Behind the shadows: The starving cave (Part III)

26 78
Avatar for hamedbkh
3 years ago

This is the third and final part of my entry to @Ozzyy and @Hanzell 's contest.

Part I : https://read.cash/@hamedbkh/behind-the-shadows-the-starving-cave-part-i-f72b2ea8

Part II: https://read.cash/@hamedbkh/behind-the-shadows-the-starving-cave-part-ii-cfec9973

PS: This part contains violence and gore.

Peter was trying to keep his blubbering as quiet as he could. He looked like a child threatened to be beaten if he cried more. The young guy was a person who can't even stand seeing blood on TV. He choked on his own words trying to whisper:

-Ch..Chris..please..I'm begging you! Get out of there now...I don't want you to be their next prey..

-For the first time in my life I will agree with you. I'm leaving this slaughterhouse now. I can't take any more risk. I will talk to you once I'm close to the exit. Don't turn your radio off.

Nothing is harder than waiting. Mix it with a dangerous situation and you might have a breakdown. Unfortunately, Peter had to learn this the hard way. Not before the heavy silent was broken with chris' whispers:

- Peter? Still with me I hope?

-Of course! I'm not leaving you alone there! what's the matter? Why are you still there?

-Yeah...About that...Well I twisted my ankle while trying to walk down the stairs running. I still can walk on my own but barely. And like that's not enough already, something is wrong with the flashlight. It's no use anymore and it's as dark as hell. I need your help now. You have to enter the cave and light the way for me. Don't panick! If my assumption is right, you will find me just after walking few meters inside.

This request made Peter's hair stood on end with a pale face like he had just seen a ghost. He barely managed to keep his voice down:

-Don't panick you said? How am I supposed to do so when you are dragging me to enter the damn cave! You know very well that i can't do that. I'm sorry...

-Oh, so now you are giving up on your big bro? I thought our brotherhood is way stronger than this. I've never let you down before yet you are betraying me when I nedded you the most? How low can you be?

-No! It's ...Just...I'm....UGH!...

Chris took the chance and decided to pressure his young brother further more.

-Can't you remember all the memories we had together? We were always together for better or worse. You won't leave your injured brother drowning in the drakness alone awaiting for those things to eat him alive, right? Please! Hurry up and save me while they are still busy eating that person..

Throughout his life, that was the first time ever Peter heard Christopher begging him. He was always the type who would never beg or apologize no matter what. A flood of memories was clogging his mind. Both kids were so different but inseparable, just like twins. If he leaves his brother to die, how is he supposed to keep on living with all the feelings of shame and regret? He gathered what was left of his courage and replied:

-You owe me so much for this. I totally went nuts for doing this, no doubt. After leaving this cave I will be the one drinking your blood, not them!

-Thank you brother. I will be waiting you. We will be together very, very soon...

As much as Peter wanted to reply with the usual "You are welcome" but he couldn't. Welcome? For what? For making him enter this cursed Bellua cave? or for making him feel like a soldier in a battlefield where he isn't even sure what's going to happen next? With a mind sinking in dark thoughts, he slowly made his way inside. His feet were barely able to lift his trembling body. It was just as Chris described it. Tremendously stinking smell and freezing cold air.

A couple of minutes later, and still no trace of Chris. Peter arrived at the corpses room. Anxiety and panick attacks are smashing him. Waving his flashlight right and left, he stumbled across the heinous view of a freshly devoured body: A featureless indefinable face with one missed eyeball and another popping out of its socket. An utterly skinned body. Huge chunks of the flesh were lost. Add to that a wide deep cut throughout all of the torso, making it easy to notice that all of the internal organs were missing, except for a small part of the intestines.

Needless to say, Peter had never faced such a disturbing sight and almost immediately, he couldn't pull himself together and emptied all what's in his stomach out on a withered husk thrown nearby. But wait a second... Peter felt something about the newly misshapen corpse. It was still dripping blood which meant that person was killed minutes ago! Some ripped out clothes were close to the body. Isn't this Chris' shirt?! No doubt! They preyed on him!

Like that's already not hard enough to deal with, and before recovering from the shock, Peter felt something behind him. A catastrophe always brings another one like they say, so he knew what was awaiting him. And hell, he was right. One of the "creatures" Chris mentioned was standing at his back. The fact that"Its" face was covered with blood, Chris' blood obviously, didn't make "its" shape any easier to swallow.

The maniac creature opened his black hole of a mouth and said, mimicking Chris' voice with a sarcastic laugh:

-I'm sorry for doing this to you, brother! But you know, you looks delicious too.

Peter stared at the beast with a wide open mouth. Did he just hear him talking with Chris' voice? How? and the most important is...

-"If you can mimic voices.. then that means..." He mumbled in a shaking voice. Without budging, the demon waved his hand in a fast move, slashing Peter's eyes. The scream of pain mixed with terror the boy shouted felt like rocking the whole cave, and he wished it did. Enjoying himself watching the blind Peter trying desperately to escape the cave, tumbling all around the place and running into walls like a mouse in a trap, the "thing" that looked like an inhabitant of inferno addressed the kid with a thundering voice:

- Your brother was very tasty. It has been a while since we ate a meal as delicious as him. Young humans are my favourite dish indeed.

He licked the blood stuck on his nails and went on to say:

-Your guessing is right though. You were talking to me the whole time almost. Your brother was dead since he came across this room. Eating him and talking to you simultaneously was quite fun. Using that kids' voice, I lured you to enter the cave and face your pathetic fate. After all, we are demons, and our abilities are way greater than yours. But for you and your kind, we have one thing in common. We both need food. Yet you already are aware of that. You will be an appealing meal yourself. I already described in details how we devoured your dear brother so you have a fair idea what to expect yourself.

The demon whistled to summon another not less ugly devil. He pointed his nail at Peter and ordered him:

-Take him, he is going to be our next meal. But I'm warning you, I will be the one eating the heart this time!

THE END.

54
$ 5.55
$ 5.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 1
Sponsors of hamedbkh
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for hamedbkh
3 years ago

Comments

Wth.. wh did you make the ending like this. 😭😭😭 i really don't like sad ending, i was hoping chris was just fooling peter so he will enter the cave too and surprising thing will happen 😭😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I made that ending for a purpose. And based on your reaction, it worked. My purpose was simply to surprise the readrer with an expected ending almost impossible to predict. It is sad indeed but it worked. Thanks for reading all the parts! I really appreciate that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your stories are great. I hope you will write more. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Damn too chilling. Never thought you coild write like this though, it's a surprising change for you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my openion, a content maker shouldn't stick to only one style, so I'm trying new things. I'm glad that you like this :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I totally agree but still, i hope you try out more genres on storytelling. You write really good minus the very few grammatical errors and all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yikes! What a creepy ending. You can be a very good story teller though.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! your words are very appreciated! :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😭 I really don't know what to react and feel right now. My heart is aching I swear and tears falling .@wakeupkitty what did you do?I supposed to loved it but now I don't know .Why? Please I don't want this in my nightmare .I feel sad with the kids.

Nice story 😂 but it also breaks my heart a little. I rebuke my self from thinking ,I also have 2 boys. Hahaha this is only a imiginary story but it triggered me hahahaha. Goodnight

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! Yeah the end was sad but also unpredictable. Of course this imaginary haha so your kids are safe, just don't let your boys play near any caves X""D. Just kidding haha. I wish happiness for you and your kids. Take care!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha it will not happen because we dont have cave here hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a tragic end. It was quite suspenseful and the build up from the first part to the climax of the story is simply wonderful. I hope you make it to the finals of the contest you entered . Cheers and Bravo. The wait for this conclusion was worth it.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Happy that you like this part as well. Your words are very kind and thank you for your wishes! I hope to hear from you soon!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I totally loved it and again I can only repeat myself: I am so glad you joined! 👍😘💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not going to lie. Your encouragement was a great reason for me to join. and I have no regret :D thanks for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am happy it was enough encouragement. You are welcome. It's good to see the random rewarder found this story too. Finally stories are rewarded. 💕🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome and could make a great story, book out of this one. I am happy the random rewarded found it too and stories are finally rewarded. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish it didn't end.... It's very interesting. I was just engross reading it.... I really would want to know what happened to Peter.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sadly for Peter, he is going to end up as the demons' meal like his brother. He can't escape the cave. I'm delighted to read your positive comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woah! This is very gory and sad, but it was a good read

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I tried my best working on a plot twist. I think the result was worth it in the end. Thank you for reading all the parts!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And now it's time to go back to chapter 1

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you going to read it again? my pleasure XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I actually did orz i had to :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago