Mesa Selimovic

13 33
Avatar for goga14
Written by
3 years ago

Mesa Selimovic was born in Tuzla, on April 26, 1910. He finished elementary school and high school in Tuzla. He said of himself: "I come from a Muslim family, from Bosnia, but I am a Serb by nationality." He graduated from the Faculty of Philosophy in Belgrade, at the Department of Serbo-Croatian Language and Literature. He graduated on time as one of the better students, and the War found him in his native Tuzla. He was not bypassed by the hand of the authorities either, because of the cooperation with the People's Liberation Movement. What made Mesa Selimovic most engraved in the memory of the people of his time is his professorial work. Younger colleagues saw him as a role model and watched with admiration everything he did. "No professor I knew spoke or looked like that, or acted like that, and sovereignly ruled over old and the latest literary inventions, knowledge and insights. At the same time, these same people belittled everything he did for the literature of that time. After that, with his family from Sarajevo, Meša Selimović moved to Belgrade, where he had friends who would meet him if he needed to. In a letter to his friend before leaving, he wrote: “Bosnia is a difficult, burdensome country and it is not easy to live here, if a person is only an inch taller than average. The case gave me that centimeter, and sentenced me to suffering. "

Darka and Mesa decided to pack their lives in a couple of suitcases, take their rags with them and leave Bosnia forever. While walking through Bascarsija, Mesa said to a writer: "I am leaving today and I will never return." That's how it was. With Darka, he left Sarajevo for Belgrade, where reliable friends and a new life without reproach and malice were waiting for him. He found peace in Belgrade, hung out with Dobrica Cosic, Antoni Isakovic, played his favorite preference, wrote in the evening while his Darko was sitting. next to it and crocheted or read. When Mesa finished a chapter, Darka turned to her ear and listened carefully to every word. Mesa Selimovic spoke both through his works and through his actions about human failure, especially emphasizing the most painful one - love.

His works are the most read today, and his novels are the most quoted on social networks. He wrote:

Offended man

First Company,

Foreign country,

Night and morning,

Silence,

Fog and moonlight,

Essays and essays,

Dervish and Death ,

For and against Vuk,

Fortress,

Red hair girl,

Island,

Memories,

Round,

He died on April 11, 1982 in Belgrade. After his death, Darko continued to protect his legacy from abuse.

With his wife Darkom, who interrupted her studies to marry him, Mesa has two daughters, Jasenka and Masha. He did not prevent them from writing, but he did not overly support them either. One is a retired English teacher and the other a retired Serbian language teacher.

8
$ 0.09
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Jigglyspy
Avatar for goga14
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

An excellent writer, his work "Dervis & Death" left the strongest impression on me

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sve vezano za njega je zanimljivo!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My favorite writer. Alien Land, Fog and Moonlight, Dervis and Death are one of my favorite works of his. All the best for this post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you from the bottom of my heart and thank you for the donation

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome, it's my pleasure. I enjoyed reading this article. Thank you for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gogo, he is a fantastic writer for me. I loved reading him, Ivo Andrić, and then Ćosić. I just found the most beautiful set of sentences in him. Thank you for this reminder of a legend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gogo, he is a fantastic writer for me. I loved reading him, Ivo Andrić, and then Ćosić. I just found the most beautiful set of sentences in him. Thank you for this reminder of a legend

Thanks for the nice words. I love him so much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Meša Selimović is my favorite writer

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And my

$ 0.00
3 years ago

His love for a woman is ahead of success in literature, it would be tragic to live without her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

His love for a woman is ahead of success in literature, it would be tragic to live without her.

Exactly

$ 0.00
3 years ago