"My flaws are not my fate!"

7 25
Avatar for imanagrcltrst
2 years ago

These article of mine was inspired by a commercial that I once heard in the television when I was washing the dishes yesterday.

Watch the video through this link:

Let's begin......

Have you ever wonder why there were some people who don't like to be engaged on us? I know you were. I know that there were a lot of times that we asked ourselves why those person we wants doesn't want us, too. Why we had encountered times wherein we were mistreated? And, many why and why and why's.

Let me ask you another question. Do you have some flaws? Of course, you have. We, all of us has our own flaws. Is this the reason why we had experienced all the whys in the previous paragraph? Maybe yes, maybe no.

Before anything else. Let's first briefly discuss what is flaws all about:

What is flaws?

Flaws are those marks and other imperfections that a person has. It can either be a flaw on one's character or in one's physical appearance. Character flaw's are those undesirable characteristics (qualities) that a person has. Like being a short temper, pessimist, abusive, bigmouth (gossiper), overconfident, envious, and many more to mention.

All of us has our own sets of character flaws, same as on the physical appearance. Having pimples, birth marks, scars, pores, freckles are sometimes considered as flaws even though they were not, at the very first place.

But, do they really define our fate? Our future? Or ..... not?

Does our flaws covers our beauty?

Pimples, pimples, pimples..... We often have it in our faces. Sometimes they were small, sometimes they are big and can even get bigger. Sometimes there are just few and there were also a lot of times that they appear as many. (Seems like they were having a mini reunion. Hihi!) As they disappear, they leaves a marks on our faces that can be difficult to remove.

But, does having a pimples can cover the beauty that we have?

For me? No and will never be a yes. Why? Because having a pimples is already a normal thing to us. Nowadays, we can use make-ups to cover it. But, there were still many who shows their faces barely (including me and maybe, even you) and are proud on it.

Same as on our birthmarks. It's one of the distinct trait that we have that can make us unique from everybody else. You have a birthmark in your face? Right in your eye/s? Or maybe your whole body and your real skin was covered by a birthmark? So what? Will it define who you are? No. It will even make you more unique than anybody else.

Do you (we) have a big scars or a lot of it in our bodies? No matter where you got it, it will not define you and your fate.

Freckles? It was sometimes called by many people as "stain." To the point that the person who has it, do also views it as a stain. But, does it really a stain? No. The fact is that there were a lot of people (a lot more compare to those who hates it) who are very eager to have it. So, why hate it too?

What can overcome our flaws are our smiles and acceptance. So, better accept it than hate it! :)

Character flaws....

Are you a pessimist one? Or an overthinker (paranoid), childish, blunt, naive, practical, overprotective, overconfident, timid? Most specially, are you a soft-hearted?

This were just a few of those character flaws that are enumerated and classified by some experts and practitioners. But, do they really a flaws?

A person who was said as a pessimist one can be changed into a optimistic one. They just need to keep in their minds that they can do it and that they can always do it. Say that "I'm an optimistic person" and practice to be one.

Being an overthinker can be a either a good or a bad thing. It can be good in many times and situations like when we want to go out and we suddenly felt paranoid. Thinking that there were a bad thing that gonna happen and will end us to just stay at home and do not go out. There were a chance that it can possibly happen or maybe not. Sometimes it was our guts that are talking to our minds and we just need to sometimes believe on it. But, at the same time, it can be a bad thing. Why? For example, we have our partners in life. Either it be a boyfriend/girlfriend or a husband/wife. We think that they were cheating even though they're not. Because of this, it can cause a misunderstanding or an argument on the both sides which can result for our relationships to have a crack. And, this is really not a good thing!

Being a timid or a naive one, can sometimes be called as "pabebe." I know it because I'm a timid one (but, I'm not naive). I speak so soft and they think that I can't be mad because of it. They think that I was just faking it, even though I'm not. Why say that a timid one is a 'pabebe' and a person who speaks so loud as a 'war freak' (or palengkera)? Can we just normalize it?

Are those really a flaws or maybe people just had set their standards and expectations too high? Too high that we can't reach it. Too high that we can't satisfy their expectations and standards.

Are those people who judged or criticized our flaws do not have their own flaws? Because as far as I know, being a judgmental is also a flaw.

And, can these flaws really define our fate? Basically, I'm not agree with it. Because our flaws can be our advantages. Our advantage to conquer and slay the runway. A runway that many people was eager to see and watch. A runway that will lead us to success. A runway that we will slay and will make everybody's mouths open.

Having a freckles, a black skin, won't hinders a person from walking on their own runways. In fact, they were a lot of black women who were slaying a beauty pageants or a fashion show (like Victoria's Secret), showcasing their talents, brains, and beauty.

In the commercial that I watched, the woman who were endorsing the product of Kojiesan, once said:

"My flaws are not my fate."

"They don't own me, I own them."

"I can choose to love them. I can choose to erase them."

Do you agree on it? Me? Absolutely, yes! I can be whatever I wanna be (which is to be a Licensed Agriculturist) with all the pimples, dark skin, and all the flaws that I have. I can be that one because I have the skills, knowledge, and the willingness to be one. And, my flaws won't hinders me. Instead, they will help me and be my advantage and motivation to do better.

They won't own me because I will own them. Own them, love them, but I won't erase them. Why? Because this is me. And, I choose to embrace it! I hope you are, too.


Sponsors of imanagrcltrst
empty
empty
empty

In case that you would also want to read my last article:

Finally, I'm Back!: https://read.cash/@imanagrcltrst/finally-im-back-8dcab3b6

Or, visit my Noise.cash account and let's have a chitchat there:

imanagrcltrst: https://noise.cash/u/imanagrcltrst

THANK YOU FOR READING MY ARTICLE! LOVE LOTS.

5
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @dziefem
Sponsors of imanagrcltrst
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for imanagrcltrst
2 years ago

Comments

Pinaka ayoko yung pagiging overthinker ko, kasi masyado akong nega minsan. Kung ano anong masasamang pangyayari naiisip ko. Pero kinakausap ko sarili ko, parang ginigising ko na hindi yon mangyayari kaya hindi dapat ako mag-isip ng ganon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay nako. Sobra din ako sa pagiging praning, Ate. 'Yung tipo na may maramdaman lang eh kung ano-ano na maiisip. Katulad 'nung enrollment, second day na ako nakapag-enroll kasi nagka-problema pinnacle account ko. Hala, bigla-bigla kong naiisip na baka di na ako makapag-aral. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman yung sobrang sinasakit ako, inaapoy talaga ng lagnat tapos hilong hilo ako, feeling ko mamamatay na ako. HAHA. Naalala ko nanaman, parang ambilis, lapit nanaman enrollment. :>

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malapit na naman pero di pa din nag-istart summer class namin. HAHAHA! Kako nga baka joke-joke lang 'yun ih. Sayang naman benefits na makukuha namin sa scholarship namin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Neeeh. Akala ko nag start na. Ano kayang balak ng mga yon? Haha. Sayang nga din yun aa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha hindi pa no. Baka nga joke joke lang talaga 'yun eh.

Sayang talaga, Ate kung 'di namin makukuha 'yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malay din natin, ang hilig pa naman nila mang surprise. Haha.

Oo wah, siya pa yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago