Luckily, I am not working

5 18
Avatar for heartbeat1515
3 years ago

July 19th, 2020

It is raining heavily. The electric power circuit trip again or maybe it is power down. I am sitting on our bed, facing my laptop, trying to write away the thunder and lightning from my consciousness.

Yes, I am afraid of thunder and lightning since my childhood. It happens a long time ago. I was alone with only my grandmother at home, but she is sleeping. The television was turned off at that time, but it is hit by the lighting because it is placed facing the window. It was since then, that I am afraid of thunder and lightning. The fear is getting smaller now, but it is still here inside of me.

While I am writing this, I notice that my little girl is not scared at the lightning and thunder at all. She is a bit jumpy, but she is calmly lying down beside me. She did not cry at all or come to hug me. There is no sign of fear on her face. Then, what am I afraid of? I think to myself.

I stopped worrying about the thunder and lightning until my husband asks for the car key. It was then I realized that we are almost flooded. I gave him the car key and continuously writing. When he is back, we are already flooded. I am too busy keeping myself busy on this article that I did not notice what happened to my surrounding.

My husband is busy taking care of things and stuff so that it would not get carried away by the flood while I and my little girl lying around on bed waiting for the rain to stop. I must stop writing for a while because I need to keep the mattress away from the leaky roof. We got a little bit wet but that is normal.

After a while, the rain seem like stopping. It does not show a sign of stopping anytime soon. I recall that a friend always waiting for the rain to fill up her well and I wish that I could send half of this rain to her.

It made me realize that rain is important to other people and one day, I will need rain too. Even though it gave me flood today, it could give me benefits in the future. It is getting darker now and the electricity is still not back. I will spend my time writing a few more articles while I have nothing else to do while my laptop battery is slowly discharging. I still have 77% battery left and I better use that efficiently.

Well, I did promise that I will be writing a little bit more regarding the previous articles that I submitted for Freewriting community.

I am going to write some for poems perhaps, story, something for values and I am going to try and write for psychology again.

Something for columnist but…

That sounds a lot to write. Will I make it? We will see how it goes tomorrow.

7
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for heartbeat1515
3 years ago

Comments

Your daughter is very brave, I think she gave you a lesson in bravery, I am sorry that you were flooded and you did not have light, little by little you will overcome these fears ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think he did. I wonder if she is going to be like that forever.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I used to get worried when it rained heavily because my garden usually gets flooded back then. But now, we have all moved to apartments, there is no worry there. Though, I get worried if it is raining when I am outside. Flash floods occur quite frequently and traffic becomes a standstill. But when I am home, and knowing my family is home safe, I feel relief.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remember a child who told me the mother woke all her children up as soon as the thunder started. They were forced to get out of bed, play a game together and drank hot chocolate. I always found it a weird thing to do.

I saw a storm lift the roof and dump it in the garden as I was a kid and home alone. It didn't scare me, neither did all the trees I saw fall down. I am not scared of the thunder and lightning but do unplug everything. I don't want my equipment get broke. I doubt the wires are good here.

A friend stood in front of the window and the lightning struck him. He fell and survived, isn't afraid but always suffers from headaches.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish I can be brave like you. It scares me until my whole body is stiff.

$ 0.00
3 years ago