Called to Serve

16 51

For those who know me, it is quite obvious that I have been pretty these past weeks. I have been inactive both here, on noise.cash and even on our telegram group chat. I have been a mushroom these days, I suddenly disappear and will show up unexpectedly. LOL

But if there's one thing that I want to share to you, if there's a highlight on my life recently, this story that I will be telling you today would be it.

The Calling

Before the end of February, I was approached by one of our churchmates who also happened to be a student on our university. She's also part of the ministry-based student organization on our university and that was also the reason why she messaged me.

March is the recruitment month for all the organizations in our university and she asked me if I want to apply on their student organization. That same night, I already saw her message on the preview from the notifications but I didn't seen it yet because I don't know what to reply.

The next night, I told my sister, who is also my spiritual leader about it and turns out, she was supposed to say the same thing to me. I told her I'll give it some thought since I am already part of a college-based organization but she still encouraged me to join saying that other things are just the extra because after all, our main purpose is to be of service of the Lord.

The Response

With that, I finally replied to Ate Abi, our churchmate, that I will be applying to the organization. But it seems like she feels my hesitation so she told me to pray for it first, seek for a word before finally making a decision.

However, I wasn't able to find with the time she have given me so I asked God for a sign instead. Ate Abi messaged me about my decision and I wasn't able to respond but God answered my prayer through giving me a sign when Ate Abi added me to a group chat on messenger together with the other aspirants. Yes, that was the sign that I was looking for. I thought that since I was already added to the GC, then maybe, that was already it.

The Journey

And the journey begins...

Recruitment week or the recruitment schedule was on March 25-31, 2022 and before that, we had an orientation first about our schedule throughout the recruitment week as well as the rules and requirements in joining the organization.

I had no problem with the rules as well as the requirements but I had conflict with the schedule. Since even before I decided to apply to the org, we already had a scheduled outing on March 25-27.

But indeed, God is so good that despite the conflict on the schedule, I was able to still go to the outing and attend our meeting. We had an scheduled meet on 25 but it was cancelled so it was in favor of me. And then the next day, it was quite a struggle being interviewed while literally on the road because we were travelling that time but still, I was able to attend. And on the 27th, we were already home when we had another meeting.

After surpassing that struggle, I realized that it was just the beginning since after the 27th, we still have 4 days left to complete the process and I actually didn't expected that we will be struggling a lot with our schedule.

We are only 7 applicants in total yet we barely managed to be present at all times for the reason that 3 of my co-applicants are also applying to another organization, one of them was having her OJT and on my case, I am a member of another organization and I have a responsibility to that org.

We meet daily at 11am for our scripture reading and sharing, just a short fellowship, and the actual part of the recruitment process usually happens at night when most of us are already free. But honestly, I am not actually free that time since it has the same schedule on my other org but I sacrificed my other org so that I can focus on this one.

It was really harder than I thought. It was tiring, it was draining. I have another org, I have academics, I have council, and here comes another org. Conflict of schedule after another but through the grace of God, all 7 of us survived the process and we are now official members of the organization.

My takeaways (Lessons, Learnings, Realizations)

Romans 12:3-8 - Gifts of Grace

3 For by the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think with sober judgment, each according to the measure of faith that God has assigned. 4 For as in one body we have many members,[a] and the members do not all have the same function, 5 so we, though many, are one body in Christ, and individually members one of another. 6 Having gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, in proportion to our faith; 7 if service, in our serving; the one who teaches, in his teaching; 8 the one who exhorts, in his exhortation; the one who contributes, in generosity; the one who leads,[b] with zeal; the one who does acts of mercy, with cheerfulness.

Source: biblegateway.com

As the recruitment process begins, we were informed about the real situation of the organization. Sadly, there are only 3 remaining active members of the organization but instead of feeling discouraged, we were actually inspired by them because they are only 3 yet they were able to do all the activities of the organization. And we were 7, we doubled their numbers so we can only imagine what more we can do if we all survived the process.

At first, we doubted ourselves about what we can do since most of us are just starting to develop our skills and talents but we were reminded about the gifts of grace through that passage above.

We were reminded that we are one body in Christ and that every members of the body have its own function. We may have different talent and capabilities but all of those will be useful for one another. I may not be able to do other things that they can do but so do I. I also have capabilities that they cannot do and being part of a one body, somebody can fill in on my shortcomings and so as I am to them.

As the Lord says on His word on 2 Corinthians 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

We may have weaknesses but God's grace is sufficient for us. What we can do now is to continue to work with one vision and one passion. And to use our God-given talents to be of service of Him.

What's important is that like Paul, the goal must be clear to us and that is to preach the good news and share the message of salvation to all the people that we can reach.

Gospel Sharing

On God's great commission on Matthew 28:18-20, we were tasked to make disciples of all nation and following God's command, that is also the mission and vision of our organization. "A multitude of disciples committed to evangelism and disciple-making reaching the whole world for Christ."

This is also one of the highlight of my whole application process. Once again, after such a long time, praise God for I was able to share the gospel in public and in face to face. I was also able to share it to my friends online and I thank God for their lives for they also committed themselves to a regular bible study.


Now that we are already an official member of the organization, personally, I feel like this is God's calling for me to serve. After all, we were all called to serve, to use our God-given talents and the response depends to us.

You, you are called to serve and if you think you can't, know that God doesn't called the qualified, instead, He qualified the called. He qualified those who responded on His calling.

That was such an eventful yet meaningful application process. My faith is burning is to serve God and my only prayer right now is that may that fire continue to keep burning and may I, and my other co-members, be of use in service for the Lord.

I bring back all the highest glory, honor and adoration to our Almighty God!

12
$ 5.57
$ 5.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Marts
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
+ 6
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Praise God po sa buhay mo! May you continually bring honor and glory to our Lord. Indeed, He is always faithful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing done for the glory of the Lord is ever wasted :) Blessings on your endeavors, Marya! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All praises to God! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God bless friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you too! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whatvyouvdoing is very productive of all. Its okay to be inactive here when the reason is that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

of course. thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kala ko mag ma madre kana tita. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahahah una sa lahat, walang madre samin haha. org lang lolo, easy ka lang haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha joke lang naman din yan ang akin, alam ko dika catholic tita haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God Bless you mare 💞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat mare. God bless din!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are very right about it. It is only by God's grace that made things easier

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. It was all His grace because if not for that, no one from us will survive the process. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats po, I remember joining one even if I was still in senior high they were already inviting me in and I have no regrets about joining a Christian organization. Good luck with your journey and God bless!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Praise God! Nice to know that you started serving Him early. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago