Helena

22 33
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

I came across this song as I scrolled on Facebook. This is Helena and it's one of my favorite songs by My Chemical Romance. They said this song was dedicated to the singer's grandmother. I don't know, I am not familiar with the story as well but based from my interpretation, the girl in the song killed herself for some reasons. If you happen to hear this one too, can you share your interpretation? I would be glad to know.

I fell in love with this song because of it's singer, lyrics and rhythm. Some may find it so irritating and loud but for me, this kind of rock is good for my ears. I found serenity. We all have different music taste but for me, all songs are beautiful and are worthy to be heard. All music genres are good for the soul. Music itself is a therapy. As what Bob Marley said,

The good thing about music is that when it hits you, you feel no pain.

Well, if you're broken hearted and you listen to sad songs, maybe you'll feel hurt but after that, the pain will somehow lessen.

See I have my memories about this song for I have met someone whose name is Helena. The name bears such a strong image. When you hear the name, you somehow associate in your mind a beautiful girl with a strong personality but has the weakest heart when hit in the soft spot. Helena is a girl someone I will never forget. Even in their place, she is known for having a beautiful face and what had happened to her can't be forgotten.

One night, I was at the bar near our place all by myself because I was devastated with my grades. I felt the injustice rating of someone's performance. I can't complain because the professor said that the results are irrevocable. I know I am not so good in school but I do participate, and my test results are average too and I don't deserve an almost failing grade. Well, I don't care much about grades if only mom would not kill me knowing that I got mark that she's not satisfied. Because I was mad, I went to a bar near our place. I want to forget everything and decided to have a drink.

I ordered one bottle of beer and just stayed at the counter. The taste of the beer is bitter but my feelings were more bitter than the beer. I asked the bartender for some ice and chips. The drink somehow tastes good enough with ice. I was about to order another bottle when suddenly, a woman with a very dark eyeliner caught my attention. If you can imagine how Avril Lavigne's eyes look like, then you can picture out Helena. She's looking fine with Margarita in her hands. I found her alone but she's not lonely.

I was about to approach her but she walked through my way and sat beside me. She ordered a bottle of beer and charged it in my bill. She's lucky that I brought extra money with me or else I will still pay. Yes, she's the only girl back then that I was not hesitant to spend with. I don't know but Helena is different. She started talking to me by asking where do I live and if I got a family. She did not even ask for my name because she told me she don't want to meet me after that night. And I was like, okay fine. At least I am happy tonight. We drank together and talk about her family who died. Yes! She's weird on that part but I just go with the flow. Helena told me her sister died because she hanged herself. Her depression consumed her and medications won't help anymore. Helena almost cried but she managed to hold back her tears. After that, she told me how her mom and dad died as well. Poor girl, she's living alone in this world. I tried to comfort her by giving her extra chips. I guess that worked.

At around 12 AM, she told me she wanted to go home because she needs to rest. I was tipsy but she is not. I even offered her to drive her home but she refused and said she would prefer to walk instead. She's really firm in denying my offer so I did not bother anymore. To have a remembrance, I took my phone and clicked a photo of us together. Then she's gone after telling me her name.

The next morning, I found our photo set as my wallpaper. Oh my I forgot what did I do last night. I just let it be. 3 days have passed and still, I can't forget about her. I went to the bar to see if she's here but the bar was closed for 3 days too. I don't have any means to contact her so I just posted our photo together on Facebook.

I just posted "Looking for this woman" the then photo. Some of my friends teased me but there's someone who messaged me. I open my chat box and Helena's sister messaged me.

This was her message:

Hi! My sister seldom took a photo with herself and with someone. She did that with you so I guess you are a special friend. I wonder why you are still looking for her. Haven't you moved on? It's one year already since she passed away.

I felt scared after reading the message but after a while, I found myself thinking of her and felt lonely for what happened. I seldom fall in love but then God let me meet someone who I can never be with again. I don't know why and how it happened but Helena, I can't forget her.

Would things get better if I stay?

So long and good night.



Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty

Hello everyone! Happy first day of September! If you have some useful tips or guide which can help me improve, you can let me know in the comment section. I may not know all about you now but I am eager to know you deeper. I will work hard so I can be like the amazing writers here. I have talked to some people and they are all amazing.

Thank you so much for reading! Comments are very much appreciated. Same appreciation goes to my upvoters and kind sponsors. Again, this is gwapojohn at your service. 😉 Let's get connected!

Thank you as well to these amazing people. I am honored. ❤️

|09012021|

@gwapojohn

11
$ 4.65
$ 4.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 5
Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

Comments

Pero scary nga yun kung nagyari talaga yun. 😁 naalala ko na naman sila Tinder girl tsaka si coffee shop girl.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Buti nalang imagine ko lang hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Helena is a nice name. Only last did I know its a fiction. So nicely 👌 organized.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, friend. And nice to see you here too 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakalungkot naman to, totoo talaga to gwapo? Kakanta na sana ako ng "MagHelena anong problema bakit di ka makawala sa kadena 🎶" ang sad pala ng ending.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha on point ah, MAghelena. 😂 Fiction lang yan. Kung anu-ano lang nasa isip. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo ba to? Nakakalungkot naman yung ending. Sakit ahh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Fiction lang po ms. Caroline. 😁 Just a baby in my mind again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it a true story 😳? I become sad to hear about her death.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No, brother. It's just a fiction. A baby in mind again. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ka gwapa ba ang Helena oyyy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha gwapa unta lge di man ma ato

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha naa na man gud kay imo lage haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fiction? I mean your story of Helena? Don't tell me you took a photo with a ghost, LoL!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Fiction po madam hahaha! Kung anu-ano lang pumapasok sa utak

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, good one though :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! So sad she ended her life that way. Perhaps she was thinking of dying when you guys met. I felt for her because it isn't easy losing your family that way. Poor Helena

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, but that's just fiction tho. 😁 Have a nice day, Princess!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung I Don't Love You gusto ko sa kanta nila, nnagagandahan rin ako sa helena kaso napasyado ata ung rock 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganun ba manang? Di ko pa narinig yung I don't love you eh. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try mo manong, maganda sya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sige manang papakinggan ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago