Sacrifices or Responsibilities?

40 99
Avatar for heartbeat1515
3 years ago

I have a dream and I believe you do too. I want to have a life where I no longer have to think so much about where to get money for food, bills, car and savings. Plus, no more debts to the bank.

Since my car is still broken, my father drives me to work and pick me in the evening for these few days. Yesterday I asked him if he and my younger sister could help me to pay a few my loans especially the one for the house they are living now. If they cannot help me with money, at least help me with my groceries especially my little one needs like diapers and milk powder.

This morning, he told me that he is tired of sending me to work and picking me up in the evening so he told me that he can only send me but no longer will pick me. That is alright. I can understand that.

The second questions and statements made me sad. He asked, what are all the loans for? Well, I said, "Your house, my car and my house. Your house is going to be own by my younger sister later so she should help me pay a bit. If she does not have money, then help me with the groceries if you can."

Then he told me all about their difficulties, needs of money and where my younger sister has no job. He asked me to take care of my younger sister when they are gone because she cannot work while she needs to take care of them. Well, I am the black sheep of the family. I did not leave with them anymore after I am married. I do not know how to take care of them while our opinions do not meet. He keeps on throwing responsibilities to me and I think that I have made enough sacrifices.

They went building a house on land that has not been written their name on it yet and we got to chase away and been living in a room at my another uncle house for a few years until I graduate and manage to loan with my first salary. In my thoughts, it is the parents' responsibility to provide for their own before the children. Their plan ruin and I willingly took the responsibility to fix that. Now they have a home and I just build another one for my own. A smaller one but just enough for me.

My father always said that he does not want me to live a hardship in life. If they really want me to be happy they should know that they owe me an explanation. An explanation for all the beginning of the hardship I am facing. I wonder why won't they tell me anything. I have let go of the questions but sometimes when things like this happen. it comes back to me.

As for my conclusion?

I accept everything he asks for as my responsibilities except for the part that I need to take care of my sister until death. I wonder when is he going to treat my sister as an adult. Can't he see that my younger sister is now capable of being independent if only he let her? Maybe he can but I just can't see it.

I did mention sacrifices but I do not mean unwillingness. I did it because I want them to be comfortable. I wonder if it is bad for me to ask help from them regarding the payment. Some will say, you should and some will say you don't have too because that is your family and they are no longer working. My parents have their pension money so I never gave them money because I myself do to have enough. My sister depends on them but she is slowly growing her small business. Her only limitation is my father way of thinking.

I do believe someday things will be better for me and my sister. I hope that my father can see that we will not end up like him. He always thinks that his life is miserable even though I think that he has a lot to be thankful for. He did not have debt all his life because I am the one that did that for him. He has a house and all he had left to think is their health and needs.

I do hope someday I can see my father are satisfied with his life.

31
$ 4.42
$ 3.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.05 from @Don26
+ 4
Avatar for heartbeat1515
3 years ago

Comments

I can relate to this, I mean my partner can relate. He was told by his parents to take care of his younger brother when they were gone, and what annoys me is that his younger brother doesn't have any goals in life, just messing around and so immature cant even help the in the house to wash dishes. Then their house needs to be renovated and it was all for his obligations, and so many demands. I am annoyed because we are not even established yet so many responsibilities he has to take care of, it's okay to help but what about us, me and his daughter. If after five years he still prioritizes every demand of his family first before ours then I must decide and find a way out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Five years?Are you nuts? Kick out that lazy brother let him work and learn the value of money before he starts demanding! You take care of yourself, your child first. If there is room you can help others. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dearie that sounds worse than mine. At least I got my husband support on my problems. I hope you find a way out that is best for all of you.

My friend uses to say, "Old people won't live long, just bear with it until the time comes."

It sounds bad 😅 like we are hoping for the time to come right? But it is just saying to make us feel better or relieve. It won't be forever.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your younger sister will live way longer than you. She says she can't work, not handle stress and wants to knit in peace. What if you say the same? Sorry, I won't work I want to knit or write. You all take care of your finances yourself and here are my bills.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My sister is doing well lately. I am not aure about my father. Sometimes I feel like a stranger to him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Perhaps you two are strangers? The thing is if the bond, feeling isn't there you can't force it. The blood bond idea is made up. We all are different and every family has it's black sheep or weirdo or someone who somehow is different.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Big hug to you dear! I grew up like that. Because we're family-oriented. Because we are in debt to our parents as they always say. I pray that one day your dad will see you as his daughter that he loves and cherish just like when you're young. And may your wishes do come true. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I too hope that someday I myself can see a better future. If it is me who is wrong, may I manage to fix that too before it is too late.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I give you a power hug! 🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

such a good read. I'm happy to see that everyone can freely express their thoughts here. I feel you, I wish I could tell my sister that she needs to start doing things on her own now too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can tell her if you want to. The bond between siblings will never disappear. Be brave. I used to be afraid to speak up until I am totally burn out.

Now, my sister is slowly helping me even though my father still have a lot to complain.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think there really should be a limit to how much responsibility you accept from your parents. You're married now and have a child. You have your own expenses so that shoukd allow you freedom else you'll have a burn out one of these days

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The burn out already happened and pass. Sometimes I need help from my father and it is the way he talks that hurt me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess he's stuck in the past to actually accept how much things have changed already or maybe some part of him believes you can manage everything now because you've made it this far

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think he is stuck in the past. It could be that he have something that he is afraid of that I never know.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Trauma is a valid excuse too but he should still be aware that you don't see that fear. And it might not even happen to you in the end

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will never know until he let me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Than ask him why he treats you worse than a dog. If he doesn't like you give up on him and the family. Live your own life. Sorry to say this but if he is dead you need to take care of yourself too. You have a husband, helpful people, a child you need to take care of.

The other option is you tell yourself he is an old lunatic and suffers from Alzheimer and doesn't know what he is talking about or has some brain damage. Perhaps it makes you feel better?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your last paragraph, that is what I am doing to my mother in law and it does makes me feel better.

If I compare her to my father, my father is better. He do not talk bad about me to anyone else compare to my mother in law.

No matter how much I am angry with this two person, I cannot leave them behind. They are not that bad except for their choices of words and understanding. I thought that, what if someday I also become like that when I am old. How would I like to be treated?

They actually make a good reminder for me before I get old. For that I am thankful for them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The question is more: what we're they like still young? A gosdioer, backstabber, a person that envies always did. It's not something that suddenly happens when you get older. This is character.

The rest, word choice, can be caused because of education difference or your father is a jerk and always got away with it which is more likely.

My es said "I am not good with words" a fine excuse to behave that way. My answer "neither am I so you better start practising".

Give your father a list with all expenses and time to think this over. Tell him that if you stop working he is in trouble too. I guess your sister can explain it too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

fantastico

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, that's great

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can relate in some ways. It's very hard if your parents can't understand you in a way you wanted them to understand. Even mine wasn't the same situation with what you have, I know the exact feeling of yours. I hope everything will went well and your father will realize your point.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too. I am afraid of what will become of my sister when my parents is no longer around.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really hope that your father will soon realize and meet you halfway so that things will go lighter in the future. He needs to change his mindset as he is way too pessimistic.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes he is alright but then most of the time he tired my mind.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was moved by your article, keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Heart touching story dear. Thanks for sharing article like this. Keep sharing about Father. Who is much more deserve.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think your father has a backbone. I'm sorry to say this. 😏 Once you are already separated and get married. You will be on your own, if ever there are help you can give, it would be voluntary specially money matters. I understand we can't turn back from our family but the moment you have your own, then you have your responsibility circulate on your own family now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess he just doesn't understand because he had been living with my grandparents all his life. I felt that itbis alright for him but not for me.

He is actually kind. It is just the way he chose his words when he speak and the way he thinks that is not agreeable by me.

I made myself believe that he has his own reason.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well i hope he will soon realize that he's doing the the wrong thing. You will be the most affected if he will stay like this. Atleast your sister knows how to stand on her feet if ever your father would just change his mindset.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do hope my sister can be independent. It is not that I don't want to help but I do not want her to rely on me. I have other responsibilities too especially to my daughter.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It feels to me your father loves to complain and you should put that behaviour to a halt. Tell him you have a family to take care of and show him the amounts you have to pay.

Put it simple. If they refuse to help you and you can not pay off the loan they will be kicked out again. The house they live in needs to be sold.

It is a normal thing to do for a family to help each others. Yours is abusive in every way. You are the only one who works. Tell your father you will not take care of your sister she can work!

There are plenty of people taking care of parents and (little) children and they work too. Single people! If your father can drive you to your work he can take care of himself too. How about him borrowing you his car for some time?

I think it's good you asked for help and now you have the answer. They don't give a damn about you. They better start thinking how they manage without your support from now on because you can drop dead tomorrow too!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love my father and I adore his sacrifices for us but his way of thinking is too much for me. My sister thinking at least grow up a bit and she is willing to help when she got the money. My father is the one who always makes my heart sadden and sank to the bottom. The only reason I can withstand him is because of my mother. I just wish that she is not sick, then maybe we can have a better relationship. Me and my father.

I cannot drive his car because it is manual and my husband can't send me either because his license expire and it is not allowed to bring small children out for now at our place.

I text my sister and she told me that it is difficult for her to work because my father always keeps asking her to take leave and it causes her to get a bad reputation at work. I hope her business went well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your fathers sacrifices are no sacrifices but his responsibility as a man, father. He put you in this world and should take care of you. Give all his children a good life. You don't know what he did, why he was kicked out of the house. Your responsibility is with your family and that is already hard enough. How much money you need for food/diapers and the car?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Food and diapers are still bareable. For the car, I need at least rm150 just to pull it to my current home. Luckily my husband is a friendly man and he found a friend nearby which is a mechanic and he is willing to help.

I am waiting for my husband to clear the front of the house so we can park the car. Next week will be payday. I think we will manage until then. For now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Contact me on Telegram dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago