The Wind Beneath my Wings

5 18
Avatar for isla_20
2 years ago

August 29, 2021

It's been 3 days since I last published an article and there's a lot that happened between that short span of time. I'm not go into details with you here but we are finally out of that house. We are now standing on our own together with my brother and my sister-in-law @Janz . I know this will be hard because we've been living with people our whole life and this one is a huge step for us. No one will gonna support us financially so we will be the one to provide for our needs. Well, it's not really like we've been supported full on financial matters while still with them though.


It is now year 2022. Few hours from now and I'm gonna be holding my long awaited diploma. Our long awaited diploma. While waiting for my parents to arrive at my boarding house, I can't help but to look back on this journey of mine with my parents.

I was in 2nd grade in elementary when my parents first separate ways due to some issues. My mom left us with my dad and went to Manila. I can still remember how heartbreaking that was for me, a 7 year old at that time. I was so young but I already understood why my mom left us. I thought at that time that I will not be seeing her again but just months after that my father decided that we will all go to Manila to see our mom there and to also fixed what was been broken. And my father did. May of year 2007 when we went back to the province and there I continued my studies together with my brother.

Since then, they supported all of our needs with all they can. As their daughter, I witnessed all the hardships that my parents went through in raising us 3. There may be times when they can't pay the miscellaneous fees but they'll make sure that before the school year ends they are fully paid.

Fast forward.

It was year 2018 when I started my college journey at a university. My father was scared at first due to our financial status and is afraid if he'll be able to support the two of us. Nonetheless, he never backed down. We still went through our dreams of me becoming a degree holder, a licensed teacher to be exact.

Throughout my 4 years in pursuing our dreams I've encountered a lot and stumbled upon countless of hindrances but my parents was there to support me. They kept me flying with their winds of wisdom, encouragements, trust, and above all love. There are times when I think of letting go of my dream but I can't let go my parent's dream. They're just too important for me.

When we found out that I was one of those lucky students who are gonna be enjoying the TES-2 of our government, my parents were so delighted thinking that the financial burden of my studies will be lift off their shoulders. The 20,000 pesos every sem was a huge help for not just for me but for my parents as well. Every time that I received that amount I always wanted to give to my parents but my father would always refuse me because according to him that was intended for my studies. But I'm so stubborn that I always found ways to give it to him without noticing.

Every sem that I got to finished was a step closer to our dream. Every school year that passed brought a new level of brightness in my parent's smile. I knew they've got so many negative thoughts from the people that surrounds us about me not being able to get a diploma but they never doubted me. They've became so proud of me every passing time.

When I got my uniform for my practice teaching, my father immediately wanted me try it on for them and I did. When I got out wearing the uniform I can clearly hear and see the happiness in my parent's face. They're all praises and of course jokes, my father loves to joke around. While wearing the uniform I took that opportunity to have a photograph with them. We were all smiles, a genuine smile.

I got teary eyed looking back at those memories when they came. My father in his usual white shirt and a pair of jeans paired with his favorite shoes smiling at me with his wrinkled face, tan skin because of working at a rice field. My mother wearing her simple cream dress and a pair of flat sandals. My younger brother standing beside them whose gonna start with his college journey the next school year with his shirt, a pair of black jeans, and shoes. My older brother was walking towards us holding my nephew's hands together with his wife.

We went to my university's covered court where the graduation will be held. Throughout the entire time my family was all smiles. When I got back to them, I hug them tightly. I can't contain my emotions seeing them at my graduation day. We are so emotional that finally all of our efforts are finally paying off. We took a family picture together just like what we did at my older brother's graduation. This is the perfect family for me. The family that will support you and will continue to encourage you every time that you will doubt yourself. I love them so much and I thank them for being the wind beneath my wings.


How I wish that this is all true, huhuhu. I don't know why I suddenly wrote this kind of thing at 2 A.M. in the morning. I just woke up and suddenly wanted to write this one. Maybe because these are the things that I wanted to happen and been imagining all those years.

Anyways, thank you for lending your time in reading this just out of the blue article of mine.

Ciao 😘

5
$ 2.31
$ 2.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Janz
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 1
Sponsors of isla_20
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for isla_20
2 years ago

Comments

Sis....eto nagmomodule pa din kami ng anak ko! Huhu!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fighting lang tayo sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

para sa pamilya, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nang dahil dito narealize ko na kahit gaano ung iniisio ko na baliwala pagaaral ko, ung hirap ng magulang ko masusuklian. Nakakatamad lalo nanat modular, pero para sakanila kakayanin

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang hirap talaga ng modular pero kinakaya ko pa din para sa pangarap namin ng mga magulang ko para kahit wala na sila natupad ko pa din pangarap namin

$ 0.00
2 years ago