A Bittersweet Day

13 26
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

I woke up this morning feeling something cold in my face. As I opened my eyes, the first thing I saw is my older brother holding an ice to my face. I didn't get annoyed or anything, I'm already used to it and I don't hate him for that. Somehow, pulling pranks at each other is our kind of bonding.

I thought, it's just another morning that I woke up with one of his silly pranks but today is different. I was supposed to get up and get back at my brother but I was so surprised when a party popper suddenly popped at the same time I heard my family synchronously say a happy birthday.

I looked at their direction at the end of my bed. I saw my mom holding a cake, my dad holding the party popper, my older sister beside them, and they are all wearing a party hat, same as my brother who is on my side.

I almost forgot. Today is my 11th birthday and just like on my previous birthdays, they always wake me up with a surprise. It is such a great day! I get up and we ate breakfast together. Mom cooked pancake which I love the most and they allowed me to have chocolate syrup as much as I want. After we're done eating, they showed me my present which is the bike that I have been asking for and a new game console.

I already gave up asking them that and I had no idea they will give it to me as a surprise for my birthday. Few hours later, we all get ready because dad told us that we'll go to an amusement park. I really wasn't expecting it since it is weekdays and my parents have work. But dad said they took the day off just to be with me on my special day.

We ate lunch at my favorite fast food chain before we finally go into the amusement park. We first bought similar headbands before we fall in line for the rides that we want. We go to rides after rides and I was so happy, nervous, thrilled and excited all at the same time as we try different extreme rides.

We also played games in the arcade and won different prizes. I also compete with my brother and sister and as expected, our older brother got the most wins. But it's okay since he still gave me all the prizes he got. He said that it's his gift for my birthday.

We just played and enjoyed our time while our parents watched us from afar. When we got tired, we go back to our parents and we go to the side where there are tables and chairs and different food stalls where we can buy snacks. Dad bought pizza, burger and we had cola for drinks. I saw the corndog at the side so mom also bought it for us.

After we're done with our snacks, we watched a show and a parade of different mascots at the amusement park. I really enjoyed the performances of my favorite characters. I'm having so much fun!

For dinner, dad made a reservation from his favorite restaurant. He ordered a lot of foods and most of them are my favorite. In the middle of our meal, I was so surprised when a happy birthday song suddenly played. Then the staffs go out handing me another birthday cake. One of the staffs also took a photo of me and my family together.

It is such a great night, a great day rather. It is very memorable. My family truly made me happy the entire day.

After quite a while, we already decided to go home and call it a night. We were at the car on our way home. My dad's driving while mom is on the passenger seat. I am with my siblings at the backseat. My brother seems like brought a lot of jokes that really makes us all laugh. We were having a good laugh when suddenly, a truck is approaching near us. Everything happened so fast, the last thing I saw is the blinding lights of the truck before I lost consciousness.


I woke up with a single tear from my eyes. I dreamed about it again, if only I can stay in that dream forever. I can already feel that my tears are soon to burst when I hear the sound of the party popper as the confetti hit my face. Then I saw my aunt, uncle and my cousins as they greet me a happy birthday.

Just like before, just like always. That put a smile on my face and I immediately get up, blow the cake they are holding and I hug and thanked them for surprising me like that.

Today is my 21st birthday and I can't believe that it's already 10 years since my mom, dad, brother and sister has died. I was the only one who survived the accident for they all hugged me and protected me as the truck hits our car. Every year, on my birthday, I am always dreaming about that day, reminding me of that bittersweet day I had.

It hurts, I feel sad and lonely. But seeing this family that I have now makes me smile. When my family died, my uncle who's my mom's younger brother who is also my godfather took me into his custody. Since then, I lived with his family and they treat me as if I am also their child. I never felt that I was an outsider in their family, in our family.

We are now in the cemetery where my family was buried. Aunt cooked my favorite foods and we brought it in here. We also brought a picnic blanket as we eat the foods together. We were just laughing and having a good time together.

My parents and siblings must be gone already but I never felt like I was alone. Still, I was blessed with a family who treats me as if I am their own. I was blessed with a family who treats and took care of me really well.

It's still sad sometimes but at moments like this, I couldn't ask for more. I have a happy life, I have a happy family. I am well and healthy. I looked at my family and they are all smiling as they also look at me. That made me smile as I looked up at the sky. "Mom, Dad, Ate, and Kuya, don't worry about me. I am doing good and I am well taken care of, I will see you guys someday." Again, a lone tear fell from my eyes as I felt a strong hug surrounds me and I felt the warmth from my family.


Things won't always be good. Hurtful things happen, painful things happen. We will all experience sadness. We will all be challenged. We will all be put in a hard situation and what's more hurtful about it is that we weren't given a chance to prepare. All sort of things can happen in a blink of an eye. We may not have the same experience but the thing is, we all experience pain. It's completely normal. But we shouldn't let that pain consume us.

Feel the pain, cry for it, but do not stay like that forever. Get up slowly and face to world bravely. We may lose something or someone but we will always gain a new one. Appreciate things around you and make your pain as your strength. I hope that you'll be able to defeat all that challenges that is ahead of you and the challenges that you are facing right now. I wish you all the best!

:)

fictional
just a product of my mind
not my story
hehe
feel free to share your thoughts about this.

6
$ 9.58
$ 9.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.03 from @Rafd9828
+ 2
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

Comments

Haha parang kinurot na sana puso lods ahh, okay lang masaktan lods basta pagkatapos ay babangon na naman para ipagpatuloy ang buhay. Hehe buhay na wala siya ay, ay mali pala 🙊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

gagawin ko sanang sad ang ending kaso ayoko nalang manakit. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha mukhang mag iingay talaga kung nagkataon lods. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha baka madala sila. mga story ko dati mapanakit daw e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha may naaalala ako diba sayo yung article dati lods na naglalakad kayo ng nanay mo tas na holdup at namatay yung ina? Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uy nako, di ata akin yan lolo ah hahahaha. wala pakong nasulat na ganyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha aie basta dun sa noiseristificationism yun galing nakalimutan ko na kung sino author nun tita haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko pa naman totoo na good thing binasa ko lahat. Ang problema ngayon e, kagigising ko lang.. nalungkot na ako agad. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHA sorry naman marecakes. pero happy ending naman ean e haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owemji I thought it's really your story, I almost teared up, woah what an amazing story. Anyways you're right we should feel the pain for a while until it last and soon we should move forward again, I know that people come and people go but that's the thing we will never get to used to when they leave us hanging. Nice story by the way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oops. First victim. Haha. I purposely didn't put anything at the beginning so that you'll appreciate the story more. Hehe. thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely🤗. We all have sweet-bitter experiences but it'll be good to accept and appreciate where we are and make the best use of the situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you got it! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago