Bias Check: BTS Edition

5 35

Hello there! Here's part two of my Bias Check article. You can read this without the part one but you may read it as well if you like. Here's the link: https://read.cash/@glossyberrycraze/bias-check-exo-edition-93c33d17

So for the next group, here yah go! šŸ„°

BTS (Bangtan Seonyeondan or Bulletproof Boy Scouts)

They are the second group that I stanned but Iā€™ve known them since 2015 because I often hear their songs in our classroom way back. Stanning them was actually a big turning point for me, because I honestly thought that I would never stan any other groups aside from EXO. I never imagined I would fall for other groups back when was I still new in Kpop world. But to tell you honestly, it was one of the best decisions Iā€™ve made as a Kpop fan. BTS is consist of seven members: RM, Jin, Suga, J-Hope, Jimin, V, and Jungkook- some of you are probably familiar with them because of their massive popularity which they truly, rightfully, deserve. šŸ„ŗ They are my definition of ā€œstarted from the bottom, now weā€™re hereā€. Not that I am saying other groups did not experience hardships because they all did, they all trained from a young age and that says a lot. Itā€™s just that, BTS really started from scratch. Big Hit Entertainment (now HYBE) was just a small company back then, they were not part of the so-called ā€œBig 3 Companiesā€ and if I am not mistaken, they were on the verge of bankruptcy when BTS was just starting. The seven members were living in a small dorm, which is also their studio and they sleep in one room, with only two bunk beds to accommodate all seven of them.

They also faced too many controversies and prejudice that were all proven false. They were bullied by senior rappers, they were accused of plagiarism, they were hated for how they look (d*amned standards), the media looked down on them, and of course the hate from toxic fans. But itā€™s all in the past, and they proved them all wrong. They are now one if not the most, popular boy band in the world. Theyā€™ve been breaking records not only in Korea but also in Western countries. They are the first Asian artists to be awarded at the American Music Awards (Artist of the Year) and also to be nominated at the prestigious Grammy Awards twice in a row. They also break digital records and they break their own records, speaking of. Theyā€™re the first Korean artists to be invited to speak in the UN Assembly twice, and they also partnered with UNICEF for their Love Myself campaign, an advocacy against violence toward children and teens around the world.

They have been spreading positivity through their songs and I am speaking through experience, they are comfort people. Sometimes I treat them like my 911. Their songs are like what you exactly need to hear, and what you want to tell the world.

Speaking of their artistry, I really admire their lyrical talent, especially Namjoon! Heā€™s a lyrical genius. They also participate in producing and writing their songs, especially the rap line since they write their own verse, but Namjoon (RM) have taken part in all their songs, except only for one.

Bias: Suga

His real name is Min Yoongi and he is the lead rapper of the group. He was not actually the first member that I liked, the first that I noticed was Jungkook but I did not call him my bias back then because I was still getting to know them. Until I heard the song ā€œSo Far Awayā€ in Sugaā€™s first mixtape ā€œAgustDā€. That song was one of the reasons why Min Yoongi is my bias. The song just really hit home, the first time I heard it, I felt like I was the one storytelling myself because I can relate so much. That was when I realized that the ā€œinside jokeā€ of the fandom was true, that you will not find your bias in BTS, your bias will find you. And that they will come at the time you need them the most. My love for Yoongi is something that came to me naturally. I can relate to him most of the times because heā€™s also a shy and quiet person, but is loud around people heā€™s comfortable with. Others perceived him as cold-hearted because of his quietness but he is actually a very sweet and caring person. He is just like that because he is an introvert. He talked about his battles with depression, OCD and social anxiety when he was younger in his mixtapes. His lyrics and the truth he speaks are actually really heartbreaking. He openly talks about mental health issues and encourages people to take it more seriously and more comfortably because it matters, one's mental health matters as much as physical health does.

He comforts me in ways you probably wouldnā€™t understand. He is the first person that I heard say ā€œThose who don't have a dream, it's okay, it's okay if you don't have a dream. You just have to be happy.ā€ And that really comforted me a lot.

Even in small things like not watching something when itā€™s popular, I can also relate. He is a huge fan of basketball (he is also very good at it, btw) which I also love. We have the same favorite anime: slam dunk; we have the same favorite number: 3. He is also good at cooking and I dreamed of having a partner who is also good at cooking because of him lol. He loves sleeping a lot, and I do too. In terms of artistry, he is one of the best rappers in the industry (for me). He was an underground rapper before he trained for BTS and he went by the name "Gloss". He is also a songwriter and producer, where he produced for other artists as well like IU, Suran, Epik High, Halsey, MAX, etc.

AgustD is the name he used for his solo mixtapes, where DT stands for Daegu Town which is his hometown and the SUGA that is spelled backwards. His stage name Suga was from the sound of the first syllables of ā€˜shooting guardā€™ which is his position in basketball and also because he is as white as a sugar, according to Bang PD-nim (their boss). šŸ„°

He is my ultimate bias out of all the biases I have. ^^ March is actually his birth month and it's my 4th year of celebrating his birthday already! šŸ„³

The only thing I regret about stanning them is that I stanned them late but Min Yoongi once said, "Don't feel regretful that you weren't there since our debut, because the day you met us, is the day we debuted for you." šŸ’œ


I actually still have a lot to say but I donā€™t want it to be too long because it may get boring to read. Hahaha. Anyway, thanks again for reading until the end. I hope you tune in as well for part 3! ^^

-glossyberrycraze šŸ„°

2
$ 2.01
$ 2.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Grecy095
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Nope sis, we do not stan them late, we are just on time. Suga is my bias wrecker. Ang minahal ko kay suga yung wisdom nya. Di nya pinag dadamot lahat ng natutunan nya sa buhay saka kahit sabihin nila cold hearted sya, sya ang pinaka totoo at sweet sa lahat sa kanila. Ikaw ba naman ipagluto eh? Savage lang sya, pero sya yun eh. Need nya mag paka savage dala rin ng experience nya sa buhay. Si suga yun tipong "Thanks for being born" label ko eh.

Medyo naintindihan ko yun Our bias will find us, pero paki explain pa din hahahaha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Parang inside joke siya ng mga ARMYs na nakikita ko dati na hindi daw tayo ang pipili ng bias, yung bias natin yung mismong lalapit hahaha. At gaya nung sabi ko, yung love ko para kay Suga parang it came naturally lang kasi sobrang nakakarelate ako sa life experiences niya kaya siya yung naging bias ko ^^

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jungkook find me hahaha!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ackkkk! BTS pa ngaaa. šŸ˜ I don't know if I am a fan na ba or hindi pero grabidad~ nakarating na mga songs nila sa playlists ko. So, fan na din siguro ako? Hihi! But di totally, ah ewan. Mine si bb V ahhh! :D

Ang gusto ko naman kay Suga is 'yung ang bilis n'yang magpalit ng facial expressions. Like from smiling face to poker face, ganern. Lakas ng dating ihhh. Pero sapat na si V for me, hihi.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Huy tuloy tuloy na yan sis hahaha there's no turning back, sa ganyan din naman ako nag-start dati šŸ¤£ Pero truuee Taehyung na talented at pogi so much ><

$ 0.00
2 years ago