A Mom Without an Afternoon Nap

28 32
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago
Topics: Motherhood

I badly need an afternoon nap today. It's been two mornings since my daughter goes back to sleep at 4 AM and she wasn't like this before. She is two months already. Also, I've noticed that her diaper is not full of poo. Well, her sleeping pattern has changed. I don't know why so her breastmilk hunger has changed. Okay, this is how it looks like. She sleeps so much in the afternoon and only cries when she's hungry. Then continues to sleep after almost dinner time. By the time when it's also for us to eat, she cries for milk. At late night, she's awake until 4 AM.

Usually, at 6 AM, her diaper was full, wet with pee and poo. Then I have to change her around 1 PM, another one at 6 PM. Lastly, 11 PM on bedtime. Now, it's weird that her diaper is just wet from pee. I wonder if moms right here know something but I'll ask later on other groups of breastfeeding moms.

Photo from Unsplash

Since my parents-in-law are back in the city, it's just me, the two kids, and my husband at home. We are living in the countryside. When the husband goes to work, it's just me and the two kids. If you have read my previous article, you know that my life is chaotic. It's only peaceful when the two kids are sleeping.

From the title, yes, I don't have an afternoon nap since the parents-in-law left. I had no complains of not having an afternoon nap as long as I had a good sleep for 8 to 12 hours. But it's been two days already that I don't have enough sleep.

Few minutes earlier, my son and I went out after giving him a bath. I changed his clothes and diaper then he grabbed his shoes and jacket for telling me that he wants to go out. He even chased the cat along the street. Later, I heard my daughter crying so we need to get back. I washed my son's hands as it was dirty.

I put my son to sleep but he was crying when I put him in the bed upstairs. Not sure if he is in the bed because when he throws a tantrum, he cries on the floor until he sleeps. I don't want to disturb him.

As much as I want to sleep, I can't. The floor is dirty as he put some food mess. I also need to do the dishes. No laundry for today as what my husband told me. I told him I want to do nothing today. I just want to sleep. He said, "Do what you want."

I Cook Pork Adobo Last Night and the Previous Two Nights

This week, I cook adobo twice as my husband requested it. He really like the pork adobo from the other night that he requested for another one. My son loves it too with rice. Sometimes, my son can eat the rice alone because of the delicious sauce.

I am not here to write how to cook adobo. But may be in the next article or not. I'm not an expert so it will be a shame on my part to write about it.

As you can see, every day I am very busy doing the home chores. I only start to cut the pork when I am done cleaning the floor. Then I have to cook the pork with less oil so that it's oil will come out. In between, my daughter cries for she is hungry. So I have to stop I am doing and feed her. While our son is doing some stupid things or I let him watch his favorite cartoon on YouTube.

To be practical, to cook adobo, you should start in the early afternoon. But I started around 6 PM so we had a late dinner.

Okay, I'm feeling sleepy right now!

Well, I can't help it. I need a break now and do nothing today. Let me have 30-minute sleep to one hour and may be feeling better later. And, I just heard my son crying again upstairs. Phew! Ciao! Maybe I can't sleep.

11
$ 4.64
$ 4.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 7
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago
Topics: Motherhood

Comments

I also have a 2-month-old baby girl so I know how that feels. Before, my LO was like that too (awake at night but sleepy in the morning), as per advise, what we did is slowly stimulate her to know the difference between night and day. So in the morning, we open the curtains and let natural light in, bathe her in early morning sun and after a while, take a bath. We also play music and talk to her. All of these are stimulus for her to think its 'DAYTIME'. At night, we close all curtains, dim all the lights (or at least in her nursery), play white noise and establish bedtime routine (massage with oil, change nappy, milk and change clothes). And after a week or so, she learned and sleeps through the night, sometimes she just drinks her milk once or twice in the night and go back to sleep again. It really is hard to manage the house especially if you have two kids, but that's what makes us moms, THE BEST. That's our superpower.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG. Hope you had a proper sleep aready by the time you read this comment of mine. Nakakababa ng immune system ang kulang sa tulog. Kaso ganyan talaga pag mommy na. Hayyy..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

di nyo na lang alam ang nangyari after hahahuhuhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano na ang update ? Hahahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

na bad trip ako haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayay ka.. way tulog jud ang inahan...i always sleep while breastfeeding..hehe pero lisod jd basta 2 na anak kay 2 ka tawo na atimanon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sa hapon oi maboang jud ko sa maguwang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha labarn inahan..ehhe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate.. Breastfeeding for 3 trs andd 6 months now.. I used to have a cluster sleep since I gave birth.. My son is more active at night as well that's why sometimes, I only gotten an hour or two of sleep before my work starts but I don't have a choice.. I used to get a nap right after my shift.. A one to two hrs afternoon nap for my another sleepless night.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow you breastfeed your son until now at 3 years and 6 months? I forced my son to stop at 13 months coz I was pregnant and my milk was low. But he was drinking fresh milk from his glass already at 12 months.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, he's still breastfeeding. I am struggling to wean him before cause I don't have anyone to take care of him while I am working. Whenever he felt sleepy, he will breastfeed. He is already eating solids so he just need to breastfeed whenever he's sleepy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We let him practice drinking in a glass as well. He can even drink orange juice for about 9 months na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

magaling na din po sya magdrink ng milk sa cup. Kaso pag inaantok talaga, hanap nya breast :)...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand how tired you must feel. My son is already a teenager. But I remember that stage when he was a baby, and he wouldn't let me sleep the whole night. And you have two little ones, so you must be exhausted. What I can tell you is that stage passes quickly, and others come. And I would love to know the recipe for the pork adobo.;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

EXhausted actually. Phew! I'll try to write the pork adobo recipe if I can haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate not having enough sleep because it makes my mind foggy. Pero when you're a mom, especially of a baby/toddler, you have to live with it huhu. Saan ba yun nabasa ko, they said that the worst torture is sleep deprivation. You're doing well super mom! Hugs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sleep deprivation is correct. thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate :) My baby is breastfed too. I am just glad that my eldest is now 7, she's not throwing tantrums anymore but I feel you sis. Take a rest whenever you can!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti na lang malaki age gap ng kids mo. Saken kasi magka sunod at wala kaming ibang relatives na magbantay. If nasa Pinas ako, for sure ang dami magbabantay eh. mahal naman mag hire ng nanny dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahihirapan ka talaga for now sis, sorry about that..Tingin ko nga mahal ang yaya jan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can a nursing mother forget her child? The answer is no. As a mother, you can only sleep when your child sleeps, so you need to plan your sleeping time around your baby activities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have no problem with the baby as the baby has a good sleep, just the toddler doesn't want to sleep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like dad, moms are heroes too. As what the saying goes, mother's were the only creatures on earth who's work is 24/7 no paid leaves, when it's about taking care of their kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

FYI, I never sleep after posting this article. The toddler made another mess. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap ng pork adobo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun na lang pampalubag loob saken kahit wala akong tulog. hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a mum so I don't have any useful suggestions for you... But instead, I would be interested in how to cook pork adobo, I don't know it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe maybe someday I'll try to write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago