

btw, Ikaw ba ung murakami sa hive?

$ 0.00
1 year ago