Help!

34 30
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

Help! Lately, I feel like I can't find myself in everything I do. I lack focus and get distracted easily. Like today, I plan to write my article when I woke up so when it's time to publish, I already have my entry. But, there are a lot of chaos, noise, commotions in the surrounding. Since my aunt from Manila is here already, the other aunties and the kids, a lot of kids are also here to catch up.

How do you maintain your focus?

Some would say just don't think of anything else that is unnecessary. Think of what's your goal and what you want to achieve. Well, this is right but this does not apply to everyone and cannot also be applied to all situations. No matter how we dedicate our time to accomplish something, still it cannot be done for the reason that there will be factors that hinder you for doing so. For instance, you are writing your article and you are really focused about it but then your mom ask you to buy something. Don't tell me you would just ignore your mom and pretend to not hear. Oh dear! You will finish the article for sure but it will be your last stay at home. For that reason, you will surely stop what you are writing and just do what your mom says. And when you come back, you can hardly connect your idea to what has been left. As a result, you stop writing and just do something else.

But, I really want to know how you maintain your focus. Perhaps it might work on me.

What keeps me distracted?

A lot. My little brother is number one. His cries occupy the whole house even if I already shut the door in my room. Still, I can hear him. This morning, he constantly asks for candies, marshmallows and chocolates to my mom. In the middle of his sweet munching, a portion/tiny bit of chocolate entered his decayed tooth which made him cry so hard. And then my mom would scold him and picked the bit of chocolate in his tooth using toothpick. When the pain is gone, my brother would eat again those sweet goodies and again, something would stuck in his teeth. The same cycle goes on!

Just to escape the noise, I go outside somewhere far from but not that far from home. Just few steps. I make myself comfortable under the shade of a tree. I was about to continue my article that was supposed to be published tonight but I was not able to do so. I decided to write another one which is this because I have not finished the other one.

Facebook is also one the distractions I want to get rid of but can't. I plan to uninstall my Facebook app but I will be fooling myself if I do that because I know, later on, I will install it back.

How does Facebook distract me? Well, it will all start when I hear the notification sound which means there's an update going on in my Facebook. I try not to close the read.cash page but later on, I will find myself on Facebook already watching racing videos and Mukbang. And when I realized that I need to finish my article, it's already evening and I haven't cleared my notifications yet. Oh boy! That's why most of my articles were published late at night. Good luck to my health.

The need to pee also hinders me to finish my article. I just can't prolong it for my health will be compromised. When I return from the comfort room, it feels like my ideas were flashed in the toilet too.

My neighbors laugh got me distracted as well. I have this neighbor whose laugh sounds like a witch, so creepy and loud. I can hear her because our house is just near from theirs.

I know I should get used to it since we are neighbors but no, I did not. I even told her once that if she's about to laugh, she should get inside their comfort room so no one hears her. It feels like my ideas run when I hear her laugh and before I knew, I can't catch my ideas for they are far already.

My laziness sometimes acts up which made me not write. I just don't feel like doing anything like Bruno Mars. I just want to lay in my bed. Watch Kissing Booth as everybody on Facebook keeps on posting about it which got me curious. I almost finish watching it and I think I need a new movie/series recommendation. Anyone?

Alright, let me end this as I don't want to keep it longer. Will be publishing the second part tomorrow.

Help!

Let me know your ways of maintaining focus too.



Hello everyone! If you have some useful tips or guide which can help me improve, you can let me know in the comment section. I may not know all about you now but I am eager to know you deeper. I will work hard so I can be like the amazing writers here. I have talked to some people and they are all amazing.

Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty

Thank you so much for reading! Comments are very much appreciated. Same appreciation goes to my upvoters and kind sponsors. Shout out to my new sponsor as well, @gertu13 🎉 Same goes with @Princessbusayo and sir @TengoLoTodo for renewing their sponsorship. I am so blessed today. Again, this is gwapojohn at your service. 😉 Let's get connected!

All photos are taken from Unsplash.com

|08262021|

@gwapojohn

14
$ 7.77
$ 7.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

Comments

I do not know how to stay focus but I also like it when it is quiet. But sometimes it depends on how my brain would cooperate. I also draft my articles late afternoon and I get to finish it just before midnight because of a lot of distractions. Like you, I needed to pee, I also have to bring our dogs out to let them pee, eat, make noise on noise.cash, reply to messages on both social media accounts and the list goes on. Don't forget the fact that I also have to read articles from our fellow bloggers. I do not know how I am going to condition my brain but I know having a complete 8 hours of sleep helps a little. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I can't help but laugh about how you portray your distractions. Oh man, I don't know what I'd do if I were on your shoes.

But you were right about losing the flow in the content when you're writing and something distracts you from it. I experience that too especially when the farmboy strums the guitar so loud. I had to go out of the house, roam around the yard and sort out my thoughts. But mostly, I cannot continue so I end up making another write-up. When I start to write, I switch my phone to silent mode. It kinda helps maintain my focus.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So that means my situation is really funny. Hahaha! Yeah I see it that way too. Yeah right? But there are also people who like to work with music or they can work even with noise. I wish I can too. The farm boy should be the one to roam around so you can write peacefully. 😂 I should put my phone into silent mode as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, sometimes we just have to find something to laugh about :) Although your situation is not funny, the way you narrated it is :D I don't know why, before I can still write with music on, pero nag-iba lately. Gusto ko tahimik :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enclosed is your enemy that's my strategy, noise makes you unfocused then make practice that normalized the noise. That's what I did, when I am reviewing or working with my brains I make sure that I played a noise sounds because I normalized to think under noisy surroundings in college now I can not live without noise haha, I'm distracted when I had no noise to hear so earphones and music as always presents. Embody the enemy that's what makes you strong...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! This is such a nice strategy sir pare. Nakagenius naman nito, 'enclosed the enemy'. Include ko to sa article ko ah? Pero e memention kita for reference. Totoo, bakit nga ba diko sanayin sarili ko sa ingay at distractions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakoo dito sa bahay maraming nang didistract 😅 pero hinahayaan ko nalang. Lalo na kapag nasa labas ako ng bahay kasi mhina signal puro kagat ako ng lamok

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mabuti nasanay ka sa mga distractions po. Ako kasi hindi ko gustong may distorbo saken eh. Hahaha! Bat mahina signal dyan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isulod ug sako Manoy..hahah Maju ra gajung wa ko'y igsuon, kay mawirjok ahung utok..😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha kung aho pa lamang anak ni nganong di. Na maajo jod wa kay arang ag kaajo 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pasaway masyado kapatid mo manong HAHAAHAH, jusko ilayo nyo tsokoleyt dyan, akin nalang xd

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sinabi mo pa manang. Tahimik lang ang bahay pag tulog na sya. Kahit naman ilang layo ibibigay parin naman ni mama eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When everyone's asleep, that's the best time!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah how I wish I am not asleep too when everyone's asleep 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huy same tayo haha meron kasi kaming kapitbahay din dito na may anak batang special child araw-araw kumakanta tapos di ako makapagsulat ng maayos kasi di ako makafocus, at inaantay ko nlng siyang matapos .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganun ba? So nakabisado mo na yung kanta? Sample nga 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sleep and then writenbsomewhere else away from background noise

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Murag suko man hahaha yes manang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time management lng. And focus on one thing before you dive into another one.
Abandon FB nlng haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Siguro nga yan ang kulang saken. Yung time management. Kasi naman talaga maraming hadlang dito hahaha. Di ko kaya e abandon c FB yun lang socmed meron ako eh. Sguro magseset nalang ako ng oras para sa fb

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Focus dn.. Wag piliting gawin ang madaming bagay kung hndi naman kaya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo, salamat 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not in fb much. I silenced a lot of chat groups. My phone is in silent mode even. I chose to work when the world is asleep for there is less distraction then and I can concentrate better :) Your situation is different though but I hope you get to find peace soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I should try that as well. Mute or silence everything in my phone so it will lessen the distractions. Nice, I also want to try that strategy. Write when the world is asleep but then I also end up sleeping. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I usually make my articles at 5am upto this hour ..while my earphone stuck in my ears with no music hahaha..so weird .but it helps me to think and to finish my write ups.. Pag tanghali na eh nadidistract ako sa ingay dito sa bahay ..dalawang bata lang andito pero parang sampo haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganun ba bro? Iba naman strategy mo kasi with music. Maganda naman din kaso di ko pa na try magsulat na nag e earphone. Maybe try ko mamaya. Ganun talaga eh mga bata malilikot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel you, daming distractions talaga. Minsan dahil sa background noises but most of the time, sarili ko ang kalaban ko haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha kabahan ka na nyan madam. Bakit, inaano ka ng sarili mo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I couldn't stop laughing hard I was somehow not lively but you brought out smile on my face. 🤣🤣🤣 I can understand your situation man. Especially that of your brother 🤣🤣🤣 This is so funny. Same thing with my Aunt. This was one of the reasons I didn't visit her when we were on holiday. I won't have ideas on what to write and even if I have, I will always be called upon to do this and that and at the end, I miss important ideas to write on.

You just have to endure it or better still, find somewhere outside the house where there won't be disturbance. Oh! Your neighbor 🤣🤣🤣 sorry Perhaps if you can just wake up in the middle of the night to prepare your article.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am delighted to know that this article made you laugh, Princess. 😊 Oh, haha! You should visit her because maybe she missed you a lot 😂 Yeah, I have to endure everything because I have nowhere to go for now. My neighbor's laugh is really scary that even when I am awake at midnight, I can still hear her in my mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Poor your little brother. The poor kid doesn't know how to control his impulse and cries is because he can no longer eat the chocolate. lol. But you're right if when you write and you're not in a good place to concentrate you can get sucked out of inspiration and lose it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I want to get rid of my lik bro sometimes I just don't know how 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same goes for me... But its Twitter not Facebook who distract me.. twitter notification about any crypto news and any airdrop etc.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh really? I don't have Twitter only Facebook. That's nice to know that Twitter has info about crypto. Great

$ 0.00
2 years ago