2005 and 2015 Photos of Me - A Decade of Nostalgia

15 33
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago
Topics: Travel, Inspiration

I just saw this photo I posted on Facebook dated September 2015 with a long caption. So I better share it here as well. What I wrote back in 2015 is related to what I wrote from my previous article: How Do You Measure Success?

I love to write long captions on FB or sometimes I just want to tell a story through a photo. And it's really good to read it again because, from the past, I keep on manifesting things and making my dreams come true.

Now, it's 2021. Within 6 years from 2015, I have made several trips already. I am proud and happy with what I have achieved in the past years even though it means it drained my money and have no savings.

Someday, I'm going to share with you some photos of my trips when I was still single. How was I able to travel on a budget. And what lessons I've learned on the road.

On the Left - 2005 Graduation Photo; On the Right - 2015 Selfie in Tokyo, Japan

Date: September 28, 2015

I never thought it was a decade ago. When I graduated high school, I really had no idea what the future holds me. I was full of fear that time coz the big question was, could my parents send me to college? It was a struggle being in a poor family.

One of my ambitions back then was to travel to different countries. I was just being too ambitious and for me it was impossible. again, I wasn't sure if I could get a job that pays me well and let me do the things I wanted. I was praying that if I could get into college with at least 2 years of studies, then I need to find a job in case I couldn't finish a bachelor's degree. I was just being practical. But my idea was to save how small the salary was.

I got a part-time job when I was a college student but stopped studying in my 3rd year so I decided to find a job and landed several jobs with minimum wage until I got an online job and I love it.

Within 10 years, dreams are coming true despite all the struggles I've been through. I graduated in Oct 2014 from the 2-year course I left in college back in 2008 and at the same time, I am traveling while working.

The best part of traveling to different countries is that people mistook me as a student traveling around the world!

photo on the left: high school graduation picture in 2005

photo on the right: Japan trip 2015

Final Thoughts

My trip from the past made me feel so young because I felt I never get old but I felt I stayed younger. The funny thing about my travels is that many times, people mistook me for a different nationality. Sometimes I can pretend who I want to be. When you travel, nobody knows you and you can just enjoy life to the fullest.

11
$ 5.70
$ 5.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 5
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago
Topics: Travel, Inspiration

Comments

Congrats on all your achievements, and I wish you more in the future. All the experiences we get on travel are for a lifetime. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wooow. sanaol naka travel na sa ibang bansa. Your amazing. I wanna travel around the world din someday 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After pandemic 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

excited to read more of your travel articles rox..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Soon 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Galing naman. Ano po ba yung work niyo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dati VA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww. Galing nyo po marami na kayong lugar na napuntahan.. Congrats po. More travels to come pa together with your family. 😊 God bless you po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice photos. Enjoy your travel. Explore more, it really keeps us young

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats sa naging achievement mo, sis! At parang di ka naman tumanda sa pic 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon haggard na. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I must congratulate you on your achievements and going far from your humble beginnings. It always makes me feel proud seeing fellow women excel at what they do. Cheers to you and more places to conquer!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. More gala pa.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago