Motivation: A Thing from Within

16 37
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

I have been thinking about this thing about motivation since the other night. Before, I can identify myself as a motivator for I am someone who's always positive. I am an optimist and I always see the good things in bad.

But lately, I am losing the drive to move forward. It was like I was stuck in one place, losing all my will power to actually get up and move. Of course, I am thinking, what’s wrong with me? I am frustrated because I’m not used to being like that.

Anyway, I already passed that stage so here I am to tell you what drives me to finally move forward.

First, let me start with our own self. I truly believe motivation should come from within. Sure, we may have support systems but what can they do if our own self and body doesn’t want to move? We can get inspiration from everywhere, from a verse we read in the bible, from a quote we saw in the internet, from the words of encouragement our friends gave us, and from the support of our family and loved ones. There are so many source of motivation but it won’t work if we won’t make the action.

A friend says “you can do it”, oh yes you can, we can, but the things is, do we want to? I mean, do we want to do it? Are we willing to do it?

The drive, the desire and the willingness to actually act on it should come from us. Self-motivation, this is how I can address it.

After motivating the self, that’s when we can only appreciate motivations coming from different sources. This is where their encouragements make sense to us. This is where when someone says “you can do it” you gain more courage to do it

It just hits differently when someone says to you that you’re doing better when in fact, you know in yourself that you’re not having any progress at all than when someone says the same thing but this time, you’re already on the move, you already have a progress, no matter how small or slow it is.

Are you getting the thought?

I don’t know if this applies to you but to me, personally, I feel like it’s a joke when someone told me I’m doing good but the truth is I’m not doing anything at all. I mean, seriously? I’m doing well? I’m not even doing anything.

Compared to when I’m doing something, which I am not confident about, for instance, I am writing this article and I feel like it doesn’t make sense, so I made a friend read it and he gets my thought, told me it’s great, go published it, that’s when I feel the encouragement.

(Ain’t really confident. I hope you’re getting my point. Hehe)


 Closing thoughts…

There are so many things and factors that can give us motivation. It’s actually countless, and we can definitely get that from anyone, anytime, and anywhere. Motivation is everywhere. We have different things that can drive us to move forward but my take on this matter is that it should come from within.

Start with the self, start with yourself. If we won’t and we don’t believe in ourselves, if we don’t push ourselves, other motivations are worthless. At the end of the day, we’re the one who’s going to make a decision whether to get up and move forward, or to just stay where we are, throw ourselves some self-pity because we aren’t making a progress.

Will you drive yourself to act on it? I can motivate you, but will you allow me? The choice is yours.


Just want to acknowledge @MizLhaine for tagging me to participate on this writing prompt. And of course, @JonicaBradley for making this prompt. It was nice writing this one. And what an exercise in the mind! Lol

Thanks y'all for reading. Whatever you're feeling right now, I hope that you'll find it in yourself to move forward and be motivated by others. :)


Lead image from Pixabay


9
$ 1.87
$ 1.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Mr_Trenzs
$ 0.15 from @francescawrites
+ 9
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

Comments

Nice :) I actually am motivated to write here because of people sharing ideas here! Hehe! You are a motivator :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. Thank you! Haha. Pero true, reading the works of others in here is kind of encouraging din talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! You are doing well. Accept it with gratitude and believe on it. Sometimes we just need to remind ourselves that indeed we can achieve something bigger and greater.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen! And of course, relying to God will help us to keep going. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Till now i have heard many motivational speaks from famous speaker but nothing work to me because i am not in that situation.. Motivation come from real life situation such as you have done graduate but do not want to do job because of laziness while keep listening motivation then nothing will work then too. But why because you are not yet faced money problem or food problem.. As soon as you will face problem about leading life then you gonna do job which mean motivation come from real life..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That too is possible. After all, we have our own views about motivation. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is another article that I relate as I write my own version for this writing prompt. Yes, motivation should start within. Sometimes, there is also a battle within us, to pursue or not on something. Keep motivated dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks maam! :) you too. Let's keep this motivation coming from within.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely! Likewise you, I truly believe that everything starts from within and that motivation and passion that you wanted to transpire onto your life is a manifestation of who you are deep within you. That's why we are the first to make ourselves believe that we can definitely go through it; we are the ones to give ourselves the strength and courage to keep moving on.

Thanks for this article, it gave me a sense of enlightenment about motivation as a part of oneself.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Glad to know someone who agrees with me. And ofc, you are most welcome. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much for tagging me and for taking part in the challenge. I hope you are able and willing to participate next week, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure. :) I would love to join again next time. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this motivation come from everyone and everything around but to be the best motivation come from Reading the Bible

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Of course. The greatest motivation ever is the one coming from the Lord. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right anything can be motivational.But a motivational thing should be impressive.Anyway,congrats for completing Motivation Prompt.I already completed this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. You also have your own version? Nice. I might pay that a visit. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago